Skip to main content
Skip to main content.

Past & Present Justices

Past & Present Justices

Below is a list of the California Supreme Court Justices, starting with the most recently appointed. All names with an asterisk (*) indicate that the justice once served as Chief Justice.

Kelli M. Evans January 2023-Present
Patricia Guerrero* November 2022-Present
Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye * January 2011–December 2022
Martin J. Jenkins December 2020–Present
Joshua Groban January 2019–Present
Leondra R. Kruger January 2015–Present
Mariano-Florentino Cuéllar  January 2015–October 2021
Goodwin H. Liu  August 2011–Present
Carol A. Corrigan  January 2006–Present
Carlos R. Moreno October 2001–March 2011
Janice R. Brown  May 1996–June 2005
Ming W. Chin  March 1996–August 2020
Kathryn M. Werdegar  June 1994–August 2017
Ronald M. George* September 1991–January 2011
Marvin R. Baxter  January 1991–January 2015
Armand Arabian March 1990–February 1996
Joyce L. Kennard April 1989–April 2014
Marcus M. Kaufman March 1987–January 1990
David N. Eagleson March 1987–January 1991
John A. Arguelles March 1987–March 1989
Edward A. Panelli December 1985–January 1994
Malcolm M. Lucas* April 1984–April 1996
Joseph R. Grodin December 1982–January 1987
Cruz Reynoso February 1982–January 1987
Allen E. Broussard July 1981–August 1991
Otto M. Kaus  July 1981–October 1985
Frank C. Newman July 1977–December 1982
Rose Elizabeth Bird* March 1977–January 1987
Wiley W. Manuel March 1977–January 1981
Frank K. Richardson December 1974–December 1983
William P. Clark, Jr. March 1973–March 1981
Donald R. Wright* April 1970–February 1977
Raymond L. Sullivan December 1966–January 1977
Louis H. Burke November 1964–November 1974
Stanley Mosk  September 1964–June 2001
Paul Peek December 1962–December 1966
Mathew O. Tobriner July 1962–January 1982
Maurice T. Dooling, Jr. June 1960–June 1962
Thomas P. White August 1959–October 1962
Raymond E. Peters March 1959–January 1973
Marshall F. McComb January 1956–May 1977
Homer R. Spence January 1945–June 1960
B. Rey Schauer December 1942–September 1964
Roger J. Traynor* August 1940–February 1970
Phil S. Gibson* September 1939–August 1964
Jesse W. Carter September 1939–March 1959
Frederick W. Houser September 1937–October 1942
Douglas L. Edmonds November 1936–December 1955
Nathaniel P. Conrey October 1935–November 1936
Ira F. Thompson December 1932–August 1937
William H. Langdon January 1927–August 1939
John W. Preston December 1926–October 1935
Jeremiah F. Sullivan November 1926–January 1927
Frank G. Finlayson October 1926–December 1926
Jesse W. Curtis January 1926–January 1945
John W. Shenk April 1924–August 1959
John E. Richards February 1924–June 1932
Louis W. Myers* January 1923–January 1926
Emmet Seawell January 1923–July 1939
Frank H. Kerrigan January 1923–February 1924
Terry W. Ward December 1922–January 1923
William H. Waste* November 1921–June 1940
Charles A. Shurtleff July 1921–December 1922
William A. Sloane May 1920–December 1922
Warren Olney, Jr. March 1919–July 1921
Thomas J. Lennon January 1919–August 1926
Curtis D. Wilbur* January 1918–March 1924
William P. Lawlor January 1915–July 1926
Matt I. Sullivan* August 1914–January 1915
Henry A. Melvin September 1908–April 1920
M. C. Sloss February 1906–February 1919
William G. Lorigan January 1903–January 1919
Lucien Shaw* January 1903–January 1923
Frank M. Angellotti* January 1903–November 1921
Walter Van Dyke January 1899–December 1905
Frederick W. Henshaw January 1895–January 1918
W. C. Van Fleet April 1894–January 1899
William F. Fitzgerald  January 1893–January 1895
Ralph C. Harrison January 1891–January 1903
Charles H. Garoutte January 1891–January 1903
John J. De Haven January 1891–January 1895
Charles N. Fox June 1889–January 1891
William H. Beatty* January 1889–August 1914
John D. Works October 1888–January 1891
Niles Searls*  April 1887–January 1889
Thomas B. McFarland January 1887–September 1908
A. Van R. Paterson January 1887–April 1894
James D. Thornton January 1880–January 1891
Milton H. Myrick January 1880–January 1887
Samuel Bell McKee January 1880–December 1887
John R. Sharpstein January 1880–December 1892
Erskine M. Ross January 1880–October 1886
Robert F. Morrison* November 1879–March 1887
E. W. McKinstry January 1874–October 1888
Isaac S. Belcher March 1872–January 1874
Addison C. Niles January 1872–January 1880
Jackson Temple January 1870–January 1872
William T. Wallace* December 1869–November 1879
Joseph B. Crockett December 1867–January 1880
Royal T. Sprague* January 1868–February 1872
Oscar L. Shafter January 1864–December 1867
Augustus L. Rhodes* January 1864–January 1880
Lorenzo Sawyer* January 1864–January 1870
John Currey* January 1864–January 1868
Silas W. Sanderson* January 1864–January 1870
E. B. Crocker May 1863–January 1864
Edward Norton November 1861–January 1864
W. W. Cope* September 1859–January 1864
Joseph G. Baldwin October 1858–January 1862
Stephen J. Field* October 1857–May 1863
Peter H. Burnett January 1857–October 1858
David S. Terry* November 1855–September 1859
Charles H. Bryan November 1854–November 1855
Alexander Wells January 1853–October 1854
Alexander Anderson April 1852–January 1853
Solomon Heydenfeldt January 1852–January 1857
Hugh C. Murray* October 1851–September 1857
Nathaniel Bennett December 1849–October 1851
Henry A. Lyons* December 1849–March 1852
Serranus Clinton Hastings* January 1850–January 1852


Was this helpful?

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.