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III 

DORIS V. ALEXIS 
Director 

A MESSAGE FROM 

THE DIRECTOR 

The inch-thick volume you hold is a far cry, from whatever document was 
published in 1901 to record the laws regulating operation of motor vehicles. On 
January 15 of that year legislation was enacted authorizing the licensing of 
"bicycle, tricycles, automobiles carriages, carts and similar vehicles." 

The Department of Motor Vehicles itself was not created until 1915, when there 
were fewer than 165,000 motor vehicles on the road, and even fewer licensed 
drivers. 
Thus was born the complex system of motor vehicle regulation in California, to 
evolve many years later as this edition of the 1980 Vehicle Code. 

Today, with the number of vehicles approaching twenty million, and with 
nearly sixteen million licensed drivers, the breadth of this 1980 edition is 

understandable. 
The Department is charged today with responsibility for protecting the public 
interest and promoting public safety on California's roads and highways, a 
charge which will be carried out under this collection of laws. This 1980 edition 
includes more than 270 new or amended Vehicle Code laws enacted by the 1980 
Legislature, covering a variety of vehicle-and driver-related matters. 

Of all the laws, none is as important as those which contribute to traffic safety. 
Much of the new legislation recorded in this volume seeks to encourage 
attention to the urgent need for greater care and concern for the safety of 
California's people in this motorized world. We in the Department of Motor 
Vehicles share that concern. 

This 1980 Vehicle Code does not make for light reading. A summarized version, 
written in layman's language, is available in the form of the California Driver's 
Handbook, available in several languages at any of the Department's 150 field 

offices. 

FOREWORD 

The Department of Motor Vehicles of the State of California is directed to 
publish and sell the Vehicle Code of California by the following statutory 
provision: 

"1656. (a) The department shall publish the complete text of the 
California Vehicle Code together with other laws relating to the use of 
highways or the operation of motor vehicles at least once every two years 
and may republish the code and laws and distribute the same as may be 
deemed advisable without charge upon written request of any state or 
local governmental officer or agency, or of any federal agency. 
Paperback copies of the Vehicle Code may be distributed without 
charge to any public secondary school in this state in quantities not to 
exceed one for each driver training and education instructor and one for 
each public secondary school library. The department shall sell and 
distribute the California Vehicle Code to all other persons at a charge 
sufficient to pay the entire actual cost of publishing and distributing the 
code, except the charge shall not exceed three dollars ($3). In 
determining the amount of the charge, a fraction of a dollar shall be 
disregarded, unless it exceeds fifty cents ($0.50), in which case it shall be 
treated as one full dollar. The receipts from the sale of such publications 
shall be deposited in the Motor Vehicle Account. 

(b) The department shall publish a synopsis or summary of the laws 
regulating the operation of vehicles and the use of the highways and may 
deliver a copy thereof without charge with each original vehicle 
registration and with each original driver's license. The department shall 
publish such number of copies of the synopsis or summary in the Spanish 
language as the director determines are needed to meet the demand for 
such copies. The department shall furnish both English and Spanish 
copies to its field offices and to law enforcement agencies for general 
distribution and, when it does so, shall furnish the copies without 
charge." 

The State Edition of the Vehicle Code contains the text recodified by Chapter 
3, Statutes of 1959, as amended by chapters enacted subsequently in the Statutes 
of 1959 through 1980. 

Prior to 1967 the Legislature met every other year (in odd-numbered years) to 
consider matters of general legislation. Special sessions were also conducted in 
even-numbered years to consider budgetary items and matters placed before the 
Legislature by special request of the Governor. The Vehicle Code was published 
every other year, following the full sessions of the Legislature. 
Commencing in 1967, the Legislature met every year. 
In 1973, the two-year Legislative Session began. This was the result of 

Proposition 4, Assembly Constitutional Amendment (ACA) 95 of 1972. 
The two-year session formally commences at noon on the first Monday in 

December of even-numbered years and adjourns sine die on midnight of 
November 30 of the succeeding even-numbered year. There is a mid-session recess 
from September 15 to January 6. 

Generally statutes will take effect on January 1 of each year provided they were 
enacted 90 days prior to that date and were not urgency measures or bills enacted 
in Special Session. Urgency statutes take effect upon their enactment and bills 
enacted at Special Sessions take effect 91 days after adjournment of the Special 
Session. 
An Appendix contains "other laws relating to the use of highways or the 

operation of motor vehicles," as specified in Section 1656. 
A List of Violations of the Vehicle Code, revised and brought up to date every 

year, is also included in the State Edition. 
The textual devices used in past editions are retained. Boldface italics are used 

to indicate new provisions not contained in former editions. Parentheses in the 
text—( )—indicate that material has been deleted by amendment. Deleted 
material is printed in seven-point type in the footnotes. Deletions effected by the 
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1979 Legislature are dropped from the footnotes of the present edition. 
Footnotes primarily denote legislative history of the sections codified by 

Chapter 3, Statutes of 1959, or added to the code since then. In most cases the 
history is confined to noting the number of the statutory chapter affecting the 
section, the year of the statutory action, and the effective date or operative date. 
For legislative history of the Vehicle Code as enacted in Chapter 27, Statutes of 

1935, and of its sections prior to the 1959 recodification, reference may be made 
to the 1957 or earlier printings of the Vehicle Code in the State Edition, or to an 
annotated edition. Most editions of the code published in 1959 and 1961 contain 
Tables of Derivation and Disposition of the sections renumbered in the 1959 
recodification. For purposes of the State Edition, these tables were deemed to be 
of diminishing reference value effective with the 1963 edition, and have not been 
included in subsequent issues. 

Division 1. Words and Phrases Defined   

Division 2. Administration 

Chapter 1. The Department of Motor Vehicles 
Article 1. Organization of Department  1500- 1508 

1650- 1668 
Article 3. Records of Department  1800- 1819 
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Article 1. Administration   2100- 2114 
Article 2. The California Highway Patrol   2250- 2266 

2400- 2420 
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Chapter 2.5. Licenses Issued by California Highway Patrol 
Article 1. General Provisions   2500- 2504 
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Article 3.5. Inspection and Maintenance Stations 2525-2525.12 
Article 4. Transportation of Explosives   2530- 2532 
Article 5. Denial, Suspension and Revocation   2540- 2549 
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Chapter 3. The Reciprocity Commission 
Article 1. Administration  2600.- 2603 
Article 2. Powers and Duties   2650- 2651 

Chapter 4. Administration and Enforcement 
Article 1. Lawful Orders and Inspections  2800- 2815 

Chapter 5. California Traffic Safety Program  2900- 2910 

Chapter 6. New Motor Vehicle Board 
Article 1. Organization of Board  
Article 2. Powers and Duties of Board  
Article 3. Appeals from Decisions of the Department  
Article 4. Hearings on Franchise Modification, Replacement, Termination, 

Refusal to Continue, Delivery and Preparation Obligations, and Warranty 
Reimbursement  

Article 3. Powers and Duties 

TABLE OF CONTENTS 

Foreword  

THE VEHICLE CODE 

General Provisions   
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Page 
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Sections 
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  5030- 5039 
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VEHICLE CODE 
An act to repeal and re-enact the Vehicle Code. 

[Chapter 3, Statutes of 1959, as amended to the close of the 
Regular Session of the Legislature in 1980.] 

The people of the State of California do enact as follows: 

GENERAL PROVISIONS 

11 

Short Title 

1. This act shall be known as the Vehicle Code. 

Continuation of Existing Law 

2. The provisions of this code, insofar as they are substantially the same as 
existing provisions relating to the same subject matter, shall be construed as 
restatements and continuations thereof and not as new enactments. 

Tenure of Office 

3. All persons who, at the time this code goes into effect, hold office under the 
code repealed by this code, which offices are continued by this code, continue to 
hold them according to their former tenure. 

Pending Proceedings and Accrued Rights 

4. No action or proceeding commenced before this code takes effect, and no 
right accrued, is affected by the provisions of this code, but all procedure 
thereafter taken therein shall conform to the provisions of this code so far as 
possible. 

Constitutionality 

5. If any portion of this code is held unconstitutional, such decision shall not 
affect the validity of any other portion of this code. 

Construction of Code 

6. Unless the provision or the context otherwise requires, these general 
provisions and rules of construction shall govern the construction of this code. 

Effect of Headings 

7. Division, chapter, and article headings do not in any manner affect the 
scope, meaning, or intent of the provisions of this code. 
Amended Ch. 1966, Stats. 1959. Effective Sept. 18, 1959. 

Delegation of Powers and Duties 

8. Whenever, by the provisions of this code, a power is granted to a public 
officer or a duty imposed upon such an officer, the power may be exercised or the 
duty performed by a deputy of the officer or by a person authorized pursuant to 
law by the officer. 

Required Writings 

9. Whenever any notice, report, statement, or record is required by this code, 
it shall be made in writing in the English language. 

References to Statutes 

10. Whenever any reference is made to any portion of this code or of any other 
law, such reference shall apply to all amendments and additions heretofore or 
hereafter made. 

"Section" and "Subdivision" 

11. "Section" means a section of this code unless some other statute is 
specifically mentioned and "subdivision" means a subdivision of the section in 
which that term occurs unless some other section is expressly mentioned. 
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the sale of new vehicles to dealers or for directing or supervising in whole or in 
part the manufacturer's representatives. 
Added Ch. 996, Stats. 1973. Operative July 1, 1974. 
Amended Ch. 797, Stats. 1978. Effective January 1, 1979. 

Manufacturer's Gross Vehicle Weight Rating 

390. "Manufacturer's gross vehicle weight rating" means the weight in pounds 
of the chassis of a truck or truck tractor with lubricants, radiator full of water, full 
fuel tank or tanks plus the weights of the cab or driver's compartment, body, 
special chassis and body equipment and pay load as authorized by the chassis 
manufacturer. 

In the event a vehicle is equipped with an identification plate or marker bearing 
the manufacturer's name and manufacturer's gross vehicle weight rating, the 
rating stated thereon shall be prima facie evidence of the manufacturer's gross 
vehicle weight rating. 

Metal Tire 

395. A "metal tire" is a tire the surface of which in contact with the highway 
is wholly or partly of metal or other hard nonresilient material. 

Mobilehome 

396. ( ) "Mobilehome "Li a structure as defined in Section 18008 of the Health 
and Safety Code. As used in this code, a mobilehome is a trailer coach which is in 
excess of eight feet in width or in excess of 40 feet in length and is subject to the 
registration requirements of this code. 
Added Ch. 1248, Stats. 1975. Effective January 1, 1976. 
Amended Ch. 1160, Stats. 1979. Effective January 1, 1980. Supersedes Ch. 194. 
Repealed and added Ch. 1150 Stats. 1980. Effective January 1, 1981. Supersedes Ch. 1149. 
The repealed section read as t5ollows: 

""Mobilehome" is a trailer coach designed and equipped to contain one or more dwelling units, as 
defined in Section 18005.5 of the Health and Safety Code, to be used with or without a permanent 
foundation system and which is in excess of 8 feet in width or in excess of 40 feet in length." 

Motorcycle 

400. A "motorcycle" is any motor vehicle other than a tractor having a seat or 
saddle for the use of the rider and designed to travel on not more than three 
wheels in contact with the ground and weighing less than one thousand five 
hundred pounds, except that four wheels may be in contact with the ground when 
two of the wheels are a functional part of a sidecar. 
Amended Ch. 168, Stats. 1967, by terms of an urgency clause, effective May 22, 1967. 

Motor-Driven Cycle 

405. A "motor-driven cycle" is any motorcycle, including every motor scooter, 
with a motor which produces less than 15 gross brake horsepower, and every 
bicycle with motor attached. A motor-driven cycle does not include a motorized 
bicycle, as defined in Section 406. 
Amended Ch. 1915, Stats. 1961. Effective Sept. 15, 1961. 
Amended Ch. 422, Stats. 1963. Effective Sept. 20, 1963. 
Amended Ch. 987, Stats. 1975. Effective January 1, 1976. 

Motorized Bicycle 

406. A "motorized bicycle" is any two-wheeled or three-wheeled device 
having fully operative pedals for propulsion by human power, or having no pedals 
if powered solely by electrical energy, and an automatic transmission and a motor 
which produces less than 2 gross brake horsepower and is capable of propelling 
the device at a maximum speed of not more than 30 miles per hour on level 
ground. 
Added Ch. 987, Stats. 1975. Effective January 1, 1976. 

Motorized Quadricycle 

407. A "motorized quadricycle" is a four-wheeled device designed to 
carry not more than two persons, including the driver, and having either 
an electric motor or a motor with an automatic transmission developing 
less than two gross brake horsepower and capable ofpropelling the device 
at a maximum speed of not more than 30 miles per hour on level ground. 

Div. 1 —19— § 450 
The device shall be utilized only by a person who by reason of physical 
disability is otherwise unable to move about as a pedestrian or by a senior 
citizen as defined in Section 13000. 
Added Ch. 756, Stats. 1980. Effective January 1, 1981. 

Motor Truck 

410. A "motor truck" is a motor vehicle designed, used, or maintained 
primarily for the transportation of property. 

Motor Vehicle 

415. A "motor vehicle" is a vehicle which is self-propelled. 

Muffler 

425. A "muffler" is a device consisting of a series of chambers or baffle plates, 
or other mechanical design, for the purpose of receiving exhaust gas from an 
internal combustion engine, and effective in reducing noise. 

New Motor Vehicle Dealer 

426. "New motor vehicle dealer" is a dealer, as defined in Section 285, who, in 
addition to the requirements of that section, acquires for resale new and 
unregistered motor vehicles from manufacturers or distributors of such motor 
vehicles. No distinction shall be made, nor any different construction be given to 
the definition of "new motor vehicle dealer" and "dealer" except for the 
application of the provisions of Chapter 6 (commencing with Section 3000) of 
Division 2. The provisions of Sections 3001 and 3003 shall not, however, apply to 
a dealer who deals exclusively in motorcycles. 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 
Amended Ch. 78, Stats. 1973. Effective Jan. 1, 1974. 
Amended Ch. 943, Stats. 1975. Effective Jan. 1, 1976. 

New Vehicle 

430. A "new vehicle" is a vehicle that has never been sold and operated, or 
registered with the department, or registered with the appropriate agency of 
authority, or sold and operated upon the highways of any other state, District of 
Columbia, territory or possession of the United States or foreign state, province or 
country. The word "sold" shall not be deemed to include or extend to any sale 
made by a manufacturer or a distributor to a dealer or by a dealer to another dealer 
licensed under this code. 
Amended Ch. 820, Stats. 1965. Effective Sept. 17, 1965. 

Nonresident 

435. "Nonresident" is a person who is not a resident of this state. 

Official Traffic Control Device 

440. An "official traffic control device" is any sign, signal, marking, or device 
), consistent with Section 21400, placed or erected by authority of a public body 

or official having jurisdiction, for the purpose of regulating, warning, or guiding 
traffic. 
Amended Ch. 671, Stats. 1980. Effective January 1, 1981. 
The 1980 amendment added the italicized material and at the point ( s) indicated deleted the following: 

"not inconsistent with this code" 

Official Traffic Control Signal 

445. An "official traffic control signal" is any device, whether manually, 
electrically or mechanically operated, by which traffic is alternately directed to 
stop and proceed and which is erected by authority of a public body or official 
having jurisdiction. 

Oil Well Production Service Unit 

450. An "oil well production service unit" is any vehicle specifically designed 
for and used exclusively in servicing oil wells which is only incidentally operated 
or moved on a highway. 
Added Ch. 133, Stats. 1969. Effective Nov. 10, 1969. 
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Unladen Weigh! Exclusions 

661. Unladen weight shall not include the following machinery, equipment or 
attachment which is attendant to the efficient operation of the body or vehicle: 

(a) Equipment used for loading, compacting, or unloading of refuse. 
(b) Transitmix cement equipment. 
(c) Temporary equipment used to contain or support the load which does not 

change the body classification. 
(d) Any camper unit that is temporarily attached to a vehicle. 
(e) Refrigeration equipment. 
Added Ch. 2108, Stats. 1963. Effective Sept. 20, 1963. 

Used Vehicle 

665. A "used vehicle" is a vehicle that has been sold and operated on the 
highways of this state, or has been registered with the department, or has been 
sold and operated upon the highways, or has been registered with the appropriate 
agency of authority, of any other state, District of Columbia, territory or possession 
of the United States or foreign state, province or country, or unregistered vehicles 
regularly used or operated as demonstrators in the sales work of a dealer or 
unregistered vehicles regularly used or operated by a manufacturer in the sales 
or distribution work of such manufacturer. The word "sold" shall not be deemed 
to include or extend to any sale made by a manufacturer or a distributor to a dealer 
or by a dealer to another dealer licensed under this code. 
Amended Ch. 820, Stats. 1965. Effective Sept. 17, 1965. 
Amended Ch. 801, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 

U-turn 

665.5. A "U-turn" is the turning of a vehicle upon a highway so as to proceed 
in the opposite direction whether accomplished by one continuous movement or 
not. 
Added Ch. 622, Stats. 1970. Effective Nov. 23, 1970. 

Utility Trailer 

666. A "utility trailer" is any trailer or semitrailer used solely for the 
transportation of the user's personal property and which does not exceed a gross 
weight of 6,000 pounds. 
Added Ch. 1807, Stats. 1961. Effective Sept. 15, 1961. 

Vehicle 

670. A "vehicle" is a device by which any person or property may be propelled, 
moved, or drawn upon a highway, excepting a device moved exclusively by human 
power or used exclusively upon stationary rails or tracks. 
Amended Ch. 987, Stats. 1975. Effective Jan. 1, 1976. 

Vehicle Manufacturer 

672. "Vehicle manufacturer" is any person who produces from raw materials 
or basic components a vehicle of a type subject to registration under this code, or 
who permanently alters for purposes of retail sales, new commercial vehicles by 
converting the vehicles into housecars which display the insignia of approval 
required by Section 18056 of the Health and Safety Code and any regulations 
issued pursuant thereto by the Department of Housing and Community 
Development. As used in this section, "permanently alters" does not include the 
permanent attachment of a camper to a vehicle. 

(b) Unless a vehicle manufacturer either grants franchises to franchisees in this 
state, or issues vehicle warranties directly to franchisees in this state or consumers 
in this state, such manufacturer shall have an established place of business or a 
representative in this state. 

(c) The scope and application of this section shall be limited to the provisions 
of Division 2 (commencing with Section 1500) and Division 5 (commencing with 
Section 11100). 
Added Ch. 873, Stats. 1977. Effective January 1, 1978. 

Div. 1 —29— § 675 
Vehicle Salesman 

675. (a) "Vehicle salesman" is a person not otherwise expressly excluded by 
this section, who does one or a combination of the following: 

(1) Is employed as a salesman by a dealer as defined in Section 285, or who, 
under any form of contract, agreement, or arrangement with a dealer, for 
commission, money, profit, or other thing of value, sells, exchanges, buys, or offers 
for sale, negotiates, or attempts to negotiate, a sale, or exchange of an interest in 
a vehicle required to be registered under this code. 

(2) Induces or attempts to induce any person to buy or exchange an interest 
in a vehicle required to be registered, and who receives or expects to receive a 
commission, money, brokerage fees, profit, or any other thing of value, from either 
the seller or purchaser of said vehicle. 

(3) Exercises managerial control over the business of a licensed vehicle dealer 
or who supervises vehicle salesmen employed by a licensed dealer, whether 
compensated by salary or commission, including but not limited to any person who 
is employed by said dealer as a general manager, assistant general manager or sales 
manager, or any employee of a licensed vehicle dealer who negotiates with or 
induces a customer to enter into a security agreement or purchase agreement or 
purchase order for the sale of a vehicle on behalf of said licensed vehicle dealer. 

(b) The term "vehicle salesman" does not include: 
(1) Representatives of insurance companies, finance companies, or public 

officials who in the regular course of business, are required to dispose of, or sell 
vehicles under a contractual right or obligation of the employer, or in the 
performance of an official duty, or in authority of any court of law; provided, such 
sale is for the purpose of saving the seller from any loss or pursuant to the authority 
of a court of competent jurisdiction. 

(2) Persons who are licensed as a manufacturer, transporter, distributor, or 
representative. 

(3) Persons exclusively employed in a bona fide business of exporting vehicles, 
or of soliciting orders for the sale and delivery of vehicles outside the territorial 
limits of the United States. 

(4) Persons not engaged in the purchase or sale of vehicles as a business, 
disposing of vehicles acquired for their own use, or for use in their business when 
the same shall have been so acquired and used in good faith, and not for the 
purpose of avoiding the provisions of this code. 

(5) Persons regularly employed as salesmen by persons who are engaged in a 
business involving the purchase, sale or exchange of boat trailers. 

(6) Persons regularly employed as salesmen by persons who are engaged in a 
business activity which does not involve the purchase, sale or exchange of vehicles 
except incidentally in connection with the purchase, sale or exchange of vehicles 
of a type not subject to registration under this code, boat trailers or midget autos 
or racers advertised as being built exclusively for use by children. 

(7) Persons licensed as a vehicle dealer under this code doing business as a sole 
ownership or member of a partnership or a stockholder and director of a 
corporation licensed as a vehicle dealer under this code, provided, however, that 
such persons shall engage in the activities of a salesman as defined herein 
exclusively on behalf of said sole ownership or partnership or corporation in which 
they own an interest or stock, and those persons owning such stock shall be 
directors of such corporation; otherwise, they shall be deemed to be vehicle 
salesmen and subject to the provisions of Article 2 (commencing with Section 
11800) of Chapter 4, Division 5. 

(8) Persons regularly employed as salespersons by a vehicle dealer authorized 
to do business in California under Section 11700.1 of the Vehicle Code. 
Amended Ch. 1668, Stats. 1959. Effective Sept. 18, 1959. 
Amended Ch. 1038, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 
Amended Ch. 1004, Stats. 1968. Effective Nov. 13, 1968. 
Amended Ch. 1286, Stats. 1976. Effective January 1, 1977. 
Amended Ch. 1088, Stats. 1979. Effective September 28, 1979, by terms of an urgency clause. 
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Advisory Committee 

2903. The Governor may establish an Advisory Committee on the California 
Traffic Safety Program which shall consist of various officials of state and local 
government and other persons who are interested in the establishment of a 
comprehensive program of traffic safety in this state including, but not limited to, 
representatives of agriculture, railroads, the Institute of Transportation and Traffic 
Engineering of the University of California, the motor vehicle manufacturing 
industry, the automobile aftermarket equipment servicing and manufacturing, 
industry, automobile dealers, the trucking industry, labor, motor vehicle user 
organizations, and traffic safety organizations. 
Added Ch. 1492, Stats. 1967. Effective Aug. 28, 1967. Urgency measure. 

Local Programs 

2904. The California Traffic Safety Program shall include a local traffic safety 
program designed to encourage the political subdivisions of this state to establish 
traffic safety programs consistent with the objectives of the California Traffic 
Safety Program. 
Added Ch. 1492, Stats. 1967. Effective Aug. 28, 1967. Urgency measure. 

Report to Legislature 

2905. On or before the fifth legislative day of the 1968 legislative session and 
each year thereafter, the Governor shall submit a report to the Legislature 
through such interim committee or committees as may be designated by 
legislative resolution. Such report shall include a detailed presentation of the 
California Traffic Safety Program, a statement concerning the progress made in 
implementing the program and recommendations concerning possible legislative 
action deemed necessary or desirable to implement the program. 
Added Ch. 1492, Stats. 1967. Effective Aug. 28, 1967. Urgency measure. 

Fund Created 

2906. The California Traffic Safety Program Fund is hereby created in the 
State Treasury to consist of the funds referred to in Section 2907. 
Added Ch. 1492, Stats. 1967. Effective Aug. 28, 1967. Urgency measure. 

Funds Appropriated 

2907. Any funds which are appropriated by Congress for the purposes of 
carrying out Section 402 of Title 23, United States Code (P.L. 89-564; 80 Stats. 731) 
and which are apportioned to this state by the Secretary of Commerce pursuant 
to Section 402 of Title 23, United States Code (P.L. 89-564; 80 Stats. 731) are 
continuously appropriated for the purposes and uses of the California Traffic 
Safety Program. 
Added Ch. 1492, Stats. 1967. Effective Aug. 28, 1967. Urgency measure. 

Governor's Apportionment of Funds 

2908. The Governor shall apportion any funds contained in the California 
Traffic Safety Program Fund among the various state agencies and local political 
subdivisions as shall effectuate the purposes of the program, and, in accordance 
with any federal formula for apportionment or other federal requirements as 
contained in federal enactments, regulations, or standards promulgated by the 
Secretary of Commerce. 
Added Ch. 1492, Stats. 1967. Effective Aug. 28, 1967. Urgency measure. 

Local Participation with Governor's Approval 

2909. Any local political subdivision of this state, including, but not limited to, 
a city, a county, a city and county, a district, or a special district, is authorized to 
participate in a local traffic safety program within its jurisdiction if such local 
program is approved by the Governor; provided, however, that any local political 
subdivision may participate in a traffic safety program other than that 
promulgated pursuant to the federal Highway Safety Act of 1966. 
Added Ch. 1492, Stats. 1967. Effective Aug. 28, 1967. Urgency measure. 

Div.2 — 63— § 3003 
Support of Local Program 

2910. Such local political subdivision may use, in implementing its local traffic 
safety program, any funds which are apportioned to it from the California Traffic 
Safety Program Fund by the Governor pursuant to Section 2908. 
Added Ch. 1492, Stats. 1967. Effective Aug. 28, 1967. Urgency measure. 

CHAPTER 6. NEW MOTOR VEHICLE BOARD 
(Chapter added as Chapter 5 by Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 

Renumbered as Chapter 6 by Ch. 26, Stats. 1969) 
(Limitation on operative term removed by Ch. 1300, Stats. 1970) 

(Amended Ch. 545, Stats. 1974. Effective Jan. 1, 1975) 

Article 1. Organization of Board 

Beard in Department 

3000. There is in the Department of Motor Vehicles a New Motor Vehicle 
Board, which consists of nine members. 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 
Amended Ch. 996, Stats. 1973. Operative July 1, 1974. 

Membership of Board 

3001. Four of the appointive members of the board shall be new motor vehicle 
dealers as defined in Section 426 who have engaged for a period of not less than 
five years preceding their appointment in activities regulated by Article 1 
(commencing with Section 11700) of Chapter 4 of Division 5. Such members shall 
be appointed by the Governor. 
Each of the five remaining appointive members shall be a public member who 

is not a licentiate under Article 1 (commencing with Section 11700) or 2 
(commencing with Section 11800) of Chapter 4 of Division 5 or an employee of 
such licentiate at the time of such appointment and one of such five appointive 
members shall have been admitted to practice law in the state for at least 10 years 
immediately preceding his appointment. One public member shall be appointed 
by the Senate Rules Committee, one by the Speaker of the Assembly, and three 
by the Governor. 
Each member shall be of good moral character. 
The provisions of this section shall not apply to a dealer who deals exclusively 

in motorcycles. 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 
Amended Ch. 943, Stats. 1975. Effective January 1, 1976. 

Effectiveness of Appointments 

3002. The appointments of the appointive members shall be made effective as 
of the effective date of this article. 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 

Terms of Members— Vacancies 

3003. Each appointive member of the board shall be appointed for a term of 
four years and shall hold office until the appointment and qualification of his 
successor or until six months shall have elapsed since the expiration of the term 
for which he was appointed, whichever first occurs. 
The terms of the members of the board first appointed shall expire as follows: 

one public member and one new motor vehicle dealer member, January 15, 1969; 
two public members and one new motor vehicle dealer member, January 15, 1970; 
two public members and two new motor vehicle dealer members, January 15, 1971. 
The terms shall thereupon expire in the same relative order. 
Vacancies occurring shall be filled by appointment for the unexpired term. 
The provisions of this section shall not apply to a dealer who deals exclusively 

in motorcycles. 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 
Amended Ch. 943, Stats. 1975. Effective January 1, 1976. 
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Oath of Office 
3004. Members of the board shall take an oath of office as provided in the 

Constitution and the Government Code. 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 

Removal of Members 
3005. The appointive authority has the power to remove from office at any 

time, any member of the board appointed by such appointing authority for 
continued neglect of duties required by law, or for incompetence, or 
unprofessional or dishonorable conduct. Nothing in this section shall be construed 
as a limitation or restriction on the power of the appointing authority, conferred 
by any other provision of law, to remove any member of the board. 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 

Board to Elect President 
3006. The board shall organize and elect a president from among its members 

for a term of one year at the first meeting of each year. The newly elected 
president shall assume his duties at the conclusion of the meeting at which he was 
elected. Reelection to office during membership is unrestricted. 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 

Frequency of Meetings 
3007. The board shall meet at least twice during each calendar year. 
Special meetings may be called at any time by the president or by any five 

members of the board upon notice for such time and in such manner as the board 
may provide. 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 

Meetings: Open and Executive 

3008. (a) All meetings of the board shall be open and public, and all persons 
shall be permitted to attend any meeting of the board, except that the board may 
hold executive sessions to deliberate on the decision to be reached upon the 
evidence introduced in a proceeding conducted in accordance with Chapter 5 
(commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the 
Government Code. 

(b) At all meetings of the board, open or executive, involving an appeal from 
a decision of the Director of Motor Vehicles as hereinafter provided for, the 
director or his authorized representative may attend, present the position of the 
department and thereafter shall absent himself from any executive session at the 
request of any member of the board. 

(c) Within the limitations of its powers and authority as herein conferred, and 
in the event of disagreement between the board and the director regarding the 
decision to be reached as herein provided, the decision of the board shall be final. 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 

Quorum Defined 
3010. Five members of the board shall constitute a quorum for the transaction 

of business, for the performance of any duty or the exercise of any power or 
authority of the board, except that three members of the board, who are not new 
motor vehicle dealers, shall constitute a quorum for the purposes of Article 4 
(commencing with Section 3060) of this chapter. 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 
Amended Ch. 278, Stats. 1977. Effective July 8, 1977 by terms of an urgency clause. 

Vacancy on the Board 
3011. A vacancy on the board shall not impair the power of the remaining 

members to perform all duties and exercise all powers of the board, providing the 
members remaining constitute a quorum. 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 

Div. 2 —65— § 3050 
Members' Expenses 

3012. Each member of the board shall receive a per diem of twenty-five dollars 
($25) for each day actually spent in the discharge of official duties, and he shall 
be reimbursed for his traveling and other expenses necessarily incurred in the 
performance of his duties, which per diem and reimbursement shall be wholly 
defrayed from funds that shall be provided in the annual budget of the 
department. 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 

Beard's Seal 

3013. The board shall adopt a seal and such other device as the members may 
desire thereon, by which they shall authenticate all papers and documents under 
their control. 
Copies of all records and papers in the board's office shall be received in 

evidence in all cases when certified under the hand and seal of the board, equally 
and with like effect as the originals. 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 

Department to Supply Staff 

3014. The department shall provide the board with the services, as secretary, 
of a qualified, trained person, who shall, subject to civil service requirements, 
devote as much time as may be necessary to discharge the functions of the board 
as herein provided and shall further provide the board with the necessary 
personnel, office space, equipment and supplies as in the opinion of the board may 
be necessary to administer this chapter. 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 

Headquarters Office—Meeting Rooms 

3015. In addition to the office of the secretary in Sacramento, the department 
shall, as the need therefor occurs, secure adequate rooms for the meetings of the 
board in Los Angeles, San Francisco, Sacramento, or such other locations in the 
state as may be required in the discretion of the board, to administer this chapter. 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 

Article 2. Powers and Duties of Board 

Mandates to Board 

3050. The board shall: 
(a) Adopt rules and regulations in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 

4.5 (commencing with Section 11371), Part 1, Division 3, Title 2 of the Government 
Code governing such matters as are specifically committed to its jurisdiction. 

(b) Hear and consider, within the limitations and in accordance with the 
procedure hereinafter provided, an appeal presented by an applicant for, or 
holder of, a license as a new motor vehicle dealer, manufacturer, manufacturer 
branch, distributor, distributor branch, or representative when any such applicant 
or licensee submits such an appeal provided for in this chapter from a decision 
arising out of the department. 

(c) Consider any matter concerning the activities or practices of any person 
applying for or holding a license as a new motor vehicle dealer, manufacturer, 
manufacturer branch, distributor, distributor branch, or representative pursuant 
to Chapter 4 (commencing with Section 11700) of Division 5 submitted by any 
person; and, after such consideration, the board may do any one or any 
combination of the following: 

(1) Direct the department to conduct such investigation of such matter as the 
board deems reasonable, and make a written report on the results of such 
investigation to the board within the time specified by the board; 

(2) Undertake to arbitrate amicably or resolve any honest difference of opinion 
or viewpoint existing between any member of the public and any new motor 
vehicle dealer, manufacturer, manufacturer branch, distributor, distributor 
branch, or representative; 
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(3) Order the department to exercise any and all authority or power that the 

department may have with respect to the issuance, renewal, refusal to renew, 
suspension or revocation of the license of any new motor vehicle dealer, 
manufacturer, manufacturer branch, distributor, distributor branch, or 
representative as such license is required under Chapter 4 (commencing with 
Section 11700) of Division 5. 

(d) Hear and consider, within the limitations and in accordance with the 
procedure hereinafter provided, a protest presented by a franchisee pursuant to 
Section 3060, 3062, 3064, or 3065. A member of the board who is a new motor 
vehicle dealer may participate in, hear, and comment or advise other members 
upon, but may not decide any matter involving a protest filed pursuant to Article 
4 (commencing with Section 3060) of this chapter. 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 
Amended Ch. 996, Stats. 1973. Operative July 1, 1974. 
Amended Ch. 384, Stats. 1974. Operative July 5, 1974. 
Amended Ch. 943, Stats. 1975. Effective January 1, 1976. 
Amended Ch. 278, Stats. 1977. Effective July 8, 1977, by terms of an urgency clause. 
Amended Ch. 340, Stats. 1979. Effective July 27, 1979, by terms of an urgency clause. 

Oaths, Depositions, Certification to Official Acts, and Issuance of Subpoenas 

3050.1. (a) In any proceeding, hearing, or in the discharge of any duties 
imposed under this chapter, the board ( ), its secretary, or a hearing officer 
designated by the board may administer oaths, take depositions, certify to official 
acts, and issue subpoenas to compel attendance of witnesses and the production 
of books, records, papers, and other documents in any part of the state. 

(b) For purposes of discovery, the board or its secretary may, if deemed 
appropriate and proper under the circumstances, authorize the parties to engage 
in such discovery procedures as are provided for in civil actions in Article 3 
(commencing with Section 2016) and Article 4 (commencing with Section 2037) 
of Chapter 3 of Title 3 of Part 4 of the Code of Civil Procedure, excepting the 
provisions of Section 2030 of that code. Disco very shall be completed no later than 
15 days prior to the commencement of the proceeding or hearing before the board 
This subdivision shall apply only to those proceedings or hearings involving a 
petition or protest filed pursuant to subdivision (c) or (d) of Section 3050. The 
board, its secretary, or a hearing officer designated by the board may issue 
subpoenas to compel attendance at depositions of persons having knowledge of 
the acts, omissions or events which are the basis for the proceedings, as well as the 
production of books, records, papers and other documents. 
Added Ch. 1210, Stats. 1972. Effective Mar. 7, 1973. 
Amended Ch. 964, Stats. 1980. Effective January 1, 1981. 
The 1980 amendment added the italicized material and at the point (s) indicated deleted the following: 
"or its secretary" 

Enforcement of Subpoena 

3050.2. (a) Obedience to subpoenas issued ( )' to compel attendance of 
witnesses, or the production of books, records, papers, and other documents at the 
proceeding or hearing,may be enforced by application to the superior court as set 
forth in Article 2 (commencing with Section 11180) of Chapter 2 ( ) 2 ofPart 1 
of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code. 

(b) Compliance with such discovery procedures as have been authorized 
pursuant to subdivision (b) of Section 3050.1 may be enforced by application to 
the secretary of the board The secretary may, at the direction of the board, upon 
a showing of failure to comply with authorized discovery without a showing of 
good cause for such failure, dismiss the protest orsusp end the proceedings pending 
compliance. Nothing in this section shall prohibit the secretary from making 
application to the superior court to enforce obedience to subpoenas or compliance 
with such other discovery procedures as have been authorized pursuant to 
subdivision (b) of Section 3050.1. 
Added Ch. 1210, Stats. 1972. Effective Mar. 7, 1973. 
Amended Ch. 964, Stats. 1980. Effective January 1, 1981. 
The 1980 amendment added the italicized material and at the point (s) indicated deleted the following: 
"in accordance with this chapter" 
2", Part 1, Division 3," 

Witness Fees and the Mileage Allowance 

3050.3. Each witness, other than an officer or employee of the state or of a 
political subdivision of the state, who appears by order of the board or its secretary, 
shall receive for his attendance the same fees and all witnesses shall receive the 
same mileage allowed by law to witnesses in civil cases. The amount shall be paid 
by the party at whose request the witness is subpoenaed. The mileage and fees, 
if any, of a witness subpoenaed by the board or its secretary, but not at the request 
of a party, shall be paid from the funds provided for the use of the board in the 
same manner that other expenses of the board are paid. 
Added Ch. 1210, Stats. 1972. Effective Mar. 7, 1973. 

Application of Chapter 

3051. The provisions of this chapter are not applicable to any person licensed 
as a transporter under Article 1 (commencing with Section 11700) or as a salesman 
under Article 2 (commencing with Section 11800) of Chapter 4 of Division 5, or 
to any licensee who is not a new motor vehicle dealer, motor vehicle 
manufacturer, manufacturer branch, new motor vehicle distributor, distributor 
branch or representative. The provisions of this chapter shall not apply to 
transactions involving "mobilehomes", as defined in Section 18008 of the Health 
and Safety Code, "recreational vehicles", as defined in Section 18010.5 of the 
Health and Safety Code, "commercial coaches", as defined in Section 18012 of the 
Health and Safety Code or off-highway motor vehicles subject to identification as 
defined in Section 38012. Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, the 
provisions of this chapter shall be applicable to a new motor vehicle dealer as 
defined in Section 426, a manufacturer as defined in Section 388, a manufacturer 
branch as defined in Section 389, a distributor as defined in Section 296, a 
distributor branch as defined in Section 297, a representative as defined in Section 
512, or an applicant therefor. 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 
Amended Ch. 996, Stats. 1973. Operative July 1, 1974. 
Amended Ch. 943, Stats. 1975. Effective January 1, 1976. 
Amended Ch. 622, Stats. 1979. Effective January 1, 1980. 

Article 3. Appeals From Decisions of the Department 

Form, Filing, Support of Appeal 

3052. (a) On or before the 10th day after the last day on which reconsideration 
of a final decision of the department can be ordered, the respondent may file an 
appeal with the secretar' of the board. The aeal shall be in writing and shall 
state the grounds therefor. A copy thereof shalppl be mailed by the appellant to the 
department which shall thereafter be treated in all respects as a party to the 
appeal. The right to appeal shall not be affected by failure to seek reconsideration 
before the department. 

(b) An appeal shall be deemed filed on the date it is received in the office of 
the secretary of the board; provided, however, an appeal mailed to the secretary 
by means of registered mail shall be deemed to be filed with the secretary on the 
date of the registry with the United States Post Office. 

(c) The appeal shall be accompanied by evidence that the appellant has made 
application for the administrative record of the department and advanced the cost 
of preparation thereof. The complete administrative record includes the 
pleadings, all notices and orders issued by the department, any proposed decision 
by a hearing officer, the exhibits admitted or rejected, the written evidence and 
any other papers in the case. All or those parts of the administrative record 
requested by appellant may be filed with the appeal application, with appellant's 
points and authorities or upon order of the board, which may order prior payment 
by appellant of the further cost of providing the additional administrative record 
so ordered to be filed. 

(d) No decision of the department shall become effective during the period an 
appeal may be filed and the filing of an appeal shall stay the effect of the decision 
of the department until such time as a final order is made by the board. 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 
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Fraud and Other Violations of Low: 
Failure to Pay for Vehicles: Priori!y of Claims 

11711. (a) If any person ( 1) shall suffer any loss or damage by reason of any 
fraud practiced on him or fraudulent representation made to him by a licensed 
dealer or one of such dealer's salesmen acting for the dealer, in his behalf, or within 
the scope of the employment of such salesman and such person has possession of 
a written instrument furnished by the licensee, containing stipulated provisions 
and guarantees which the person believes have been violated by the licensee, or 
(2) if any person shall suffer any loss or damage by reason of the violation by such 
dealer or salesman of any of the provisions of Division 3 (commencing with Section 
4000) of this code, or (3) if any person is not paid for a vehicle sold to and 
purchased by a licensee, then any such person shall have a right of action against 
such dealer, his salesman, and the surety upon the dealer's bond, in an amount not 
to exceed the value of the vehicle purchased from or sold to the dealer. 

(b) If the state or any political subdivision thereof shall suffer any loss or 
damage by reason of any fraud practiced on the state or fraudulent representation 
made to the state by a licensed dealer, or one of such dealer's representatives 
acting for the dealer, in his behalf, or within the scope of employment of such 
representatives, or shall suffer any loss or damage by reason of the violation of such 
dealer or representative of any of the provisions of Division 3 (commencing with 
Section 4000) of this code, or Part 5 (commencing with Section 10701), Division 
2 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, the state or any political subdivision thereof, 
through the department, shall have a right of action against such dealer, his 
representative, and the surety upon the dealer's bond in an amount not to exceed 
the value of the vehicles involved. 

(c) The failure of a dealer upon demand to pay the fees and penalties 
determined to be due as provided in Section 4456 hereof is declared to be a 
violation of Division 3 (commencing with Section 4000) of this code, and Part 5 
(commencing with Section 10701), Division 2 of the Revenue and Taxation Code 
and to constitute loss or damage to the state in the amounts of such fees and 
penalties determined to be due and not paid. 

(d) The claims of the State under subdivision (b) shall be satisfied first and 
entitled to preference over all claims under subdivision ( a). 

(e) The claims of any person under subdivision (a) who is not a licensee shall 
be satisfied first and entitled to preference over all other claims under subdivision. 
(a). 
Amended Ch. 1827, Stats. 1959. Effective Sept. 18, 1959. 
Amended Ch. 35, Stats. 1960. Effective June 25, 1960. 
Amended Ch. 1863, Stats. 1963. Effective Sept. 20, 1963. 
Amended Ch. 1106, Stats. 1972. Effective Mar. 7, 1973. 

Change of Established Place of Business 

11712. (a) The department shall not issue a dealer's license to any applicant 
therefor who has not an established place of business as is defined in this code. 
Should the dealer change the site or location of his established place of business, 
he shall immediately upon making such change so notify the department. Should 
a dealer for any reason whatsoever, cease to be in possession of an established place 
of business from and on which he conducts the business for which he is licensed, 
he shall immediately notify the department and upon demand by the department 
shall deliver to the department such dealer's license, dealer's special plate or 
plates, and all report of sale books in his possession. 

(b) Should the dealer change to, or add another franchise for the sale of new 
vehicles, or cancel or, for any cause whatever, otherwise lose a franchise for the 
sale of new vehicles, he shall immediately so notify the department. 
Amended Ch. 1214, Stats. 1971. Operative May 3, 1972. 

Motorcycle Soles: Required Price Information 

11712.5. It shall be unlawful and a violation of this code for a dealer issued a 
license pursuant to this article to sell, offer for sale, or display, any new motorcycle 
unless there is securely attached thereto a statement as required by Section 24014. 
Added Ch. 1089, Stats. 1974. Effective Jan. 1, 1975. 

Unlawful Acts 
11713. It shall be unlawful and a violation of this code for the holder of any 

license issued under this article: 
(a) To make or disseminate or cause to be made or disseminated before the 

public in this state, in any newspaper or other publication, or any advertising 
device, or by public outcry or proclamation, or in any other manner or means 
whatever, any statement which is untrue or misleading, and which is known, or 
which by the exercise of reasonable care should be known, to be untrue or 
misleading; or to so make or disseminate or cause to be so disseminated any such 
statement as part of a plan or scheme with the intent not to sell any vehicle or 
service so advertised at the price stated therein, or as so advertised. 

(b) To advertise or offer for sale or exchange in any manner, any vehicle not 
actually for sale at the premises of such dealer or available to said dealer from the 
manufacturer or distributor of such vehicle at the time of the advertisement or 
offer; provided however, that this subdivision does not apply to advertising or 
offering for sale or exchange any used mobilehome, as defined by Section 18008 
of the Health and Safety Code, or used commercial coach, as defined by Section 
18012 of the Health and Safety Code, other than a recreational vehicle, as defined 
by Section 18010.5 of the Health and Safety Code, where such advertising or 
offering for sale is not contrary to any terms of a contract between the seller of 
the mobilehome or commercial coach and the owner of the mobilehome park, and 
which mobilehome or commercial coach is either in place on a lot rented or leased 
for human habitation within an established mobilehome park, as defined in 
Section 18214 of the Health and Safety Code, or is otherwise located, pursuant to 
a local zoning ordinance or permit, on a lot where its presence has been authorized 
or its continued presence and such use would be authorized, for a total and 
uninterrupted period of at least one year. 

(c) To fail within 48 hours in writing to withdraw any advertisement of a 
vehicle that has been sold or withdrawn from sale. 

(d) To advertise or represent a vehicle as a new vehicle if such vehicle falls 
within the purview of Section 665 of this code. 

(e) To engage in the business for which licensee is licensed without having in 
force and effect a good and sufficient bond with corporate surety as hereinbefore 
provided. 

(f) For any licensed dealer to engage in the business for which such dealer is 
licensed without at all times maintaining an established place of business as 
required by this code. 

(g) To include as an added cost to the selling price of a vehicle, an amount for 
licensing or transfer of title of the vehicle, which amount is not due to the state 
unless, prior to the sale, such amount has been paid by a dealer to the state in order 
to avoid penalties that would have accrued because of late payment of such fees. 
However, a dealer may collect, from the second purchaser of a vehicle, a prorated 
fee based upon the number of months remaining in the registration year for that 
vehicle, if the vehicle had been previously sold by the dealer and the sale was 
subsequently rescinded and all the fees that were paid, as required by this code 
and Chapter 2 (commencing with Section 10751) of Division 2 of the Revenue and 
Taxation Code, were returned to the first purchaser of the vehicle. 

(h) To employ any person as a salesman who has not been licensed pursuant 
to Article 2 (commencing with Section 11800) of this chapter, and whose license 
is not displayed on the premises of the dealer as provided in Section 11812. 

(i) To deliver, following sale, a vehicle for operation on California highways, if 
such vehicle does not meet all of the equipment requirements of Division 12 
(commencing with Section 24000) of this code. 

U) To use or permit the use of the special plates assigned to him for any purpose 
other than permitted by Section 11715. 

(k) To advertise or otherwise represent, or knowingly to allow to be advertised 
or represented on his behalf or at his place of business, that no downpayment is 
required in connection with the sale of a vehicle when a downpayment is in fact 
required and the buyer is advised or induced to finance such downpayment by a 
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loan in addition to any other loan financing the remainder of the purchase price 
of the vehicle. 

(1) To participate in the sale of a vehicle reported to the Department of Motor 
Vehicles under the provisions of Section 5900 or Section 5901 of this code without 
making the return and payment of any sales tax due and required by Section 6451 
of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(m) To permit the use of his dealer's license, supplies, or books by any other 
person for the purpose of permitting that person to engage in the sale of vehicles 
required to be registered under this code, or to permit the use of his dealer's 
license, supplies, or books to operate a branch location to be used by any other 
person, if, in either situation, the licensee has no financial or equitable interest or 
investment in the vehicles sold by, or the business of, or branch location used by, 
such person, or has no such interest or investment other than commissions, 
compensations, fees, or any other thing of value received for the use of the dealer's 
license, supplies, or books to engage in the sale of vehicles. 

(n) To violate any of the provisions of Article 10 (commencing with Section 
28050) of Chapter 5 of Division 12 of this code. 

(o) To fail to deliver or honor the terms and conditions of any warranty as set 
forth in Chapter 3 (commencing with Section 1797) of Title 1.7 of Part 4 of Division 
3 of the Civil Code. 

(p) To violate any of the terms or provisions of Chapter 6 (commencing with 
Section 11950) of Division 5. 

(q) Has violated any of the provisions of Part 2 (commencing with Section 
18000) of Division 13 of, or Section 18613 of, the Health and Safety Code or any 
rules and regulations issued pursuant thereto. 
Amended Ch. 1827, Stats. 1959. Effective Sept. 18, 1959. 
Amended Ch. 1626, Stats. 1961, superseding Ch. 58 and Ch. 346, Stats. 1961. Effective Sept. 15, 1961. 
Amended Ch. 1858, Stats. 1963. Effective July 18, 1963. Operative Oct. 1, 1963. 
Amended Ch. 482, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 
Amended Ch. 1021, Stats. 1968. Effective Nov. 13, 1968. 
Amended Ch. 522, Stats. 1970. Effective Nov. 23, 1970. 
Supersedes Ch. 395, Stats. 1970. 
Amended Ch. 1214, Stats. 1971. Operative May 3, 1972. 
Amended Ch. 799, Stats. 1972, superseding Ch. 475. Effective Mar. 7, 1973. 
Amended Ch. 774, Stats. 1973. Effective Sept. 25, 1973, by terms of an urgency clause. 
Amended Ch. 1286, Stats. 1974. Effective July 1, 1975. 
Amended Ch. 1248, Stats. 1975. Effective January 1, 1976. Supersedes Ch. 842, Stats. 1975. 
Amended Ch. 843, Stats. 1976. Effective January 1, 1977. 
Amended Ch. 579, Stats. 1977. Effective January 1, 1978. 
Amended Ch. 797, Stats. 1978. Effective January 1, 1979. 

Additional Unlawful Acts 

Note: The following Section 11713.1 added by Chapter 1031, Stats. 1973, relates to 
the holders of dealer licenses. 

Additional Unlawful Acts 

11713.1. It shall be unlawful and a violation of this code for the holder of any 
dealer's license issued under this article to do any of the following: 

(a) To advertise any specific vehicle for sale without identifying such vehicle 
by either its vehicle identification number or license number. 

(b) To advertise the total price of a vehicle without including all costs to the 
purchaser at time of sale, except sales tax, vehicle registration fees, the fee charged 
by the state for the issuance of the certificate of compliance or certificate of waiver 
pursuant to Section 9889.56 of the Business and Professions Code, finance charges, 
mobilehome escrow fees, the amount of any city, county, or city and county 
imposed fee or tax for a mobilehome, and any dealer documentary preparation 
charge. The dealer documentary preparation charge shall not exceed twenty 
dollars ($20). 

(c) To exclude from the newspaper display advertisement of a vehicle for sale 
that there will be added to the advertised total price at the time of sale, charges 
for sales tax, vehicle registration fees, the fee charged by the state for the issuance 
of the certificate of compliance or certificate of waiver pursuant to Section 9889.56 
of the Business and Professions Code, finance charge, mobilehome escrow fees, the 

Div. 5 — 205— § 11713.3 

amount of any city, county, or city and county imposed fee or tax for a 
mobilehome, and any dealer documentary preparation charge. 
For purposes of this subdivision, a newspaper display advertisement is an 

advertisement in a newspaper which is two or more newspaper columns in widt 
or one newspaper column in width and more than seven inches in length. 

(d) To represent the dealer documentary preparation charge as a 
governmental fee. 

(e) To fail to sell a vehicle to any person at the advertised total price, exclusive 
of sales tax, vehicle registration fees, the fee charged by the state for the issuance 
of the certificate of compliance or certificate of waiver pursuant to Section 9889.56 
of the Business and Professions Code, finance charges, mobilehome escrow fees, 
the amount of any city, county, or city and county imposed fee or tax for a 
mobilehome, and any dealer documentary preparation charge, which charges 
shall not exceed twenty dollars ($20) while such vehicle remains unsold, unless the 
advertisement states the advertised total price is good only for a specified time and 
such time has elapsed. 
Added Ch. 1031, Stats. 1973. Effective Jan. 1, 1974. 
Amended Ch. 1162, Stats. 1978. Effective January 1, 1979. Supersedes Ch. 632. 
Amended Ch. 278, Stats. 1979. Effective July 1, 1979 by terms of an urgency clause. 
Amended Ch. 943, Stats. 1979. Effective January 1, 1980. 

Additional Unlawful Acts 

11713.2. It shall be unlawful and a violation of this code for any manufacturer, 
manufacturer branch, distributor, or distributor branch licensed under this code 
to coerce or attempt to coerce any dealer in this state: 

(a) To order or accept delivery of any motor vehicle, part or accessory thereof, 
appliance, equipment or any other commodity not required by law which shall not 
have been voluntarily ordered by the dealer. 

(b) To order or accept delivery of any motor vehicle with special features, 
appliances, accessories or equipment not included in the list price of such motor 
vehicles as publicly advertised by the manufacturer or distributor. 

(c) To order for any person any parts, accessories, equipment, machinery, tools, 
appliances, or any commodity whatsoever. 

(d) To participate in an advertising campaign or contest, any promotional 
campaign, promotional materials, training materials, showroom or other display 
decorations or materials at the expense of the dealer. 

(e) To enter into any agreement with the manufacturer, manufacturer branch, 
distributor, or distributor branch, or to do any other act prejudicial to the dealer 
by threatening to cancel a franchise or any contractual agreement existing 
between the dealer and manufacturer, manufacturer branch, distributor, or 
distributor branch. Notice in good faith to any dealer of the dealer's violation of 
any terms or provisions of such franchise or contractual agreement shall not 
constitute a violation of this article. 
Added Ch. 996, Stats. 1973. Operative July 1, 1974. 
Amended and renumbered Ch. 943, Stats. 1979. Effective January 1, 1980. 
Supersedes Ch. 373. 

Additional Unlawful Acts 

11713.3. It shall be unlawful and a violation of this code for any manufacturer, 
manufacturer branch, distributor, or distributor branch licensed under this code: 

(a) To refuse or fail to deliver in reasonable quantities and within a reasonable 
time after receipt of an order from a dealer having a franchise for the retail sale 
of any new vehicle sold or distributed by the manufacturer or distributor, any new 
vehicle or parts or accessories to new vehicles as are covered by such franchise, 
if such vehicle, parts or accessories are publicly advertised as being available for 
delivery or actually being delivered. This subdivision is not violated, however, if 
such failure is caused by acts or causes beyond the control of the manufacturer, 
manufacturer branch, distributor, or distributor branch. 

(b) To prevent or require or attempt to prevent or require, by contract or 
otherwise any change in the capital structure of a dealership or the means by or 
through which the dealer finances the operation of the dealership, provided that 
the dealer at all times meets any reasonable capital standards agreed to by the 

1855



§ 11713.3 —206— Div.5 Div. 5 — 207— § 11713.5 

dealer and the manufacturer or distributor, and also provided that no change in 
capital structure shall cause a change in the principal management or have the 
effect of a sale of the franchise without the consent of the manufacturer or 
distributor. 

(c) To prevent or require, or attempt to prevent or require, a dealer to change 
the executive management of a dealership, other than the principal dealership 
operator or operators if the franchise was granted the dealer in reliance upon the 
personal qualifications of such person or persons. 

(d) To prevent or require, or attempt to prevent or require, by contract or 
otherwise, any dealer, or any officer, partner, or stockholder of any dealership, the 
sale or transfer of any part of the interest of any of them to any other person or 
persons. No dealer, officer, partner, or stockholder shall, however, have the right 
to sell, transfer, or assign the franchise, or any right thereunder, without the 
consent of the manufacturer or distributor except that such consent shall not be 
unreasonably withheld. 

(e) To prevent, or attempt to prevent a dealer from receiving fair and 
reasonable compensation for the value of the franchised business. There shall be 
no transfer or assignment of the dealer's franchise without the consent of the 
manufacturer or distributor, which consent shall not be unreasonably withheld. 

(f) To obtain money, goods, service, or any other benefit from any other person 
with whom the dealer does business, on account of, or in relation to, the transaction 
between the dealer and such other person, other than for compensation for 
services rendered, unless such benefit is promptly accounted for, and transmitted 
to, the dealer. 

(g) To require a dealer to prospectively assent to a release, assignment, 
novation, waiver, or estoppel which would relieve any person from liability to be 
imposed by this article or to require any controversy between a dealer and a 
manufacturer, distributor, or representative, to be referred to any person other 
than the board, if such referral would be binding on the dealer. This subdivision 
shall not, however, prohibit arbitration before an independent arbitrator. 

(h) To increase prices of motor vehicles which the dealer had ordered for 
private retail consumers prior to the dealer's receipt of the written official price 
increase notification. A sales contract signed by a private retail consumer shall 
constitute evidence of each such order. In the event of manufacturer price 
reductions, the amount of any such reduction received by a dealer shall be passed 
on to the private retail consumer by the dealer if the retail price was negotiated 
on the basis of the previous higher price to the dealer. Price reductions shall apply 
to all vehicles in the dealer's inventory which were subject to the price reduction. 
Price differences applicable to new model or series motor vehicles at the time of 
the introduction of new models or series shall not be considered a price increase 
or price decrease. Price changes caused by either ( 1) the addition to a motor 
vehicle of required or optional equipment pursuant to state or federal law, or (2) 
revaluation of the United States dollar in the case of foreign-make vehicles, shall 
not be subject to the provisions of this subdivision. 

(i) To fail to pay to a dealer, within a reasonable time following receipt of a valid 
claim by a dealer thereof, any payment agreed to be made by the manufacturer 
or distributor to the dealer by reason of the fact that a new vehicle of a prior year 
model is in such dealer's inventory at the time of introduction of new model 
vehicles. A manufacturer or distributor shall not authorize or enable any new 
model or series passenger vehicle or station wagon to be delivered by dealers at 
retail more than 30 days prior to the eligibility date of such model change 
allowance payment for prior year model vehicles. 

U) To deny the widow or heirs designated by a deceased owner of a dealership, 
the opportunity to participate in the ownership of such dealership or successor 
dealership under a valid franchise for a reasonable time after the death of such 
owner. 

(k) To offer any refunds or other types of inducements to any person for the 
purchase of new motor vehicles of a certain line-make to be sold to the state or 
any political subdivision thereof without making the same offer to all other dealers 
in the same line-make within the relevant market area. 

(1) To modify, replace, enter into, relocate, terminate or refuse to renew a 
franchise in violation of Article 4 (commencing with Section 3060) of Chapter 6 
of Division 2. 

(m) To employ a person as a representative who has not been licensed pursuant 
to Article 3 (commencing with Section 11900) of Chapter 4 of Division 5. 

(n) To deny any dealer the right of free association with any other dealer for 
any lawful purpose. 

(o) To compete with a dealer in the same line make operating under an 
agreement or franchise from a manufacturer or distributor in the relevant market 
area. A manufacturer or distributor shall not, however, be deemed to be 
competing when operating a dealership either temporarily for a reasonable 
period, or in a bona fide retail operation which is for sale to any qualified 
independent person at a fair and reasonable price, or in a bona fide relationship 
in which an independent person has made a significant investment subject to loss 
in the dealership and can reasonably expect to acquire full ownership of such 
dealership on reasonable terms and conditions. A distributor shall not be deemed 
to be competing when a wholly owned subsidiary corporation of such distributor 
sells motor vehicles at retail, if, for at least three years prior to January 1, 1973, such 
subsidiary corporation has been a wholly owned subsidiary of such distributor and 
engaged in the sale of vehicles at retail. 

(p) To unfairly discriminate among its franchisees with respect to warranty 
reimbursement or authority granted its franchisees to make warranty adjustments 
with retail customers. 

(q) To sell vehicles to persons not licensed under this chapter for resale. 
Added Ch. 996, Stats, 1973. Operative July 1, 1974. 
Amended Ch. 384, Stats. 1974. Operative July 5, 1974 by terms of an urgency clause. 
Amended and renumbered Ch. 943, Stats. 1979. Effective January 1, 1980. 

Refund of Excess Fees by Dealer 

11713.4. If a purchaser of a vehicle pays to the dealer an amount for the 
licensing or transfer of title of the vehicle, which amount is in excess of the actual 
fees due for such licensing or transfer, or which amount is in excess of the amount 
which has been paid, prior to the sale, by the dealer to the state in order to avoid 
penalties that would have accrued because of late payment of such fees, the dealer 
shall return such excess amount to the purchaser, whether or not such purchaser 
requests the return of the excess amount. 
Added Ch. 222, Stats. 1974. Effective Jan. 1, 1975. 
Amended and renumbered Ch. 943, Stats. 1979. Effective January 1, 1980. 

Unlawful Representation of Vehicle Year Model 

11713.5. ( a) It is unlawful and a violation of this code, for the holder of any 
license issued under this article to display for sale, offer for sale, or sell, a motor 
vehicle, representing such motor vehicle to be of a year model different from the 
year model designated at the time of manufacture or first assembly as a completed 
vehicle. 

(b) It is unlawful and a violation of this code, for the holder of any license issued 
under this article to directly or indirectly authorize or advise another holder of a 
license issued under this article to change the year model of a motor vehicle in the 
inventory of such other holder. 

(c) It is unlawful and a violation of this code for the holder of any license issued 
under this article to display for sale, offer for sale, or sell, a housecar which has been 
manufactured in two or more stages unless the licensee informs the buyer that the 
housecar has been so manufactured and the licensee provides the buyer with a 
form, approved by the department, which sets forth the date of chassis and engine 
manufacture and the date and model year of the other stages of the vehicle. The 
licensee shall retain a copy of the form, which shall be signed by the purchaser 
prior to entering into any sales contract, indicating that the purchaser has received 
a copy of the form. 

(d) The provisions of this section shall not apply to the displaying or offering 
for sale, or selling, of any new motortruck or truck tractor weighing over 10,000 
pounds. 
Added Ch. 1025, Stats. 1971. Effective Jan. 1, 1975. 
Amended Ch. 873, Stats. 1977. Effective .January 1, 1978. 
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Mobilehome Dealers: Listings, Referral Arrangements, and Sales Agreements 

11713.6. A mobilehome dealer may solicit or obtain listings of, engage in the 
multiple listing with other licensed mobilehome dealers of, or engage in payments 
to another mobilehome dealer, dealers, or multiple groups of dealers, pursuant to 
cooperative brokering and referral arrangements, or agreements on the sale of, 
any used mobilehome which has been registered under the authority of this code 
for at least one year. 
Added Ch. 373, Stats. 1976. Effective July 8, 1976 by terms of an urgency clause. 

Issuance of license and Special Plates 

11714. (a) The department, upon granting a license, shall issue to the 
applicant a license containing the applicant's name and address and the general 
distinguishing number assigned to the applicant. 

(b) When the department has issued a license pursuant to subdivision ( a), the 
licensee may apply for and the department shall issue special plates which shall 
have displayed thereon the general distinguishing number assigned to the 
applicant. Each plate so issued shall also contain a number or symbol identifying 
the plate from every other plate bearing a like general distinguishing number. 

(c) The department shall also furnish books and forms as it may determine 
necessary. Such books and forms are and shall remain the property of the 
department and may be taken up at any time for inspection. 
Amended Ch. 929, Stats. 1971. Operative May 3, 1972. 
Amended Ch. 182, Stats. 1975. Effective July 3, 1975 by terms of an urgency clause. 

Opera/ion of Vehicles Displaying Special Plates 

11715. (a) A manufacturer, distributor or dealer owning or lawfully possessing 
any vehicle of a type otherwise required to be registered hereunder may operate 
or move such vehicle upon the highways without registering each such vehicle 
upon condition that any such vehicle display thereon special plates issued to such 
owner as provided in this chapter, in addition to other license plates or permits 
already assigned and attached to the vehicle in the manner prescribed in Sections 
5200 to 5203, inclusive. Such vehicles may also be moved or operated for the 
purpose of towing or transporting by any lawful method other vehicles. 

(b) A transporter may operate or move any owned or lawfully possessed vehicle 
of like type by any lawful method upon the highways solely for the purpose of 
delivery upon condition that there be displayed upon each vehicle in contact with 
the highway special license plates issued to such transporter as provided in this 
chapter, in addition to any license plates or permits already assigned and attached 
to the vehicle in the manner prescribed in Sections 5200 to 5203, inclusive. Such 
vehicles may be used for the purpose of towing or transporting by any lawful 
method other vehicles when the towing or transporting vehicle is being delivered 
for sale or to the owner thereof. 

(c) The provisions of this section do not apply to any manufacturer, transporter, 
distributor or dealer operating or moving a vehicle as provided in Section 11716. 

(d) The provisions of this section do not apply to work or service vehicles 
owned by a manufacturer, transporter, distributor or dealer. They do not apply to 
vehicles owned and leased by dealers, except those vehicles rented or leased to 
vehicle salesmen in the course of their employment for purposes of display or 
demonstration, nor to any unregistered vehicles used to transport more than one 
load of other vehicles for the purpose of sale. 

(e) The provisions of this section do not apply to vehicles currently registered 
in this State which are owned and operated by a licensed dealer when the notice 
of transfer has been forwarded to the department by the former owner of record 
pursuant to Section 5900 and when a copy of the notice is displayed as follows: 

(1) For a motorcycle or motor-driven cycle, the notice shall be displayed in a 
conspicuous manner upon the vehicle. 

(2) For a vehicle other than a motorcycle or motor-driven cycle, the notice shall 
be displayed in the lower right-hand corner of the windshield of the vehicle, as 
specified in paragraph ( 3) of subdivision (b) of Section 26708. 

(f) Every owner upon receipt of a registration card issued for special plates shall 
maintain the same or a facsimile copy thereof with the vehicle bearing the special 
plates. 
Amended by Ch. 1391, Stats. 1959, superseding Ch. 421, Stats. 1959. Effective Sept. 18, 1959. 
Amended Ch. 346, Stats. 1961. Effective Sept. 15, 1961. 
Amended Ch. 801, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 
Amended Ch. 929, Stats. 1971. Operative May 3, 1972. 
Amended Ch. 182, Stats. 1975. Effective July 3, 1975 by terms of an urgency clause. 
Amended Ch. 105, Stats. 1977. Effective January 1, 1978. 

When a Vehicle May Be Operated Without Plates 

11716. A manufacturer, transporter or a dealer in the course of his business may 
operate or move any vehicle of a type otherwise required to be registered 
hereunder without registering the same, and without license or special plates 
attached thereto, from a vessel, railroad depot or warehouse over the highways to 
a warehouse or salesroom upon first having obtained a written permit authorizing 
such operation from the department. 

Expiration of Special Plates and License 

11717. (a) Every special plate and license issued hereunder shall expire at 
midnight on the 31st day of December of each year and a new plate or plates and 
license for the ensuing year may be obtained by the person to whom any such 
expired plate or plates and license were issued upon application to the department 
and payment of the fee provided in this code. 

(b) Every application for the renewal of a special plate or plates and license 
which expires on the date above mentioned shall be made by the person to whom 
issued between November 1st and midnight of November 30th preceding such 
expiration date and shall be made by presenting the application form provided by 
the department and by payment of the full annual renewal fee for such plate or 
plates and license. 
Amended Ch. 1214, Stats. 1971. Operative May 3, 1972. 

Issuance of Probationary License 

11718. Except where the provisions of this code require the refusal to issue a 
license, the department may issue a probationary license subject to conditions to 
be observed by the licensee in the exercise of the privilege granted. The conditions 
to be attached to the exercise of the privilege shall not appear on the face of the 
license but shall be such as may, in the judgment of the department, be in the 
public interest and suitable to the qualifications of the applicant as disclosed by the 
application and investigation by the department of the information contained 
therein. 
Added Ch. 1827, Stats. 1959. Effective Sept. 18, 1959. 
Amended Ch. 1214, Stats. 1971. Operative May 3, 1972. 

Temporary Permit 

11719. Pending the satisfaction of the department that the applicant has met 
the requirements under this article, it may issue a temporary permit to any person 
applying for a manufacturer's, manufacturer's branch, distributor's, distributor's 
branch transporter's or dealer's license and special plates. The temporary permit 
shall permit the operation by the manufacturer, manufacturer branch, distributor, 
distributor branch, transporter or dealer for a period not to exceed 120 days while 
the department is completing its investigation and determination of all facts 
relative to the qualifications of the applicant to such license and special plates. The 
department may cancel such temporary permit when it has determined or has 
reasonable cause to believe that the application is incorrect or incomplete or the 
temporary permit was issued in error. Such temporary permit shall be invalid 
when canceled or when the applicant's license has been issued or refused. 
Added Ch. 1827, Stats. 1959. Effective Sept. 18, 1959. 
Amended Ch. 1214, Stats. 1971. Operative May 3, 1972. 
Amended Ch. 215, Stats. 1972. Effective Mar. 7, 1973. 
Amended Ch. 996, Stats. 1973. Operative July 1, 1974. 
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DIVISION  12. EQUIPMENT OF VEHICLES 

CHAPTER 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS 

Div. 12 

Department 

24000. Wherever in this division the word "department" occurs, it means the 
Department of the California Highway Patrol. 

App//cal/on of Divisions 

24001. This division and Division 13 (commencing at Section 29000), unless 
otherwise provided, applies to all vehicles whether publicly or privately owned 
when upon the highways, including all authorized emergency vehicles. 
Amended Ch. 1996, Stats. 1959. Effective Sept. 18, 1959. 

Golf Carl 

24001.5. A golf cart as defined in Section 345 shall only be subject to the 
provisions of this division which are applicable to a motorcycle. 
Added Ch. 1303, Stats. 1968. Effective Nov. 13, 1968. 
Amended Ch. 1075, Stats. 1969. Effective Nov. 10, 1969. 
Amended Ch. 973, Stats. 1972. Effective Aug. 16, 1972 by terms of an urgency clause. 

Vehicle Not Equipped or Unsafe 

24002. It is unlawful to operate any vehicle or combination of vehicles which 
is in an unsafe condition, which is not equipped as required by this code, or which 
is not safely loaded. 

Vehicle With Unlawful Lamps 

24003. No vehicle shall be equipped with any lamp or illuminating device not 
required or permitted in this code, nor shall any lamp or illuminating device be 
mounted inside a vehicle unless specifically permitted by this code. This section 
does not apply to: 

(a) Interior lamps such as door, brake and instrument lamps, and map, dash, 
and dome lamps designed and used for the purpose of illuminating the interior of 
the vehicle. 

(b) Lamps needed in the operation or utilization of those vehicles mentioned 
in Section 25801, or vehicles used by public utilities in the repair or maintenance 
of their service, or used only for the illumination of cargo space of a vehicle while 
loading or unloading. 

(c) Warning lamps mounted inside an authorized emergency vehicle and 
meeting requirements established by the department. 
Amended Ch. 547, Stats. 1963. Effective Sept. 20, 1963. 
Amended Ch. 723, Stats. 1979. Effective January 1, 1980. 

Unlawful Operation After No/ice by Officer 

24004. No person shall operate any vehicle or combination of vehicles after 
notice by a peace officer, as defined in Section 830.1 or subdivision ( a) of Section 
830.2 of the Penal Code, that the vehicle is in an unsafe condition or is not equipped 
as required by this code, except as may be necessary to return the vehicle or 
combination of vehicles to the residence or place of business of the owner or driver 
or to a garage, until the vehicle and its equipment have been made to conform 
with the requirements of this code. 
The provisions of this section shall not apply to an employee who does not know 

that such notice has been issued, and in such event the provisions of Section 40001 
shall be applicable. 
Amended Ch. 306, Stats. 1965. Effective Sept. 17, 1965. 
Amended Ch. 171, Stats. 1979. Effective January 1, 1980. 

Sale, Transfer or 1n51'aios'ion of Unlawful Equipment 

24005. It is unlawful for any person to sell, offer for sale, lease, install, or replace, 
either for himself or as the agent or employee of another, or through such agent 
or employee, any glass, lighting equipment, signal devices, brakes, vacuum or 
pressure hose, muffler, exhaust, or any kind of equipment whatsoever for use, or 
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with knowledge that any such equipment is intended for eventual use, in any 
vehicle, that is not in conformity with this code or regulations made thereunder. 
Amended Ch. 226, Stats. 1961. Effective Sept. 15, 1961. 
Amended Ch. 734, Stats. 1971. Operative May 3, 1972. 

Uncertified Synthetic Rope or Webbing Strap Material 

24005.5. It is unlawful for any person to sell or offer for sale for use on loads 
regulated by the department any type of synthetic fiber rope or webbing strap 
material unless it meets requirements established by the department. 
Added Ch. 466, Stats. 1972. Effective Mar. 7, 1973. 
Amended Ch. 723, Stats. 1979. Effective January 1, 1980. 

Name or Trademark 

24006. No person shall sell or offer for sale either separately or as a part of the 
equipment of a new motor vehicle any equipment or device subject to 
requirements established by the department unless the equipment or device bears 
thereon the trademark or name and type or model designation under 
requirements established by the department and is accompanied by any printed 
instructions which may be required by the department as to the light source to 
be used with lamps, any particular methods of mounting or adjustment of lamps 
or other devices, and any other instructions as determined by the department 
necessary for compliance with this code. 
Amended Ch. 440, Stats. 1967. Effective June 30, 1967, by terms of an urgency clause. 
Amended Ch. 723, Stats. 1979. Effective January 1, 198.0. 

Responsibility of Dealer or Other Person Selling Motor Vehicle 

24007. (a) No dealer or person holding a retail seller's permit shall sell a new 
or used vehicle which is not in compliance with the provisions of this code and 
department regulations adopted pursuant to this code unless the vehicle is ( 1) sold 
to another dealer, (2) sold for the purpose of being wrecked or dismantled, or (3) 
sold exclusively for off-highway use. 

(b) No person shall sell, or offer or deliver for sale, to the ultimate purchaser 
a new or used motor vehicle, as those terms are defined in Chapter 2 
(commencing with Section 39010) of Part 1 of Division 26 of the Health and Safety 
Code, subject to Part  (commencing with Section 43000) of that Division 26 which 
is not in compliance with the provisions of Part 5 and the rules and regulations of 
the State Air Resources Board, unless the vehicle is either ( 1) sold to a dealer, or 
(2) sold for the purpose of being wrecked or dismantled. With each application 
for initial registration of a new motor vehicle or transfer of registration of a motor 
vehicle subject to that Part 5, a dealer shall transmit to the Department of Motor 
Vehicles a valid certificate of compliance from a licensed motor vehicle pollution 
control device installation and inspection station indicating that such vehicle is 
properly equipped with a certified device or devices which are in proper 
operating condition and which are in compliance with the provisions of that Part 
5 and the rules and regulations of the board. 
With respect to new vehicles certified pursuant to Chapter 2 (commencing with 

Section 43100) of Part 5 of Division 26 of the Health and Safety Code, having gross 
vehicle weight of 6,000 pounds or less, a dealer may transmit, in lieu cc ruco 
certificate of compliance, a statement, in a form and containing such inforL':; 
as is deemed necessary and appropriate by the Director of Motor Vehicles 
Executive Officer of the State Air Resources Board, to attest to the ye: .: es 
compliance with the provisions of that Chapter 2. The statement shall be certified 
under penalty of perjury, and shall be signed by the dealer or the dealer's 
authorized representative. 
Amended Ch. 2033, Stats. 1965, supersedin8. Ch. 2031, Stats. 1965. 
The governing amendment of 1965 was effective Sept. 17, 1965. 
Amended Ch. 82, Stats. 1966. Effective Oct. 6, 1966. 
Amended Ch. 394, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 
Amended Ch. 764, Stats. 1968. Effective Nov. 13,19M. 
Amended Ch. 766, Stats. 1970. Effective Nov. 23, 1970. 
Amended Ch. 1488, Stats. 1971, superseding Ch. 86. Operative May 3, 1972. 
Amended Ch. 268, Stats. 1972, superseding Ch. 99. Effective Mar. 7, 1973. 
Amended Ch. 957, Stats. 1975. Effective January 1, 1976. 
Amended Ch. 1206, Stats. 1976. Effective January 1. 1977. 
Amended Ch. 1038, Stats. 1977. Effective September 23, 1977 by terms of an urgency clause. 
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NO Devices: Free Installation for Low-Income Elderly Persons 

24007.2. If a dealer, or a person holding a retail seller's permit, sells to an elderly 
low-income person, as defined in Section 39026.5 of the Health and Safety Code, 
a 1966 through 1970 model year motor vehicle which is not equipped, as required 
pursuant to Sections 43654 and 43656 of that code, with a certified device to control 
its exhaust emission of oxides of nitrogen, the dealer or such person, as the case 
may be, shall install the required certified device on the motor vehicle without cost 
to the elderly low-income person. 
Added Ch. 231, Stats. 1976. Effective January 1, 1977. 

Inspection of Vehicle Prior to Sale by Dealer 

24007.3. No dealer or person holding a retail seller's permit shall sell a new or 
used motor vehicle subject to Chapter 20.4 (commencing with Section 9889.50) of 
Division 3 of the Business and Professions Code which has not been inspected 
within 60 days immediately prior to sale pursuant to subdivision (b) or ( d) of 
Section 9889.55 of the Business and Professions Code, unless the vehicle is sold to 
another dealer or for the purpose of being wrecked or dismantled or is sold 
exclusively for off-highway use. The dealer or person holding the retail seller's 
permit shall, with each application for initial registration or transfer of registration 
of a motor vehicle subject to Chapter 20.4 (commencing with Section 9889.50) of 
Division 3 of the Business and Professions Code, transmit to the Department of 
Motor Vehicles, without charge to the transferee, a valid certificate of compliance 
or waiver issued pursuant to Section 9889.56 of the Business and Professions Code 
indicating that such vehicle has passed, within 60 days immediately prior to sale, 
the inspection conducted pursuant to subdivision (b) or (d) of Section 9889.55 of 
the Business and Professions Code. 
Added Ch. 1154, Stats. 1973. Effective Jan. 1, 1974. 

Sale by Auctioneer or Public Agency 

24007.5. ( a) Except as otherwise provided in subdivisions ( c), (d), and ( e), no 
auctioneer or public agency shall sell, at public auction, any vehicle specified in 
subdivision (a) of Section 24007, which is not in compliance with the provisions 
of this code, unless the vehicle is sold to a dealer or for the purpose of being 
wrecked or dismantled or is sold exclusively for off-highway use. 

(b) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision ( e), any auctioneer or public 
agency which sells, at public auction, any vehicle specified in subdivision (b) of 
Section 24007, shall provide each bidder with a notice in writing that a certificate 
of compliance is required to be obtained, certifying that the vehicle complies with 
the provisions of Part 5 (commencing with Section 43000) of Division 26 of the 
Health and Safety Code, before such vehicle may be registered in this state, unless 
the vehicle is sold to a dealer or for the purpose of being wrecked or dismantled 
or is sold exclusively for off-highway use. 

(c) If in the opinion of an auctioneer or public agency, the cost of repairs to a 
vehicle exceeds the value of the vehicle to the auctioneer or agency, the 
auctioneer or agency shall, as transferee or owner, surrender the certificates of 
registration and ownership and license plates last issued for such vehicle to the 
Department of Motor Vehicles as provided under Section 11521 of this code. 

(d) The auctioneer or agency having complied with the provisions of 
subdivision (c) of this section shall, upon sale of such vehicle, give to the purchaser 
a bill of sale which shall include, in addition to any other required information, the 
last issued license plate number. 

(e) The provisions of subdivisions ( a) and (b) do not apply to any judicial sale 
conducted pursuant to a writ of execution or order of court. 
Added Ch. 1021, Stats. 1971. Operative May 3, 1972. 
Amended Ch. 957, Stats. 1975. Effective January 1, 1976. 

Modification of Vehicles 

24008. It is unlawful to operate any passenger vehicle, or commercial vehicle 
under 4,000 pounds, which has been modified from the original design so that any 
portion of such vehicle other than the wheels has less clearance from the surface 
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of a level roadway than the clearance between the roadway and the lowermost 
portion of any rim of any wheel when in contact with such roadway. 
Added Ch. 1791, Stats. 1959. Effective Sept. 18, 1959. 
Amended Ch. 1562, Stats. 1961. Effective Sept. 15, 1961. 

Unsafe Vehicle Modification 

24008.5. An "unsafe condition" within the meaning of Section 24002 includes, 
but is not limited to, the raising of the center of gravity or other modification of 
a vehicle so as to unsafely affect its operation or stability. 
Added Ch. 300, Stats. 1969. Effective Nov. 10, 1969. 

Manufacturer's Name and GVW Rating 

24009. No person shall sell or offer for sale a new motor truck, truck tractor, 
or bus that is not equipped with an identification plate or marking bearing the 
manufacturer's name and the manufacturer's gross vehicle weight rating of such 
vehicle. 
Added Ch. 1800, Stats. 1959. Effective Sept. 18, 1959. 
Repealed Ch. 408, Stats. 1963. Effective Sept. 20, 1963. 
Added Ch. 1287, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 

Vehicle Rental Responsibility 

24010. No person engaged in the rental of any vehicle, for periods of 30 days 
or less, shall rent, lease or otherwise allow the operation of such vehicle unless all 
necessary equipment required by this code and regulations adopted hereunder for 
the operation of such vehicle upon a highway has been provided or offered to the 
lessee for his use. The contract or rental agreement shall include the name of the 
person from whom the vehicle is rented, leased or obtained, the address of his 
place of business in this state where it is rented, leased or delivered, and a 
statement of any required equipment refused by the person to whom the vehicle 
is rented, leased, or delivered. 
Added Ch. 855, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 
Amended Ch. 1536, Stats. 1971. Operative May 3, 1972. 
Amended Ch. 88, Stats. 1973. Effective Jan. 1, 1974. 

Federal Safety Standard 

24011. Whenever a federal motor vehicle safety standard is established under 
the National Traffic and Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1966 ( 15 U.S.C., Sec. 1381, et 
seq.) no dealer shall sell or offer for sale a vehicle to which the standard is 
applicable, and no person shall sell or offer for sale for use upon a vehicle an item 
of equipment to which the standard is applicable, unless: 

(a) Such vehicle or equipment conforms to the applicable federal standard. 
(b) The vehicle or equipment bears thereon a certification by the 

manufacturer or distributor that it complies with the applicable federal standards. 
The certification may be in the form of a symbol prescribed in the federal 
standards or, if there is no federal symbol, by a symbol acceptable to the 
department. 
Added Ch. 192, Stats. 1968. Effective Nov. 13, 1968. 

Exhaust and Noise Emission Control Inspection 

24011.7. ( a) Nothing in Chapter 20.4 (commencing with Section 9889.50) of 
Division 3 of the Business and Professions Code, shall be construed as having any 
effect on the existing inspection program conducted by the department. Rather, 
it is the intent of the Legislature that such program continue and that a 
cooperative relationship between the department and the Department of 
Consumer Affairs be established, under which the department can inform the 
Department of Consumer Affairs of the results and experiences of the department 
in order to provide data on exhaust and noise emission control device tampering 
and performance deterioration following mandatory inspections. 
Added Ch. 1154, Stats. 1973. Effective Jan. 1, 1974. 
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Compliance With Lighting Equipment Mounting Regulations 

24012. All lighting equipment or devices subject to requirements established 
by the department shall comply with the engineering requirements and 
specifications, including mounting and aiming instructions, determined and 
publicized by the department. 
Amended and renumbered Ch. 341, Stats. 1969. Effective Nov. 10, 1969. 
Amended Ch. 723, Stats. 1979. Effective January 1, 1980. 

Statement of Minimum Octane Number of Gasoline for Motor Vehicle 

24013. No new motor vehicle shall be sold unless the seller provides the buyer 
with a statement of the minimum octane number of the gasoline for such vehicle. 
Added Ch. 711, Stats. 1971. Effective Mar. 4, 1972. 

Motorcycle Sales: Required Price Information 

24014. (a) No dealer shall sell, offer for sale, or display, any new, assembled 
motorcycle on its premises, unless there is securely attached to its handlebar a 
label, approved by the Department of Motor Vehicles, furnished by the 
manufacturer, on which the manufacturer shall clearly indicate the following: 

(1) The recommended retail price of the motorcycle. 
(2) The recommended price for each accessory or item of optional equipment 

physically attached to the motorcycle at the time of its delivery to the dealer. 
(b) The dealer shall clearly indicate on the label, furnished by the 

manufacturer, the following: 
(1) The amount charged, if any, over and above the suggested retail price for 

transportation to the dealership. 
(2) The amount charged, if any, for the assembly, preparation, or both, of the 

motorcycle. 
(3) The amount charged, if any, for each dealer added accessory or item of 

optional equipment. 
(4) The total recommended retail price of the vehicle which shall be the 

aggregate value of paragraphs ( 1) and ( 2) of subdivision ( a) and paragraphs ( 1), 
(2) and (3) of subdivision (b). 
Added Ch. 1089, Stats. 1974. Effective Jan. 1, 1975. 
Amended Ch. 623, Stats. 1978. Effective January 1, 1979. 

Motorized Bicycle: Safety and Equipment Requirements 

24015. (a) Motorized bicycles shall comply with those federal motor vehicle 
safety standards established under the National Traffic and Motor Vehicle Safety 
Act of 1966 ( 15 U.S.C., Sec. 1381, et seq.) which are applicable to a motor-driven 
cycle, as that term is defined in such federal standards. Such standards include, but 
are not limited to, provisions requiring a headlamp, taillamp, stoplamp, side and 
rear reflex reflectors, and adequate brakes. 

(b) In addition to equipment required in subdivision ( a), all motorized bicycles 
operated upon a highway shall be equipped with a mirror as required in 
subdivision ( a) of Section 26709, a horn as required in Section 27000, and an 
adequate muffler as required in subdivision ( a) of Section 27150. 

(c) Except as provided in subdivisions (a) and (b), none of the provisions of this 
chapter relating to motorcycles and motor-driven cycles, as defined in this code, 
shall apply to a motorized bicycle. 
Added Ch. 987, Stats. 1975. Effective January 1, 1976. 
Amended Ch. 421, Stats. 1978. Effective January 1, 1979. 

Motorized Quadricycles: Equipment Requirements 

24016. Motorized quadricycles, as defined in Section 407, shall comply with the 
requirements contained in this division which are applicable to motor-driven 
cycles, as defined in Section 405. 
Added Ch. 756, Stats. 1980. Effective January 1, 1981. 
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CHAPTER 2. LIGHTING EQUIPMENT 

Article 1. General Provisions 

Lighting During Darkness 

24250. During darkness, a vehicle shall be equipped with lighted lighting 
equipment as required for the vehicle by this chapter. 

Lighting Distance Requirements 

24251. Any requirement in this chapter as to the distance from which any 
lighting equipment shall render a person or vehicle visible or within which any 
lighting equipment shall be visible shall apply during darkness, directly ahead 
upon a straight, level unlighted highway, and under normal atmospheric 
conditions, unless a different time, direction, or condition is expressly stated. 

Lighting Equipment Requirements 

24252. (a) All lighting equipment of a required type installed on a vehicle shall 
at all times be maintained in good working order. Lamps shall be equipped with 
bulbs of the correct voltage rating corresponding to the nominal voltage at the 
lamp socket. 

(b) The voltage at any tail, stop, license plate, side marker or clearance lamp 
socket on a vehicle shall not be less than 85 percent of the design voltage of the 
bulb. Voltage tests shall be conducted with the engine operating. 

(c) Two or more lamp or reflector functions may be combined, provided each 
function subject to requirements established by the department meets such 
requirements. 

(1) No turn signal lamp may be combined optically with a stoplamp unless the 
stoplamp is extinguished when the turn signal is flashing. 

(2) No clearance lamp may be combined optically with any taillamp or 
identification lamp. 
Amended Ch. 1276, Stats. 1965. Effective Sept. 17, 1965. 
Amended Ch. 980, Stats. 1968. Effective Nov. 13, 1968. 
Amended Ch. 723, Stats. 1979. Effective January 1, 1980. 

Tai/lamps Which Remain Lighted 

24253. (a) All motor vehicles manufactured and first registered after January 
1, 1970, shall be equipped so all taillamps are capable of remaining lighted for a 
period of at least one-quarter hour with the engine inoperative. This requirement 
shall be complied with by an energy storing system which is recharged by energy 
produced by the vehicle. 

(b) All motorcycles manufactured and first registered after January 1, 1971, 
shall be equipped so all taillamps, when turned on, will remain lighted 
automatically for a period of at least one-quarter hour if the engine stops. 
Added Ch. 544, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 
Amended Ch. 217, Stats. 1970. Effective Nov. 23, 1970. 

Mounting Height 

24254. Whenever requirement is declared as to the mounted height of lamps 
or reflectors, the height shall be measured from the center of the lamp or reflector 
to the level surface upon which the vehicle stands when it is without a load. 
Amended and renumbered Ch. 341, Stats. 1969. Effective Nov. 10, 1969. 

Article 2. Headlamps and Auxiliary Lamps 

Head/amps on Motor Vehicles 

24400. During darkness, every motor vehicle other than a motorcycle, shall be 
equipped with at least two lighted headlamps, with at least one on each side of the 
front of the vehicle, and, except as to vehicles registered prior to January 1, 1930, 
they shall be located directly above or in advance of the front axle of the vehicle. 
The headlamps and every light source in any headlamp unit shall be located at a 
height of not more than 54 inches nor less than 24 inches. 
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address and telephone number of the owner or driver. The letters of the sign shall 
be not less than 2% inches in height and the lettering shall be in contrast to the 
color of the background upon which they are placed. 

Taxicab Signs 

27908. (a) In every taxicab operated in this state there shall be a sign of heavy 
material, not smaller than 6 inches by 4 inches, or such other size as the agency 
regulating the operation of the taxicab provides for other notices or signs required 
to be in every taxicab, securely attached and clearly displayed in view of the 
passenger at all times, providing in letters as large as the size of the sign will 
reasonably allow, all of the following information: 

(1) The name, address, and telephone number of the agency regulating the 
operation of the taxicab. 

(2) The name, address, and telephone number of the firm licensed or 
controlled by the agency regulating the operation of the taxicab. 

(b) In the event more than one local regulatory agency has jurisdiction over the 
operation of the taxicab, the notice required by paragraph ( 1) of subdivision ( a) 
shall provide the name, address, and telephone number of the agency having 
jurisdiction in the area where the taxicab operator conducts its greatest volume 
of business; or, if this cannot readily be ascertained, the agency having jurisdiction 
in the area where the taxicab operator maintains its offices or primary place of 
business, provided that the operator conducts a substantial volume of business in 
such area; or, if neither of the foregoing provisions apply, any agency having 
jurisdiction of an area where the taxicab operator conducts a substantial volume 
of business. 

(c) As used in this section, " taxicab" means a passenger vehicle designed for 
carrying not more than eight persons, excluding the driver, and used to carry 
passengers for hire. "Taxicab" shall not include a charter-party carrier of 
passengers within the meaning of the Passenger Charter-party Carriers' Act, 
Chapter 8 (commencing with Section 5351) of Division 2 of the Public Utilities 
Code. 
Added Ch. 1158, Stats. 1973. Effective Jan. 1, 1974. 

Article 9. Refrigeration Equipment 
(Added Ch. 1335, Stats. 1961. Effective Sept. 15, 1961) 

Refrigerator Vans 

28000. Every refrigerator van equipped with one or more doors designed to 
lock automatically upon closure shall have at least one door which can be opened 
from inside the van as an emergency means of exit. 
For the purposes of this article, "refrigerator van" means any motor truck, 

semitrailer, or trailer, with a fully enclosed cargo body having an enclosed volume 
of 15 cubic feet or more, which utilizes a mechanical refrigeration system to reduce 
the temperature within the enclosed portion of the vehicle to 32 degrees 
Fahrenheit or less, or which provides refrigeration by the use of dry ice. 
Added Ch. 1335, Stats. 1961. Effective Sept. 15, 1961. 

Article 10. Odometers 
(Added Ch. 1109, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967) 

True Mileage Driven 

28050. It is unlawful for any person to advertise for sale, to sell, to use, or to 
install on any part of a motor vehicle or on an odometer in a motor vehicle any 
device which causes the odometer to register any mileage other than the true 
mileage driven. For the purposes of this section the true mileage driven is that 
mileage driven by the car as registered by the odometer within the manufacturer's 
designed tolerance. 
Added Ch. 1109, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 

Div. 12 —447— § 28060 
Operation With Nonfunctional Odometer Prohibited 

28050.5. It is unlawful for any person with the intent to defraud to operate a 
motor vehicle on any street or highway knowing that the odometer of such vehicle 
is disconnected or nonfunctional. 
Added Ch. 1210, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 

Unlawful to Alter Indicated Mileage 

28051. It is unlawful for any person to disconnect, turn back, or reset the 
odometer of any motor vehicle with the intent to alter the number of miles 
indicated on the odometer gauge. 
Added Ch. 1210, Stats. 1967. Effective Nov. 8, 1967. 
Amended Ch. 1216, Stats. 1968. Effective Nov. 13, 1968. 
Amended Ch. 111, Stats. 1969. Effective Nov. 10, 1969. 
Amended Ch. 774, Stats. 1973. Effective Sept. 25, 1973 by terms of an urgency clause. 

Device to Turn Back or Reset Odometer 

28051.5. It is unlawful for any person to advertise for sale, to sell, or to use, any 
device designed primarily for the purpose of turning back or resetting the 
odometer of any motor vehicle to reduce the number of miles indicated on the 
odometer gauge. 
Added Ch. 841, Stats. 1970. Effective Nov. 23, 1970. 

New Motor Vehicle Warranty; Mileage 

28052. If a manufacturer, distributor, or dealer of a new motor vehicle makes 
any warranty to the purchaser of, and with respect to, a new motor vehicle which 
is based on the amount of miles that the motor vehicle is driven, only those miles 
which the motor vehicle has been driven on and after the date that the motor 
vehicle has first been sold as new to the purchaser shall be considered for purposes 
of the warranty. 
The mileage indicated upon the odometer of the motor vehicle on the date that 

the motor vehicle is first sold as new to the purchaser shall, for purposes of the 
warranty, be the mileage upon which the warranty shall commence. 
Nothing in this section shall be construed to relieve any person of any criminal 

punishment to which he would otherwise be subject under Section 28051. 
The provisions of this section shall apply only to motor vehicles which are sold 

on or after the effective date of this section. 
Added Ch. 111, Stats. 1969. Effective Nov. 10, 1969. 

Repair of Odometer: Required Information 

28053. Any person who works on or repairs an odometer, or who replaces an 
odometer, of a vehicle under 6,001 pounds, manufacturer's maximum gross vehicle 
weight rating, shall report the following information to the Department of Motor 
Vehicles: 

(1) The name of the person for whom the work was performed. 
(2) Such description of the vehicle in which the odometer is to be installed, as 

may be required by the Department of Motor Vehicles in an appropriate form 
provided by it. 

(3) Whether the odometer was repaired or whether it was replaced. 
(4) The mileage shown on the odometer when the person commences to work 

on or repair the odometer. 
(5) The mileage shown on the odometer when it was returned to the person 

for whom the work or repair was performed. 
Added Ch. 260, Stats. 1971. Operative May 3, 1972. 

Article 11. Fire Extinguishers 

Recreational Vehicles and Campers 

28060. (a) No person shall sell or offer for sale a new recreational vehicle or 
new camper which is equipped with cooking equipment or heating equipment, 
and no dealer or person holding a retail seller's permit shall sell or offer for sale 
a used recreational vehicle or a used camper which is equipped with cooking or 
heating equipment, unless such new or used vehicle or new or used camper is 
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407 — 20— Div. 1 

Motorized Quadricycle 

407. A "motorized quadricycle is a four-wheeled device designed to 
carry not more than two persons, including the driver, and having either an 
electric motor or a motor with an automatic transmission developing less 
than two gross brake horsepower and capable of propelling the device at a 
maximum speed of not more than 30 miles per hour oil level ground. The 
device shall be utilized only by a person who by reason of physical disability 
is otherwise unable to move about as a pedestrian or by a senior citizen as 
defined in Section 13000. 
Added Ch. 756, Stats. 1980. Effective January 1, 1981. 

Motor Carrier 

408. "Motor carrier" is the registered owner, lessee, licensee, or bailee of 
any vehicle set forth in Section 34500, who operates or directs the operation 
of any such vehicle on either a for-hire or not-for-hire basis. 
Added Ch. 860, Stats. 1981. Effective January I, 1982. 

Motor Truck 

410 A" motor truck is a motor vehicle designed, used, or maintained 
primarily for the transportation of property. 

Motor Vehicle 

415 A" motor vehicle" is a vehicle which is self-propelled. 

Muffler 

425. A "muffler" is a device consisting of a series of chambers or baffle 
plates, or other mechanical design, for the purpose of receiving exhaust gas 
from an internal combustion engine, and effective in reducing noise. 

New Motor Vehicle Dealer 

426. "New motor vehicle dealer" is a dealer, as defined in Section 285, 
who, in addition to the requirements of that section, either acquires for 
resale new and unregistered motor vehicles from manufacturers or 
distributors of such motor vehicles or acquires for resale new and 
unregistered off-highway motorcycles from manufacturers or distributors of 
the vehicles. No distinction shall be made, nor any different construction be 
given to tile definition of "new motor vehicle dealer" and "dealer" except 
for the application of the provisions of Chapter 6 ( commencing with Section 
3001)) of Division 2. The provisions of Sections 3001 and 3003 shall not, 
however, apply to a dealer who deals exclusively in motorcycles. 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats, 1967. Effective Novs'nsbcr 8, 1967. 
Amended Ch. 78, Stats. 1973. Effective January 1. 1974. 
Amended Ch. 943, Stats. 1975. Effective January I. 1976. 
Amended ( 3s. 1584. Stats. 1982. Effective January 1, 1983. 

New Vehicle 

430. A "new vehicle" is a vehicle constructed entirely from new parts 
that has never been sold and operated, or registered with the department, 
or registered with the appropriate agency of authority, or sold and operated 
upon the highways of any other state, District of Columbia, territory or 
possession of the United States, or foreign state, province, or country. Tile 
word "sold" does not include or extend to any sale made by a manufacturer 
or a distributor to a dealer or by a dealer to another dealer licensed under 
this code. 
Amended Ch. 820, Stats. 1965. Effective September 17, 1965. 
Amended Ch. 1286. Stats. 1983. Effective January 1, 1984. 

Nonresident 

435. "Nonresident" is a person who is not a resident of this state. 
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Div. 1 —33- 666 

Truss 
657. A "truss" is an assemblage of beams, bars, or rods typically arranged 

in a triangle or combination of tl'iangles to form a rigid framework and used 
as a structural support in buildings. 
Added Ch. 299, Stats. 1979. Effective January 1, 1980. 

Unladen Weight 
660. The "unladen weight" of a vehicle is the weight equipped and ready 

for operation on the road including the body, fenders, oil in motor, radiator 
full of water, with five gallons of gasoline or equivalent weight of other motor 
fuel; also equipment required by law, and unless exempted under Section 
661, any special cabinets, boxes or body parts permanently attached to the 
vehicle, and any machinery, equipment or attachment which is attendant to 
the efficient operation of the body or vehicle. Unladen weight shall not 
include any load or any machinery or mechanical apparatus, such as, but not 
limited to, wood saws, well-drilling machines, spray apparatus, tow car 
cranes, and grinding equipment. The unladen weight of a vehicle shall have 
no application in determining any fee under this code or the Revenue and 
Taxation Code other than Section 9400 of this code. 
Amended Ch. 1576, Stats. 1961. Effective September 15, 1961. Supersedes Ch. 58, Stats. 1961. 
Amended Ch. 2108, Stats. 1963. Effective September 20, 1963. 

Unladen Weight Exclusions 
661. Unladen weight shall not include the following machinery, 

equipment or attachment which is attendant to the efficient operation of the 
body or vehicle: 

(a) Equipment used for loading, compacting, or unloading of refuse. 
(b) Transitmix cement equipment. 
(c) Temporary equipment used to contain or support the load which does 

not change the body classification. 
(d) Any camper unit that is temporarily attached to a vehicle. 
(e) Refrigeration equipment. 
Added Ch. 2108, Stats. 1963. Effective September 20, 1963. 

Used Vehicle 
665 A" used vehicle" is a vehicle that has been sold and operated on the 

highways of this state, or has been registered with the department, or has 
been sold and operated upon the highways, or has been registered with the 
appropriate, agency of authority, of any other state, District of Columbia, 
territory or possession of the United States or foreign state, province or 
country, or unregistered vehicles regularly used or operated as 
demonstrators in the sales work of a dealer or unregistered vehicles regularly 
used or operated by a manufacturer in the sales or distribution work of such 
manufacturer. The word "sold" shall not be deemed to include or extend to 
any sale made by a manufacturer or a distributor to a dealer or by a dealer 
to another dealer licensed under this code. 
Amended Ch. 820, Stats. 1965. Effective September 17, 1965. 
Amended Ch. 801, Stats. 1967. Effective November 8, 1967. 

U-turn 
665.5. A "U-turn" is the turning of a vehicle upon a highway so as to 

proceed in the opposite direction whether accomplished by one continuous 
movement or not. 
Added Ch. 620, Stats. 1970. Effective November 23, 1970. 

Utility Trailer 
666. A "utility trailer" is any trailer or semitrailer used solely for the 

transportation of the user's personal property and which does not exceed a 
gross weight of 6,000 pounds. 
Added Ch. 1807, Stats. 1961. Effective September 15, 1961. 
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California Motorcyclist Safety Fund 

2934. ( a) The California Motorcyclist Safety Fund is hereby created in 
the State Treasury. The money in the fund is available, when appropriated 
by the Legislature, to fund programs established pursuant to this article and 
to defray related costs incurred. Mone s in the fund are and shall he held 
as trust funds for the exclusive trust purposes specified in this article. 

(b) The commissioner shall not in any way encumber moneys in the fund 
beyond that amount which is actually available in the fund at the time of 
encumbrance, and shall not in any manner pledge or encumber future 
revenues to accrue to the fund from any source. 
Added Cli. 547, Stats. 1985. Effective Jaiivary 1, 198(3. 
Repealed Ch. 547. Stats. 1985. l',ffective Jainiary 1, 1992. 

Additional Motorcycle Registration Fees 

2935. The Department of Motor Vehicles shall, in addition to other fees, 
collect a fee of two dollars ($2) upon initial registration and renewal of 
registration of every motorcycle subject to registration fees. These additional 
fees shall he deposited in the fund. 
Added (:It. 547, Stats. 1985. Effective JanuarY I. 1986. 
Repealed Ch. 547, Stats. 1985. Effective January 1, 1992. 

Report of Legislature 

2936. ( a) The commissioner shall report to the Legislature by January 15 
of each year, commencing January 15, 1987, on all of' the following: 

1) The condition of the fund. 
2) Identification of any contracts or grants made during the year. 
(3) The amount of the grants or contracts. 
(4) The services to be provided pursuant to the grants or contracts. 
(5) The group or agency contracted with to provide the services. 
(b) The final report shall be made by January 1, 1992. 
Added (;h. 547, Stats. 1985. Effective January I. 1986. 
Repealed ( 3i. 547. Stats, 1985. Effective January 1. 1992. 

Termination of Additional Fees 

2937. The fees specified in this article shall not be collected after 
December 31, 1990. however, the commissioner may continue to execute 
contracts and grants pursuant to Section 2932 with the remaining moneys in 
the fund. 
Added (3. 547, Stats. 1986. Effective January I, 198(1. 
Repealed Ch. 547, Stats. 1985. I`FfCCti% v January 1, 1992. 

Termination of Program 

2938. This article shall remain in effect only until January 1, 1992, and as 
of that date is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which is enacted 
before January 1, 1992, cick'tes or extends that (late. 
Added (' It. 547, Stats. 1985. l'ffective Jaiivary I. 1986. 
Rcpealed Cli. 547, Stats. 1985. Effective January I. 1992. 

CJIp'I'EI1 6. NEW MOTOR VEHICLE BOAR!) 
Chapter added as chapter 5 liv Cli. 1397, Stats. 19(17. 1:1 fective November 8, 1967 

Renumbered as Chapter (3 liv (3m. 26. Stats. 19691 
ll,imitatimmn elm operative term renuosed li os. 1300, Stats. 197(0 

lAmuemuk'd Cli. 545, Stats. 1974. Effective January 1, 1973 

Article I. Organization of' Board 

Board in Department 

3000. There is in the Department of Motor Vehicles a New Motor Vehicle 
Board, which consists of nine members. 
Added Ch. 1397. Stats. 1967. Effective November 8, 1997. 
Amended Ch. 996, Stats. 1973. Op'ratms e July 1. 1974. 
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Membership of Board 

3001. Four of the appointive members of the board shall be new motor 
vehicle dealers as defined in Section 426 who have engaged for a period of 
not less than five 'ears preceding their appointment in activities regulated 
by Article 1 (commencing with Section 11700) of Chapter 4 of Division 5. 
These members shall he appointed by the Governor. 
Each of the five remaining appointive members shall he a public member 

who is not a licentiate under Article 1 ( commencing with Section 11700) or 
2 ( commencing with Section 11800) of Chapter '4 of Division 5 or an 
employee of such licentiate at the time of such appointment and one of these 
five appointive members shall have been admitted to practice law in the 
state for at least 10 years immediately preceding his appointment. One 
public member shall be appointed by the Senate Rules Committee, one by 
the Speaker of the Assembly, and three by the Governor. 
Each member shall he of good moral character. 
The provisions of this section shall not apply to a dealer who deals 

exclusively in motorcycles. 
.'td<Ied Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. I'ffecUve Novr'mber S. 1967. 
Amended Ch. 943, Stats. 1975. I':fiective Jamui:mry 1, 1976. 
Amended Ch. 1584, Stats. 1982. Eff.'ctive January 1, 1983. 

Effectiveness of Appointments 
3002. The appointments of the appointive members shall be made 

effective as of the effective (late of this article. 
Added Gb. 1397, Stats, 1967. Effective Nos ember 8, 1967. 

Terms of Members: Vacancies 
3003. Each appointive member of the board shall be appointed for a term 

of four ears and shall hold office until the appointment and qualification of 
his successor or until one ear has elapsed since the expiration of the time 
for which he or she was appointed, whichever occurs first. 
The terms of the members of the board first appointed shall expire as 

follows: one public member and one new motor vehicle dealer member, 
January 15, 1969; two public members and one new motor vehicle dealer 
member, January 15, 1970; two public members and two new motor vehicle 
dealer members, January 15, 1971. The terms shall thereupon expire in the 
same relative order. 

Vacancies occurring shall be filled by appointment for the unexpired 
term. 

The provisions of this section shall not apply to a dealer who deals 
exclusively in motorcycles. 
Added Gb. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effective November 8, 1967. 
Ammiended (:11. 943, Stats. 1975, Eflecti', e Jamivars 1, 1976. 
Amended Ch. 11.11, Stats. 198.3. Efk'ctve Sept'imil>er 27. (98.3, by terms of aii urgency clause. 

Oath of Office 
3004. Members of the board shall take an oath of office as provided in the 

Constitution and the Government Code. 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. 1';flec'tiv',' N,s clImber 8, 196. 

Removal of Members 
3005. The appointive authority has the power to remove from office at 

any time, any member of the board appointed by such appointing authority 
for continued neglect of duties required by law, or for incompetence, or 
unprofessional or dishonorable conduct. Nothing in this section shall he 
construed as a limitation or restriction on the power of the appointing 
authority, conferred by any other provision of law, to remove any member 
of the board. 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effectis e November S. 1967. 
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Board to Elect President 
3006. The board shall organize and elect a president from among its 

members for a term of one year at the first meeting of each year. The newly 
elected president shall assume his duties at the conclusion of the meeting at 
which he was elected. Reelection to office during membership is 
unrestricted. 
Added Ch. 1397, Slats. 1967. Li lective NOvetlll)C'F S. 1967. 

Frequency of Meetings 
3007. The board shall meet at least twice during each calendar year. 
Special meetings may be called at any time by the president or by any five 

members of the board upon notice for such time and in such manner as the 
board nmy provide. 
Added Ch. 1397. Stats. 1967. EIleclis e November .8. 1967. 

Meetings: Open and Executive 
3008. ( a) All meetings of the board shall be open and public, and all 

persons shall be permitted to attend any meeting of the board, except that 
the board may hold executive sessions to deliberate on the decision to be 
reached upon the c'viclence introduced in a proceeding conducted in 
accordance with Chapter 5 ( commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of 
Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code. 

(hi At all meetings of the board, open or executive, involving an appeal 
from a decision of the Director of Motor Vehicles as hereinafter provided for, 
the director or his authorized representative may attend, present the 
position of the department and thereafter shall absent himself from an 
executive session at the request of any member of the board. 

(c) Within the limitations of its powers and authority as herein conferred, 
and in the event of disagreement between the board and the director 
regarding the decision to he reached as herein provided, the decision of the 
board shall he final. 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats, 19117. Elective Novemimber 6, 19117. 

Quorum Defined 
3010. Five members of the board shall constitute a quorum for the 

transaction of business, for the performance of any duty or the exercise of 
any power or authorit of the board, except that three members of the 
hoard, who are not new motor vehicle dealers, shall constitute a quorum for 
the purposes of Article 4(commencing with Section 3060) of this chapter. 
Added ( 3m. 1397, Stats 1967. Effective November .8, 1967. 
\mmmr'mmdl,'ml Gb 278, Slats. 1977. Ef'f'rtivr' JuL 8, 1977 bs terms of an urgency clause. 

Vacancy on the Board 
3011....ac'a icy on the board shall not impair the power oft lie remaining 

members to performis all duties and exercise all powers of the board, 
providing the members remaining constitute a quorum. 

Added (:h. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effective November 8, 1967. 

Compensation 
3012. Each member of the board shall receive a per diem of one hundred 

dollars ($ 100) for each dav actually spent in the discharge of official duties, 
and he shall be reimbursed for his traveling and other expenses necessarily 
incurred in the performance of his duties, which per diem and 
reimbursement shall be wholly defrayed from funds that shall be provided 
in the annual budget of the department. 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effective November 8, 1967. 
Amended Cb. 1584, Stats. 1932. Effective January 1, 1933. .Supersedes Ch. 1273. 
Amended Ch. 1144, Stats. 198.3. Effective September 27. 1983, by terms of an urgency clause. 
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Board's Seal 

3013. The board shall adopt a seal and such other device as the members 
may desire thereon, by which they shall authenticate all papers and 
documents under their control. 

Copies of all records and papers in the board's office shall be received in 
evidence in all cases when certified under the hand and seal of the board, 
equally and with like effect as the originals. 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effective November 8, 1967. 

Department Support 

3014. The department shall provide the board with the services, as 
secretary, of a qualified, trained person, who shall, subject to civil service 
requirements, devote as much time as may be necessary to discharge the 
functions of the board as herein provided. In addition, the board may 
appoint an assistant secretary, who shall be exempt from civil service. The 
department, in addition, shall provide the board with the necessary 
personnel, office space, equipment, supplies, and services which, in the 
opinion of the board, may be necessary to administer this chapter. However, 
the board may contract with the department or another state agency for 
office space, equipment, supplies, and services, as determined by the board 
to be appropriate, for the administration of this chapter. 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effective November 8, 1967. 
Amended Ch. 1144, Stats. 1983. Effective September 27. 1983, by ternss of an urgency clause. 
Amended Ch. 247, Stats. 1984. Effective January 1, 1985. 

Headquarters Office—Meeting Rooms 

3015. In addition to the office of the secretary in Sacramento, the 
department shall, as the need therefor occurs, secure adequate rooms for the 
meetings of the board in Los Angeles, San Francisco, Sacramento, or such 
other locations in the state as may be required in the discretion of the board, 
to administer this chapter. 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effective November 8, 1967. 

Fees 

3016. New vehicle dealers and other licensees under the jurisdiction of 
the board shall be charged fees sufficient to fully fund the board's activities. 
The fees shall be deposited, and held separate from other moneys, in the 
Motor Vehicle Account in the State Transportation Fund, and shall not be 
transferred to the State Highway Account pursuant to Section 42273. 
The fees shall be available, when appropriated, exclusively to fund the 

board's activities. If at the conclusion of any fiscal year the amount of fees 
collected exceeds the amount of expenditures for this purpose during the 
fiscal year, the surplus shall be carried over into the succeeding fiscal year. 
Added Ch. 327. Stats. 1982. Effective June 30. 1982, by terms of an urgencY clause. 
.mended Ch. 1144, Stats. 1983. Effective September 27, 198.3. by terms of an urgency clause. 
Amended ( 1s. 1201, Stats. 198.5. Effective September 28, 198.5. by terms of an urgency clause. 

Article 2. Powers and Duties of Board 

Powers and Duties, Generally 

3050. The board shall do all of the following: 
(a) Adopt rules and regulations in accordance with Chapter 3.5 

(commencing with Section 11340) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the 
Government Code governing such matters as are specifically committed to 
its jurisdiction. 

(b) Hear and consider, within the limitations and in accordance with the 
procedure provided, an appeal presented by an applicant for, or holder of, 
a license as a new motor vehicle dealer, manufacturer, manufacturer branch, 
distributor, distributor branch, or representative when the applicant or 
licensee submits an appeal provided for in this chapter from a decision 
arising out of the department. 
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(c) Consider any matter concerning the activities or practices of any 
person applying for or holding a license as a new motor vehicle dealer, 
manufacturer, manufacturer branch, distributor, distributor branch, or 
representative pursuant to Chapter 4 (commencing with Section 11700) of 
Division 5 submitted by any person. A member of the board who is a new 
motor vehicle dealer may not participate in, hear, comment, advise other 
members upon, or decide any matter considered by the board pursuant to 
this subdivision that involves a dispute between a franchisee and franchisor. 
After such consideration, the board may do any one or any combination of 
the following: 

(1) Direct the department to conduct investigation of matters that the 
board deems reasonable, and make a written report on the results of the 
investigation to the board within the time specified by the board. 

(2) Undertake to mediate, ( ) arbitrate, or otherwise resolve any honest 
difference of opinion or viewpoint existing between any member of the 
public and any new motor vehicle dealer, manufacturer, manufacturer 
branch, distributor branch, or representative. 

(3) Order the department to exercise any and all authority or power that 
the department may have with respect to the issuance, renewal, refusal to 
renew, suspension, or revocation of the license of an' new motor vehicle 
dealer, manufacturer, manufacturer branch, distributor, distributor branch, 
or representative as such license is required under Chapter 4 (commencing 
with Section 11700) of Division 5. 

(cl) Hear and consider, within the limitations and in accordance with the 
procedure provided, a protest presented by a franchisee pursuant to Section 
3060, 3062, 3064, or 3065. A member of the board who is a new motor vehicle 
dealer may not participate in, hear, comment, advise other members upon, 
or decide, any matter involving a protest filed pursuant to Article 4 
(commencing with Section 3060). 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effective November 8, 1967. 
Amended Ch. 996, Stats. 1973. Operative July 1. 1974. 
Amended Ch. 384, Stats. 1974. Operative July 5. 1974. 
Amended Ch. 913, Stats. 1975. Effective January 1. 1976. 
Amended Ch. 278, Stats. 1977. Effective July 8, 1977, by terms of an urgency clause, 
Amended Ch. 310, Stats. 1979. Effective July 27, 1979, f)N terms of an urgency clause. 
Amended Ch. 454, Stats. 1982. Effective January 1, 1983. 
Amended Ch. 120!. Stats. 198.5. Effective September 28, 1985, by terms of an urgency clause. 
Amended Ch. 1280, Stats. 1987. Effective January I, 198.8. 
The 1987 ansendmnent added Use italicized material and at tbe point si indicated deleted tile 

following: 
-amicably ., 

Oaths, Depositions, Certification to Official Acts, and Issuance of Subpoenas 
3050.1. ( a) In any proceeding, hearing, or in the discharge of an' duties 

ti nder nder this 'chapter, the board, its secretary, or a hearing officer 
designated by the board may administer oaths, take depositions, certify to 
official acts, and issue subpoenas to compel attendance of witnesses and the 
production of books, records, papers, and other documents in any part of the 
state. 

(b) For purposes of discovery, the board or its secretary may, if deemed 
appropriate and proper under the circumstances, authorize the parties to 
engage in such discovery procedures as are 1)rO'i(1ed for in civil actions in 
Article 3 ( commencing with Section 2016) and Article 4 (commencing with 
Section 2037) of Chapter 3 of Title 3 of Part 4 of the Code of Civil Procedure, 
excepting the provisions of Section 2030 of that code. Discovery shall be 
completed no later than 15 clays prior to the commencement of the 
proceeding or hearing before the board. This subdivision shall apply only to 
those proceedings or hearings involving a l)etitio1 or protest filed 1)ursuallt 

to subdivision (c) or ( d) of Section 3050. The board, its secretary, or a 
hearing officer designated by the board may issue subpoenas to compel 
attendance at depositions of persons having knowledge of the acts, omissions 
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or events which are the basis for the proceedings, as well as the production 
of books, records, papers and other documents. 
Added Ch. 1210, Stats. 1972. Effective March 7, 1973. 
Amended Ch. 964, Stats. 1980. Effective January 1, 1981. 

Enforcement of Discovery 

3050.2. ( a) Obedience to subpoenas issued to compel attendance of 
witnesses, or the production of books, records, papers, and other documents 
at the proceeding or hearing, may be enforced by application to the superior 
court as set forth in Article 2 (commencing with Section 11180) of Chapter 
2 of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code. 

(b) Compliance with such discovery procedures as have been authorized 
pursuant to subdivision ( b) of Section 3050.1 rnav be enforced by application 
to the secretary of the board. The secretary may, at the direction of the 
board, upon a showing of failure to comply with authorized discovery 
without a showing of good cause for such failure, dismiss the protest or 
suspend the proceedings pending compliance. The secretary may, at the 
direction of the board, upon a failure to comply with authorized discovery 
without a showing of good cause for that failure, require payment of costs 
incurred by the board. Nothing in this section shall prohibit the secretary 
from making application to the superior court to enforce obedience to 
subbpoenas or compliance with such other discovery procedures as have 
been authorized pursuant to subdivision ( b) of Section 3050.1. 
Added Ch. 1210, Stats. 1972. Effective March 7, 1973. 
Amended Ch. 964, Stats. 1980. Effective January 1, 1981. 
Amended Ch. 1144, Stats. 1983. Effective September 27, 1983, by terms of an urgency clause. 

Witness Fees and the Mileage Allowance 

3050.3. Each witness, other than an officer or employee of the state or of 
a political subdivision of the state, who appears by order of the board or its 
secretary, shall receive for his attendance the same fees and all witnesses 
shall receive the same mileage allowed by law to witnesses in civil cases. The 
amount shall be paid by the party at whose request the witness is 
subpoenaed. The mileage and fees, if any, of a witness subpoenaed by the 
board or its secretary, but not at the request of a party, shall be paid from 
the funds provided for the use of the board in the same manner that other 
expenses of the board are paid. 
Added Ch. 1210, Stats. 1972. Effective March 7, 1973. 

Mandatory Settlement Conference 

3050.4. In any protest or petition before the board, the board, its 
secretary, or a hearing officer designated by the board or its secretary, may 
order a mandator' settlement conference. The failure of it party to appear, 
to be prepared, or to have authority to settle the matter may result in any 
or all of the following: 

(a) The board, its secretary, or a hearing officer designated by the board 
or its secretary, may suspend all proceedings before the board in the matter 
until compliance. 

(b) The board, its secretary, or a hearing officer designated by the board 
or its secretary, may dismiss the proceedings or any part thereof before the 
board with or without prejudice. 

(c) The board, its secretary, or a hearing officer designated by the board 
or its secretary, may require all the board's costs to be paid by the party at 
fault. 

(ci) The board, its secretary, or a hearing officer designated by the board 
or its secretary, may deem that the party at fault has abandoned the matter. 
Added Ch. 1144, Stats. 1983. Effective September 27. 1983, by terms of an urgency clause. 

Fees for Appeal, Protest or Petition 

3050.5. Pursuant to Section 3016, the board shall establish a fee for the 
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initial filing by any party in regard to any appeal, protest, or petition filed 
pursuant to this chapter. 
Added Ch. 283, Stats. 1984. Effective June 30, 1984, by terms of an urgency clause. 
Amended Ch. 1201, Stats. 1985. Effective September 28, 1985, by terms of an urgency clause. 

Cost Assessment 

3050.6. The board or its secretary may, in the event of a granting of a 
continuance of a scheduled matter, assess costs of the board upon the party 
receiving the continuance. 
Added Ch. 1144, Stats. 1983. Effective September 27. 1983, by terms of an urgency clause. 

Stipulated Decisions and Orders 

3050.7. Whenever the parties to any protest or petition submit a 
proposed stipulated decision and proposed order of the board, a copy of the 
proposed stipulated decision and order shall be transmitted by the secretary 
of the board to each member of the board. The proposed stipulated decision 
and order shall be deemed to be adopted by the board unless any member 
of the board notifies the secretary of the board of an objection thereto within 
10 days after that board member has received a copy of the proposed 
stipulated decision and order. 
Added Ch. 1201, Stats. 1985. Effective September 28, 1985, by terms of an urgency clause. 

Application of Chapter 

3051. This chapter does not apply to any person licensed as a transporter 
under Article 1 (commencing with Section 11700) or as a salesman under 
Article 2 (commencing with Section 11800) of Chapter 4 of Division 5, or to 
any' licensee who is not a new motor vehicle dealer, motor vehicle 
manufacturer, manufacturer branch, new motor vehicle distributor, 
distributor branch or representative. This chapter does not apply to 
transactions involving " mobile homes," as defined in Section 18008 of the 
Health and Safety Code, "recreational vehicles," as defined in Section 
18010.5 of the Health and Safety Code, "commercial coaches," as defined in 
Section 18012 of the Health and Safety Code or off-highway motor vehicles 
subject to identification, as defined in Section 38012, except off-highway 
motorcycles. Except its otherwise provided in this chapter, this chapter 
applies to a new motor vehicle dealer as defined in Section 426, a vehicle 
manufacturer as defined in Section 672, a manufacturer branch as defined 
in Section 389, a distributor as defined in Section 296, a distributor branch 
as defined in Section 297, a representative as defined in Section 512, or an 
applicant therefor. 
Added Ch. 1397, Stats. 1967. Effective November 8, 1967. 
Amended Ch. 996, Stats. 1973. Operative July 1, 1974. 
Amended Ch. 943, Stats, 1975. Effective January 1, 1976. 
Amended Ch. 622, Stats. 1979. Effective January 1, 1980. 
Amended Ch. 714. Stats. 1981. Effective January 1, 1982. 
Amended Ch. 1584, Stats. 1982. Effective January 1, 1983. 

Article 3. Appeals From Decisions of the Department 

Form, Filing, Support of Appeal 

3052. ( a) On or before the 10th day after the last clay on which 
reconsideration of a final decision of the department can be ordered, the 
respondent may file an appeal with the secretary of the board. The appeal 
shall be in writing and shall state the grounds therefor. A copy thereof shall 
be mailed by the appellant to the department which shall thereafter be 
treated in all respects as a party to the appeal. The right to appeal shall not 
be affected by failure to seek reconsideration before the department. 

(b) An appeal shall be deemed filed on the date it is received in the office 
of the secretary of the board; provided, however, an appeal mailed to the 
secretary by means of registered mail shall be deemed to be filed with the 
secretary on the date of the registry with the United States Post Office. 
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(b) A new light duty truck with a manufacturer's gross vehicle weight 
rating of 8,500 pounds or less unless there is affixed to the light duty truck 
the label required by Section 24013.5. 
Added Ch. 1089, Stats. 1974. Effective January 1, 1975. 
Amended Ch. 418, Stats. 1987. Effective January 1, 1988. 
The 1987 amendment added the italicized material and at the point (s) indicated deleted the 

followings 
"shall be" 

Unlawful Acts 

11713. It is unlawful and a violation of this code for the holder of any 
license issued under this article: 

(a) To make or disseminate or cause to be made or disseminated before 
the public in this state, in any newspaper or other publication, or any 
advertising device, or by public outcry or proclama tion, or in any other 
manner or means whatever, any statement which is untrue or misleading, 
and which is known, or which by the exercise of reasonable care should be 
known, to be untrue or misleading; or to so make or disseminate or cause to 
be so disseminated any such statement as part of a plan or scheme with the 
intent not to sell any vehicle or service so advertised at the price stated 
therein, or as so advertised. 

(b) To advertise or offer for sale or exchange in any manner, any vehicle 
not actually for sale at the premises of the dealer or available to the dealer 
from the manufacturer or distributor of the vehicle at the time of the 
advertisement or offer, 

(c) To fail within 48 hours in writing to withdraw any, advertisement of 
a vehicle that has been sold or withdrawn from sale. 

(d) To advertise or represent a vehicle as a new vehicle if the vehicle falls 
within the purview of Section 665. 

(e) To engage in the business for which the licensee is licensed without 
having in force and effect a bond as required by this article. 

(f) For any licensed dealer to engage in the business for which the dealer 
is licensed without at all times maintaining an established place of business 
as required by this code. 

(g) To include, as an added cost to the selling price of a vehicle, an 
amount for licensing or transfer of title of the vehicle, which amount is not 
due to the state unless, prior to the sale, that amount has been paid by a 
dealer to the state in order to avoid penalties that would have accrued 
because of late payment of the fees. However, a dealer may collect from the 
second purchaser of a vehicle a prorated fee based upon the number of 
months remaining in the registration year for that vehicle, if the vehicle had 
been previously sold by the dealer and the sale was subsequently rescinded 
and all the fees that were paid, as required by this code and Chapter 2 
(commencing with Section 10751) of Division 2 of the Revenue and Taxation 
Code, were returned to the first purchaser of the vehicle, 

(h) To employ any person as a salesperson who has not been licensed 
pursuant to Article 2 (commencing with Section 11800), and whose license 
is not displayed on the premises of the dealer as required by Section 11812, 
or to fail to willfully notify the department by mail within 10 days of the 
employment or termination of employment of a salesperson, 

(i) To deliver, following sale, a vehicle for operation on California 
highways, if the vehicle does not meet all of the equipment requirements 
of Division 12 (commencing with Section 24000). 

(j) To use or permit the use of the special plates assigned to him or her 
for any purpose other than as permitted by Section 11715. 

(k) To advertise or otherwise represent, or knowingly to allow to be 
advertised or represented on behalf of or at the place of business of the 
license holder, that no downpayment is required in connection with the sale 
of a vehicle when a downpayment is in fact required and the buyer is advised 
or induced to finance the downpayment by a loan in addition to any other 
loan financing the remainder of the purchase price of the vehicle. 
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(1) To participate in the sale of a vehicle reported to the Department of 
Motor Vehicles under Section 5900 or 5901 without making the return and 
payment of any sales tax due and required by Section 6451 of the Revenue 
and Taxation Code. 

(m) To permit the use of the dealer's license, supplies, or books by any 
other person for the purpose of permitting that person to engage in the sale 
of vehicles required to be registered under this code, or to permit the use 
of the dealer's license, supplies, or books to operate a branch location to be 
used by any other person, whether or not the licensee has any financial or 
equitable interest or investment in the vehicles sold by, or the business of, 
or branch location used by, the other person. 

(n) To violate any of the provisions of Article 10 (commencing with 
Section 28050) of Chapter 5 of Division 12. 
Amended Ch. 1827, Stats. 1959. Effective September 18, 1959. 
Amended Ch. 1626, Stats. 1961. Effective September 15, 1961. Supersedes Ch. 58 and Ch. 346. 
Amended Ch. 1858, Stats. 1963. Operative October 1, 1963. 
Amended Ch. 482, Stats. 1967. Effective November 8, 1967. 
Amended Ch. 1021, Stats. 1968. Effective November 13, 1968. 
Amended Ch. 522, Stats. 1970. Effective November 23, 1970. Supersedes Ch. 395. 
Amended Ch. 1214, Stats. 1971. Operative May 3, 1972. 
Amended Ch. 799, Stats. 1972. Effective March 7, 1973. Supersedes Ch. 475. 
Amended Ch. 774, Stats. 1973. Effective September 25, 1973 by terms of an urgency clause. 
Amended Ch. 1286, Stats. 1974. Effective July 1, 1975. 
Amended Ch. 1248, Stats. 1975. Effective January 1, 1976. Supersedes Ch. 842. 
Amended Ch. 843, Stats. 1976. Effective January 1, 1977. 
Amended Ch. 579, Stats. 1977. Effective January 1, 1978. 
Amended Ch. 797, Stats. 1978. Effective January 1, 1979. 
Amended Ch. 535, Stats. 1982. Effective January 1, 1983. Supersedes Ch. 517. 
Amended Ch. 18, Stats. 1983. Effective April 21, 1983. 
Amended Ch. 1286, Stats. 1983. Effective January 1, 1984. 
Amended Ch. 1342, Stats. 1984. Effective January 1, 1985. 
Amended Ch. 1136, Stats. 1985. Effective January 1, 1986. 

Additional Unlawful Acts 

11713.1. It is unlawful and a violation of this code for the holder of any 
dealer's license issued under this article to do any of the following: 

(a) To advertise any specific vehicle for sale without identifying the 
vehicle by either its vehicle identification number or license number. 

(b) To advertise the total price of a vehicle without including all costs to 
the purchaser at time of sale, except sales tax, vehicle registration fees, 
certificate of compliance or noncompliance fees not exceeding ( )' 
twenty-five dollars ($25..) pursuant to any statute or a certificate of waiver 
pursuant to Section 9889.56 of the Business and Professions Code, finance 
charges, and any dealer documentary preparation charge. The dealer 
documentary preparation charge shall not exceed ( )' twenty-five dollars 
($25)L 

(c) To exclude from the newspaper display advertisement of a vehicle for 
sale that there will be added to the advertised total price at the time of sale, 
charges for sales tax, vehicle registration fees, the fee charged by the state 
for the issuance of any certificate of compliance or noncompliance pursuant 
to any statute or a certificate of waiver pursuant to Section 9889.56 of the 
Business and Professions Code, finance charges, and any dealer 
documentary preparation charge. 

For purposes of this subdivision, "newspaper display advertisement" 
means any advertisement in a newspaper which is two or more newspaper 
columns in width or one newspaper column in width and more than seven 
inches in length. 

(d) To represent the dealer documentary preparation charge or 
certificate of compliance or noncompliance fee, as a governmental fee. 

(e) To fail to sell a vehicle to any person at the advertised total price, 
exclusive of sales tax, vehicle registration fees, the fee charged by the state 
for the issuance of any certificate of compliance or noncompliance pursuant 
to any statute or a certificate of waiver pursuant to Section 9889.56 of the 
Business and Professions Code, finance charges, mobilehome escrow fees, 
the amount of any city, county, or city and county imposed fee or tax for a 
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mobilehome, and any dealer documentary preparation charge, which 
charges shall not exceed ( )' twenty-five dollars ($2) while the vehicle 
remains unsold, unless the advertisement states the advertised total price is 
good only for a specified time and the time has elapsed. 

(f) To advertise for sale as new any new vehicle of a line-make for which 
the dealer does not hold a franchise, unless the dealer discloses, prior to the 
sale of the new vehicle, that the dealer is not franchised to sell the vehicle 
and that the dealer will receive a commission or other compensation as a 
result of the sale. 

This subdivision does not apply to any transaction involving a mobilehome 
as defined in Section 396 of this code, a recreational vehicle as defined in 
Section 18010.5 of the Health and Safety Code, a commercial coach as 
defined in Section 18012 of the Health and Safety Code, an off-highway 
motor vehicle subject to identification as defined in Section 38012, or a 
commercial vehicle as defined in Section 260 ( )2. 

(g) To sell a park trailer, as defined in subdivision ( f) of Section 799.24 of 
the Civil Code, without disclosing in writing to the purchaser that a park 
trailer is required to be moved by a transporter or a licensed manufacturer 
or dealer under a permit issued by the Department of Transportation or a 
local authority with respect to highways under their respective jurisdictions. 
Added Ch. 1031, Stats. 1973. Effective January 1, 1974. 
Amended Ch. 1162, Stats. 1978. Effective January 1, 1979. Supersedes Ch. 632. 
Amended Ch. 278, Stats. 1979. Effective July 1, 1979 by terms of an urgency clause. 
Amended Ch. 943, Stats. 1979. Effective January 1, 1980. 
Amended Ch. 456, Stats. 1983. Effective January 1, 1984. 
Amended Ch. 1342, Stats. 1984. Effective January 1, 1985. 
Amended Ch. 1566, Stats. 1985. Effective October 2,19&5, by terms of an urgency clause. 
Amended Ch. 1078, Stats. 1986. Effective January 1, 1987. 
Amended Ch. 503, Stats. 1987. Effective January 1, 1988. 
The 1987 amendment added the italicized material and at the point ( S) indicated deleted the 

following: 
"twenty dollars ($20)" 

2 "of this code" 

Additional Unlawful Acts 
11713.2, It shall be unlawful and a violation of this code for any 

manufacturer, manufacturer branch, distributor, or distributor branch 
licensed under this code to coerce or attempt to coerce any dealer in this 
state: 

(a) To order or accept delivery of any motor vehicle, part or accessory 
thereof, appliance, equipment or any other commodity not required by law 
which shall not have been voluntarily ordered by the dealer. 

(b) To order or accept deli Very of any motor vehicle with special features, 
appliances, accessories or equipment not included in the list price of such 
motor vehicles as publicly advertised by the manufacturer or distributor. 

(c) To order for any person any parts, accessories, equipment, machinery, 
tools, appliances, or any commodity whatsoever, 

(ci) To participate in an advertising campaign or contest, any promotional 
campaign, promotional materials, training materials, showroom  or other 
display decorations or materials at the expense of the dealer. 

(e) To enter into any agreement with the manufacturer, manufacturer 
branch, distributor, or distributor branch, or to do any other act prejudicial 
to the dealer by threatening to cancel a franchise or any contractual 
agreement existing between the dealer and manufacturer, manufacturer 
branch, distributor, or distributor branch. Notice in good faith to any dealer 
of the dealer's violation of any terms or provisions of such franchise or 
contractual agreement shall not constitute a violation of this article. 
Added Ch. 996. Stats. 1973. Operative July 1, 1974. 
Amended and renumbered Ch. 933, Stats. 1979. Effective January 1. 1980. Supersedes Ch. 373. 

Additional Unlawful Acts 
11713.3, It is unlawful and a violation of this code for any manufacturer, 

manufacturer branch, distributor, or distributor branch licensed under this 
code to do any of the following: 
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(a) To refuse or fail to deliver in reasonable quantities and within a 
reasonable time after receipt of an order from a dealer having a franchise 
for the retail sale of any new vehicle sold or distributed by the manufacturer 
or distributor, any new vehicle or parts or accessories to new vehicles as are 
covered by the franchise, if the vehicle, parts, or accessories are publicly 
advertised as being available for delivery or actually being delivered. This 
subdivision is not violated, however, if the failure is caused by acts or causes 
beyond the control of the manufacturer, manufacturer branch, distributor, 
or distributor branch. 

(b) To prevent or require, or attempt to prevent or require, by contract 
or otherwise, any change in the capital structure of a dealership or the means 
by or through which the dealer finances the operation of the dealership, 
provided that the dealer at all times meets any reasonable capital standards 
agreed to by the dealer and the manufacturer or distributor, and also 
provided that no change in capital structure shall cause a change in the 
principal management or have the effect of a sale of the franchise without 
the consent of the manufacturer or distributor. 

(c) To prevent or require, or attempt to prevent or require, a dealer to 
change the executive management of a dealership, other than the principal 
dealership operator or operators if the franchise was granted the dealer in 
reliance upon the personal qualifications of such person or persons. 

(d) To prevent or require, or attempt to prevent or require, by contract 
or otherwise, any dealer, or any officer, partner, or stockholder of any 
dealership, the sale or transfer of any part of the interest of any of them to 
any other person or persons. No dealer, officer, partner, or stockholder shall, 
however, have the right to sell, transfer, or assign the franchise, or any right 
thereunder, without the consent of the manufacturer or distributor except 
that the consent shall not be unreasonably withheld. 

(e) To prevent, or attempt to prevent, a dealer from receiving fair and 
reasonable compensation for the value of the franchised business. There 
shall be no transfer or assignment of the dealer's franchise without the 
consent of the manufacturer or distributor, which consent shall not be 
unreasonably withheld. 

(f) To obtain money, goods, service, or any other benefit from any other 
person with whom the dealer does business, on account of, or in relation to, 
the transaction between the dealer and that other person, other than for 
compensation for services rendered, unless the benefit is promptly 
accounted for, and transmitted to, the dealer. 

(g) To require a dealer to prospectively assent to a release, assignment, 
novation, waiver, or estoppel which would relieve any person from liability 
to be imposed by this article or to require any controversy between a dealer 
and a manufacturer, distributor, or representative, to be referred to any 
person other than the board, if the referral would be binding on the dealer. 
This subdivision does not, however, prohibit arbitration before an 
independent arbitrator. 

(h) To increase prices of motor vehicles which the dealer had ordered for 
private retail consumers prior to the dealer's receipt of the written official 
price increase notification. A sales contract signed by a private retail 
consumer is evidence of each such order. In the event of manufacturer price 
reductions, the amount of the reduction received by a dealer shall be passed 
on to the private retail consumer by the dealer if the retail price was 
negotiated on the basis of the previous higher price to the dealer. Price 
reductions apply to all vehicles in the dealer's inventory which were subject 
to the price reduction. Price differences applicable to new model or series 
motor vehicles at the time of the introduction of new models or series shall 
not be considered a price increase or price decrease. Price changes caused 
by either ( 1) the addition to a motor vehicle of required or optional 
equipment pursuant to state or federal law, or (2) revaluation of the United 
States dollar in the case of foreign-make vehicles, are not subject to this 
subdivision. 
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(1) To fail to pay to a dealer, within a reasonable time following receipt 
of a valid claim by a dealer thereof, any payment agreed to be made by the 
manufacturer or distributor to the dealer by reason of the fact that a new 
vehicle of a prior year model is in the dealer's inventory at the time of 
introduction of new model vehicles. A manufacturer or distributor shall not 
authorize or enable any new model or series passenger vehicle or station 
wagon to be delivered by dealers at retail more than 30 days prior to the 
eligibility date of the model change allowance payment for prior year model 
vehicles. 

U) To deny the widow or heirs designated by a deceased owner of a 
dealership, the opportunity to participate in the ownership of the dealership 
or successor dealership under a valid franchise for a reasonable time after 
the death of the owner. 

(k) To offer any refunds or other types of inducements to any person for 
the purchase of new motor vehicles of a certain line-make to be sold to the 
state or any political subdivision thereof without making the same offer to 
all other dealers in the same line-make within the relevant market area. 

(1) To modify, replace, enter into, relocate, terminate or refuse to renew 
a franchise in violation of Article 4 (commencing with Section 3060) of 
Chapter 6 of Division 2. 

(m) To employ a person as a representative who has not been licensed 
pursuant to Article 3 (commencing with Section 11900) of Chapter 4 of 
Division 5. 

(11) To deny any dealer the right of free association with any other dealer 
for any lawful purpose. 

(o) To compete with a dealer in the same line-make operating under an 
agreement or franchise from a manufacturer or distributor in the relevant 
market area. A manufacturer or distributor shall not, however, be deemed 
to be competing when operating a dealership either temporarily for a 
reasonable period, or in a bona fide retail operation which is for sale to any 
qualified independent person at a fair and reasonable price, or in a bona fide 
relationship in which an independent person has made a significant 
investment subject to loss in the dealership and can reasonably expect to 
acquire full ownership of the dealership on reasonable terms and conditions. 
A distributor shall not be deemed to be competing when a wholly owned 
subsidiary corporation of the distributor sells motor vehicles at retail, if, for 
at least three years prior to January 1, 1973, the subsidiary corporation has 
been a wholly owned subsidiary of the distributor and engaged in the sale 
of vehicles at retail. 

(p) To unfairly discriminate among its franchisees with respect to 
warranty reimbursement or authority granted its franchisees to make 
warranty adjustments with retail customers. 

(q) To sell vehicles to persons not licensed under this chapter for resale. 
(r) To fail to affix an identification number to any park trailer, as defined 

in Section 799.24 of the Civil Code, which is manufactured on or after 
January 1, 1987, and which does not clearly identify the unit as a park trailer 
to the department. The configuration of the identification number shall be 
approved by the department. 
Added Ch. 996, Stats. 1973. Operative July 1, 1974. 
Amended Ch. 384, Stats. 1974. Operative July 5, 1974 by terms of an urgency clause. 
Amended and renumbered Ch. 943, Stats. 1979. Effective January 1, 1980. 
Amended Ch. 1078, Stats. 1986. Effective January 1, 1987. 

Refund of Excess Fees by Dealer 

11713.4. If a purchaser of a vehicle pays to the dealer an amount for the 
licensing or transfer of title of the vehicle, which amount is in excess of the 
actual fees due for such licensing or transfer, or which amount is in excess 
of the amount which has been paid, prior to the sale, by the dealer to the 
state in order to avoid penalties that would have accrued because of late 
payment of such fees, the dealer shall return such excess amount to the 
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purchaser, whether or not such purchaser requests the return of the excess 
amount. 
Added Ch. 222, Stats. 1974. Effective January 1, 1975. 
Amended and renumbered Ch. 943, Stats. 1979. Effective January 1, 1980. 

Unlawful Representation of Vehicle Year Model 

11713.5. (a) It is unlawful and a violation of this code for the holder of 
any license issued under this article to display for sale, offer for sale, or sell, 
a motor vehicle, representing the motor vehicle to he of a year model 
different from the year model designated at the time of manufacture or first 
assembly as a completed vehicle. 

(b) It is unlawful and a violation of this code for the holder of any license 
issued under this article to directly or indirectly authorize or advise another 
holder of a license issued under this article to change the year model of a 
motor vehicle in the inventory of the other holder. 

(c) It is unlawful and a violation of this code for the holder of any license 
issued under this article to display for sale, offer for sale, or sell, a housecar 
which has been manufactured in two or more stages, unless the licensee 
informs the buyer that the housecar has been so manufactured and the 
licensee provides the buyer with a form, approved by the department, which 
sets forth the date of chassis and engine manufacture and the date and model 
year of the other stages of the vehicle. The licensee shall retain a copy of the 
form, which shall be signed by the purchaser prior to entering into any sales 
contract, indicating that the purchaser has received a copy of the form. 

(d) This section does not apply to the displaying or offering for sale, or 
selling, of any new motortruck or truck tractor weighing over 10,000 pounds. 

(e) This section does not apply to a vehicle which has been 
remanufactured by a licensed remanufacturer. The year model of a 
remanufactured vehicle will be the year the vehicle was remanufactured. 
Added Ch. 1025, Stats. 1974. Effective January 1, 1975. 
Amended Ch. 873, Stats. 1977. Effective January 1, 1978. 
Amended Ch. 12.86, Stats. 1983. Effective January 1, 1984. 

Mobilehome Dealers: Listings, Referral Arrangements, and Sales Agreements 

11713.6. 
Added Ch. 373, Stats. 1976. Effective July 8, 1976 by terms of an urgency clause. 
Repealed Ch. 1342, Stats. 1984. Effective January 1, 1985. 

Disclosure: Remanufactured Vehicle 

11713.7. Disclosure to a buyer that a vehicle has been remanufactured is 
required. Disclosure shall be accomplished by all of the following: 

(a) Oral notification to the buyer. 
(b) The statement "TI-uS VEHICLE HAS BEEN REMANUFACTURED 

AND CONTAINS USED OR RECONDITIONED PARTS" shall appear in a 
type size at least the same as the bulk of the text on the purchase order or 
conditional sales contract signed by the buyer, 

(c) The statement that the vehicle is remanufactured and contains used 
or reconditioned parts shall appear in any advertisement pertaining to 
renianufactureci vehicles. 

(d) Remanufactured vehicles displayed for retail purposes shall he clearly 
designated as remanufactured. The disclosure statement required in 
subdivision (b) shall appear on the vehicle or at the location where the 
vehicles are displayed. 
Added Ch. 1286, Stats. 1983. Effective January 1, 1984. 

Unlawful Acts: Remanufacturer 

11713.8. It is unlawful and a violation of this code for a remanufacturer 
licensed under this code to fail to do any of the following: 

(a) Report to the department an existing vehicle identification number 
when a used frame is utilized. 

(b) Die stamp the vehicle identification number to the frame of the 
vehicle when a new vehicle identification number is assigned. 
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(c) Disclose that a vehicle is remanufactured and contains used or 
reconditioned parts as required by Section 11713.7. 

(d) Remove the trade name of the original manufacturer from the 
vehicle, unless the remanufacturer and the original manufacturer are same. 

(e) Maintain for three years bills of sale or invoices for used parts utilized 
in a remanufactured vehicle. 

(f) Maintain for three years proof that the vehicle was reported 
dismantled, as required by Section 5500 or 11520, when a used frame is 
utilized in a remanufactured vehicle. 

(g) Disclose, on the vehicle identification number plate or label, that the 
vehicle is remanufactured and includes used parts. 

(h) Disclose to the dealer on a document signed by the dealer that the 
vehicle is remanufactured and contains used parts. 
Added Ch. 1286, Stats. 1983. Effective January 1, 198.4. 

Disclosure: Engine Manufacturer 

11713.9. ( a) It is unlawful and a violation of this code for the holder of 
a dealer's license to knowingly display for sale or offer for sale any new motor 
vehicle specified in subdivision (b) with an engine manufactured by a 
manufacturer that is not the same as the vehicle manufacturer, as defined 
in Section 9980, unless the vehicle is prominently labeled as specified in 
Section 9981. 

(b) This section applies only to new passenger vehicles and to new 
motortrucks with an unladen weight under 6,000 pounds, except housecars. 
Added Ch. 1264, Stats. 1984. Effective January 1, 1985. 

Issuance of License, Special Plates, and Forms: Prohibited Sales 

11714. ( a) The department, upon granting a license, shall issue to the 
applicant a license containing the applicant's name and address and the 
general distinguishing number assigned to the applicant. 

(b) A dealer shall not sell any vehicle at retail at a location that is not 
posted pursuant to Section 11709. 

(c) A dealer who is authorized by the department to sell motor vehicles 
any at wholesale shall not sell a' vehicle at retail and shall report every 

sale to the department on the wholesale report of sale form prescribed by 
the department. 

('d) When the department has issued a license pursuant to 
subdivision ( a), the licensee may apply for and the department shall issue 
special plates which shall have displayed thereon the general distinguishing 
number assigned to the applicant. Each plate so issued shall also contain a 
number or symbol identifying the plate from every other plate bearing a like 
general distinguishing number. 

2 (e) The department shall also furnish books and forms as it may 
determine necessary. Such books and forms are and shall remain the 
property of the department and may be taken up at any time for inspection. 
Amended Ch. 929, Stats. 1971. Operative May 3, 1972. 
Amended Ch. 182, Stats. 1975. Effective July 3, 1975 by terms of an urgency clause. 
Amended Ch. 444, Stats. 1987. Effective January 1, 1988. 
The 1987 amendment added the italicized material and at the point (s) indicated deleted the 

following: 
"(b)' 

2 "(C)" 

Operation With Special Plates: Exceptions 

11715. (a) A manufacturer, remanufacturer, distributor, or dealer 
owning or lawfully possessing any vehicle of a type otherwise required to be 
registered under this code may operate or move the vehicle upon the 
highways without registering each such vehicle upon condition that any such 
vehicle display thereon special plates issued to the owner as provided in this 
chapter, in addition to other license plates or permits already assigned and 
attached to the vehicle in the manner prescribed in Sections 5200 to 5203, 
inclusive. The vehicles may also be moved or operated for the purpose of 
towing or transporting by any lawful method other vehicles. 
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(b) A transporter may operate or move any owned or lawfully possessed 
vehicle of like type by any lawful method upon the highways solely for the 
purpose of delivery, upon condition that there be displayed upon each 
vehicle in contact with the highway special license plates issued to the 
transporter as provided in this chapter, in addition to any license plates or 
permits already assigned and attached to the vehicle in the manner 
prescribed in Sections 5200 to 5203, inclusive. The vehicles may be used for 
the purpose of towing or transporting by any lawful method other vehicles 
when the towing or transporting vehicle is being delivered for sale or to the 
owner thereof. 

(c) This section does not apply to any manufacturer, remanufacturer. 
transporter, distributor, or dealer operating or moving a vehicle as provided 
in Section 11716. 

(d) This section does not apply to work or service vehicles owned by a 
manufacturer, remanufacturer, transporter, distributor, or dealer. This 
section does not apply to vehicles owned and leased by dealers, except those 
vehicles rented or leased to vehicle salesmen in the course of their 
employment for purposes of display or demonstration, nor to any 
unregistered vehicles used to transport more than one load of other vehicles 
for the purpose of sale. 

(e) This section does not apply to vehicles currently registered in this 
state which are owned and operated by a licensed dealer when the notice 
of transfer has been forwarded to the department by the former owner of 
record pursuant to Section 5900 and when a copy of the notice is displayed 
as follows: 

(1) For a motorcycle or motor-driven cycle, the notice is displayed in a 
conspicuous manner upon the vehicle. 

(2) For a vehicle other than a motorcycle or motor-driven cycle, the 
notice is displayed in the lower right-hand corner of the windshield of the 
vehicle, as specified in paragraph (3) of subdivision ( b) of Section 26708. 

() Ever' owner, upon receipt of a registration card issued for special 
plates, shall maintain the same or a facsimile copy thereof with the vehicle 
bearing the special plates. 
Amended by Ch. 1391, Stats. 1959. Effective September 18, 1959. Supersedes ( h. 421. Stats. 1959. 
Amended Ch. 346, Stats. 1961. Effective September 15, 1961. 
Amended (Is. 801. Stats. 1967. Effective November S. 1967. 
Amended Ch. 929. Stats. 1971. Operative May 3. 1972. 
Amended Ch. 182, Stats, 1975. Effective July 3, 1975 by terms of an urgency clause. 
Amended Ch. 105, Stats, 1977. Effective January 1, 1978. 
Amended (:h. 1286, Stats. 1983. Effective January I. 1983. 

Operation Without Registration: Permit 

11716. A manufacturer, rematiufacturer, transporter, or a dealer, in the 
course of his business, may operate or move any vehicle of it type otherwise 
required to be registered under this code without registering the vehicle, 
and without license or special plates attached thereto, from a vessel, railroad 
depot, or warehouse over the highways to a warehouse or salesroom upon 
first having obtained a written permit authorizing such operation from the 
department. 
Amended Gb. 1286, Stats. 1983. Effective January 1, 198-I. 

Expiration and Renewal of Special Plates and License 

11717. ( a) Every occupational license and special plate issued under this 
article shall be valid for a period of one year from midnight of the last day 
of the month of issuance. Except as provided in subdivision ( c), renewal of 
the occupational license and special plates for the ensuing year may be 
obtained by the person to whom the occupational license and special plates 
were issued upon application to the department and payment of the fee 
provided in this code. 

(b) Every application for the renewal of an occupational license and 
special plates which expire pursuant to this section shall be made by the 
person to whom issued not more than 90 days prior to the expiration date, 
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and shall be made by presenting the completed application form provided 
by the department and by payment of the full annual renewal fee for the 
occupational license and special plates. 

(c) If the application for renewal of the occupational license and special 
plates is not made by midnight of the expiration date, the app lication may 
be made within 30 days following expiration of the license by paying the 
annual renewal fee and a penalty fee equal to the amount of the original 
application fee for each occupational license held. A penalty as specified in 
Sections 9553 and 9554 shall also be added to each special plate renewed 
during the 30-day period following expiration of the special plates. 

(d) In no event may the licensee renew the occupational license or 
special plates after the expiration of the 30-day period authorized in 
subdivision ( c). 
Amended Ch. 1214, Stats. 1971. Operative May 3, 1972. 
Amended Ch. 571, Stats. 1982. Effective January 1, 1983. 
Amended Ch. 499, Stats. 1984. Effective January 1, 1983. 

Conversion: Renewal Period 

11717.1. In order to accomplish the conversion of the license from the 
term in effect on December 31, 1982, to the term prescribed in Section 11717, 
the director may either establish an initial renewal period of less than one 
year or extend the renewal period to more than one year during the 
conversion period, except that any new or reinstated license issued on or 
after January 1, 1983, shall be for the term prescribed in Section 11717. 
Added Ch. 571, Stats. 1982. Effective January 1, 1983. 

Issuance of Probationary License 

11718. Except where the provisions of this code require the refusal to 
issue a license, the department may issue a probationary license subject to 
conditions to be observed by the licensee in the exercise of the privilege 
granted. The conditions to be attached to the exercise of the privilege shall 
not appear on the face of the license but shall be such as may, in the 
judgment of the department, be in the public interest and suitable to the 
qualifications of the applicant as disclosed by the application and 
investigation by the department of the information contained therein. 
Added Ch. 1827, Stats. 1959. Effective September 18, 1959. 
Amended Ch. 1214, Stats. 1971. Operative May 3, 1972. 

Temporary Permit 

11719. Pending the satisfaction of the department that the applicant has 
met the requirements under this article, it may issue a temporary permit to 
any person applying for a manufacturer's, manufacturer's branch, 
remanufacturer's, remanufacturer's branch, distributor's, distributor's 
branch, transporter's, or dealer's license and special plates. The temporary 
permit shall permit the operation by the manufacturer, manufacturer 
branch, remanufacturer, remanufacturer branch, distributor, distributor 
branch, transporter, or dealer for a period not to exceed 120 days while the 
department is completing its investigation and determination of all facts 
relative to the qualifications of the applicant to the license and special plates. 
The department may cancel the temporary permit when it has determined, 
or has reasonable cause to believe, that the application is incorrect or 
incomplete or the temporary permit was issued in error. The temporary 
permit is invalid when canceled or when the applicant's license has been 
issued or refused. 
Added Ch. 1827, Stats. 1959. Effective September 18, 1959. 
Amended Ch. 1214, Stats. 1971. Operative May 3, 1972. 
Amended Ch. 215, Stats. 1972. Effective March 7, 1973. 
Amended Ch. 996, Stats. 1973. Operative July 1, 1974. 
Amended Ch. 1286, Stats. 1983. Effective January 1, 1984. 
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whatsoever for use, or with knowledge that any such equipment is intended 
for eventual use, in any vehicle, that is not in conformity with this code or 
regulations made thereunder. 
Amended Ch. 226, Stats. 1961. Effective September 15, 1961. 
Amended Ch. 734, Stats. 1971. Operative May 3, 1972. 

Uncertified Synthetic Rope or Webbing Strap Material 

24005.5. It is unlawful for any person to sell or offer for sale for use on 
loads regulated by the department any type of synthetic fiber rope or 
webbing strap material unless it meets requirements established by the 
department. 
Added Ch. 466, Stats. 1972. Effective March 7, 1973. 
Amended Ch. 723, Stats. 1979. Effective January 1, 1980. 

Name or Trademark 

24006. No person shall sell or offer for sale either separately or as a part 
of the equipment of a new motor vehicle any equipment or device subject 
to requirements established by the department unless the equipment or 
device bears thereon the trademark or name and type or model designation 
under requirements established by the department and is accompanied by 
any printed instructions which may be required by the department as to the 
light source to be used with lamps, any particular methods of mounting or 
adjustment of lamps or other devices, and any other instructions as 
determined by the department necessary for compliance with this code. 
Amended Ch. 440, Stats. 1967. Effective June 30, 1967, by terms of an urgency clause. 
Amended Ch. 723, Stats. 1979. Effective January 1, 1980. 

Responsibility of Dealer or Other Person Selling Motor Vehicle 

24007. (a) No dealer or person holding a retail seller's permit shall sell 
a new or used vehicle which is not in compliance with ) this code and 

( departmental regulations adopted pursuant to this code, unless the vehicle 
is ( 1) sold to another dealer, (2) sold for the purpose of being wrecked or 
dismantled, or (3) sold exclusively for off-highway use. 

(b) Except as provided in Section 24007.5, no person shall sell, or offer or 
deliver for sale, to the ultimate purchaser a new or used motor vehicle, as 
those terms are defined in Chapter 2 (commencing with Section 39010) of 
Part 1 of Division 26 of the Health and Safety Code, subject to Part 5 
(commencing with Section 43000) of that Division 26 which is not in 
compliance with ( ) that Part 5 and the rules and regulations of the State 
Air Resources Board, unless the vehicle is either ( 1) sold to a dealer, or (2) 
sold for the purpose of being wrecked or dismantled. 

(c) (1) With each application for initial registration of a new motor 
vehicle or transfer of registration of a motor vehicle subject to that Part 5, 
a dealer shall transmit to the Department of Motor Vehicles a valid 
certificate of compliance from a licensed motor vehicle pollution control 
device installation and inspection station indicating that the vehicle is 
properly equipped with a certified device or devices which are in proper 
operating condition and which are in compliance with ( ) that Part 5 and 
the rules and regulations of the state board. 

(2) With respect to new vehicles certified pursuant to Chapter 2 
(commencing with Section 43100) of Part 5 of Division 26 of the Health and 
Safety Code, a dealer may transmit, in lieu of a certificate of compliance, a 
statement, in a form and containing information deemed necessary and 
appropriate by the Director of Motor Vehicles and the Executive Officer of 
the State Air Resources Board, to attest to the vehicles compliance with 
that Chapter 2. The statement shall be certified under penalty of perjury, 
and shall be signed by the dealer or the dealer's authorized representative. 
Amended Ch. 2033, Stats. 1965. Effective September 17, 1965. Supersedes Ch. 2031. 
Amended Ch. 82, Stats. 1966. Effective October 6, 1966. 
Amended Ch. 394, Stats. 1967. Effective November 8, 1967. 
Amended Ch. 764, Stats. 1968. Effective November 13, 1968. 
Amended Ch. 766, Stats. 1970. Effective November 23, 1970. 
Amended Ch. 1488, Stats. 1971. Operative May 3, 1972. Supersedes Ch. 86. 
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Amended Ch. 268, Stats. 1972. Effective March 7, 1973. Supersedes Ch. 99. 
Amended Ch. 957, Stats. 1975. Effective January 1, 1976. 
Amended Ch. 1206, Stats. 1976. Effective January, 1, 1977. 
Amended Ch. 1038, Stats. 1977. Effective September 23, 1977, by terms of an urgency clause. 
Amended Ch. 246, Stats. 1984. Effective January 1, 1985. 
Amended Ch. 1091, Stats. 1987. Effective January 1, 1988. 
The 1987 amendment added the italicized material and at the point(s) indicated deleted the 

following: 
"the provisions or' 

NO Devices: Free Installation for Low-Income Elderly Persons 

24007.2. If a dealer, or a person holding a retail seller's permit, sells to an 
elderly low-income person, as defined in Section 39026.5 of the Health and 
Safety Code, a 1966 through 1970 model year motor vehicle which is not 
equipped, as required pursuant to Sections 43654 and 43656 of that code, with 
a certified device to control its exhaust emission of oxides of nitrogen, the 
dealer or such person, as the case may be, shall install the required certified 
device on the motor vehicle without cost to the elderly low-income person. 
Added Ch. 231, Stats. 1976. Effective January 1, 1977. 

Inspection of Vehicle Prior to Sale by Dealer 

24007.3. No dealer or person holding a retail seller's permit shall sell a 
new or used motor vehicle subject to Chapter 20.4 (commencing with 
Section 9889.50) of Division 3 of the Business and Professions Code which has 
not been inspected within 60 days immediately prior to sale pursuant to 
subdivision ( b) or ( d) of Section 9889.55 of the Business and Professions 
Code, unless the vehicle is sold to another dealer or for the purpose of being 
wrecked or dismantled or is sold exclusively for off-highway use. The dealer 
or person holding the retail seller's permit shall, with each application for 
initial registration or transfer of registration of a motor vehicle subject to 
Chapter 20.4 (commencing with Section 9889.50) of Division 3 of the 
Business and Professions Code, transmit to the Department of Motor 
Vehicles a valid certificate of compliance or waiver issued pursuant to 
Section 9889.56 of the Business and Professions Code indicating that the 
vehicle has passed, within 60 days immediately prior to sale, the inspection 
conducted pursuant to subdivision (b) or (d) of Section 9889.55 of the 
Business and Professions Code. 
Added Ch. 1154, Stats. 1973. Effective January 1, 1974. 
Amended Ch. 76, Stats. 1981. Effective January 1, 1982. 

Sale by Auctioneer or Public Agency 

24007.5.. (a) Except as otherwise provided in subdivisions (c), (d), and 
(e), no auctioneer or public agency shall sell, at public auction, any vehicle 
specified in subdivision (a) of Section 24007, which is not in compliance with 

1 this code, unless the vehicle is sold to a dealer or for the purpose of 
being wrecked or dismantled or is sold exclusively for off-highway use. 

(b) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision ( e), any auctioneer or 
public agency which sells, at public auction, any vehicle specified in 
subdivision (b) of Section 24007, shall provide each bidder with a notice in 
writing that a certificate of compliance is required to be obtained, certifying 
that the vehicle complies with ( )' Part 5 (commencing with Section 
43000) of Division 26 of the Health and Safety Code, before ( ) 2 the vehicle 
may be registered in this state, unless the vehicle is sold to a dealer or for 
the purpose of being wrecked or dismantled or is sold exclusively for 
off-highway use. 

(c) If, in the opinion of an auctioneer or public agency, the cost of repairs 
to a vehicle exceeds the value of the vehicle to the auctioneer or agency, the 
auctioneer or agency shall, as transferee or owner, surrender the certificates 
of registration ( ) , documents satisfactory to the department showing 
proof of ownership, and any unexpired license plates ( ) ' issued for ( ) 2 
the vehicle to the Department of Motor Vehicles ( )5. 

(d) The auctioneer or agency having complied with ( )' subdivision (c) 
6 shall, upon sale of ( ) 2 the vehicle, give to the purchaser a bill of sale 
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which ( )7 includes, in addition to any other required information, the last 
issued license plate number. 

(e) ( )' Subdivisions (a) and (b) do not apply to any judicial sale 
conducted pursuant to a writ of execution or order of court. 

(f The exceptions in this section do not apply to any requirements for 
registration of a vehicle pursuant to Section 4000.1, 4000.2, or 4000.3. 
Added Ch. 1021, Stats. 1971. Operative May 3, 1972. 
Amended Ch. 957, Stats. 1975. Effective January 1, 1976. 
Amended Ch. 1091, Stats. 1987. Effective January, 1, 1988, 
The 1987 amendment added the italicized material and at the point(s) indicated deleted the 

following: 
:: the provisions of' 

2 "such" 
"and" 
"last" 
"as provided under Section 11521 of this code" 

6 "of this section" 
"shall include" 

Modification of Vehicles 

24008. It is unlawful to operate any passenger vehicle, or commercial 
vehicle under 6,000 pounds, which has been modified from the original 
design so that any portion of the vehicle, other than the wheels, has less 
clearance from the surface of a level roadway than the clearance between 
the roadway and the lowermost portion of any rim of any wheel in contact 
with the roadway. 
Added Ch. 1791, Stats. 1959. Effective September 18, 1959. 
Amended Ch. 1562, Stats. 1961. Effective September 15, 1961. 
Amended Ch. 462, Stats. 1984. Effective January 1, 1985. 

Frame and Floor Height 

24008.5. (a) No person shall operate any motor vehicle with a frame 
height or body floor height greater than specified in subdivisions (b) and 
(c). 

(b) The maximum frame height is as follows: 

Vehicle Type 

(1) Passenger vehicles, except housecars 
(2) All other motor vehicles, including housecars, as 

follows: 
Up to 4,500 pounds GVWR 
4,501 to 7,500 pounds GVWR 
7,501 to 10,000 pounds GVWR 

Frame Height 
23 inches 

27 inches 
30 inches 
31 inches 

(c) The lowest portion of the body floor shall not be more than ( ) five 
inches above the top of the frame, 

(d) The following definitions govern the construction of this section: 
(1) "Frame" means the main longitudinal structural members of the 

chassis of the vehicle or, for vehicles with unitized body construction, the 
lowest main longitudinal structural members of the body of the vehicle, 

(2) "Frame height" means the vertical distance between the ground and 
the lowest point on the frame, measured when the vehicle is unladen on a 
level surface at the lowest point on the frame midway between the front axle 
and the second axle on the vehicle. 

(3) "GVWR" means the manufacturer's gross vehicle weight rating, as 
defined in Section 390, whether or not the vehicle is modified by use of parts 
not originally installed by the manufacturer, 
Added Ch. 300, Stats. 1969. Effective November 10, 1969. 
Repealed and Added Ch. 835, Stats. 1985. Effective January 1, 1986. 
Amended Ch. 718, Stats. 1987. Effective January 1, 1988. 
The 1987 amendment added the italicized material and at the point(s) indicated deleted the 

following: 
"four" 
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Manufacturer's Name and GVW Rating 

24009. No person shall sell or offer for sale a new motor truck, truck 
tractor, or bus that is not equipped with an identification plate or marking 
bearing the manufacturer's name and the manufacturer's gross vehicle 
weight rating of such vehicle. 
Added Ch. 1800, Stats. 1959. Effective September 18, 1959. 
Repealed Ch. 408, Stats. 1963. Effective September 20, 1963. 
Added Ch. 1287, Stats. 1967. Effective November 8, 1967. 

Vehicle Rental Responsibility 

24010. No person engaged in the rental of any vehicle, for periods of 30 
days or less, shall rent, lease or otherwise allow the operation of such vehicle 
unless all necessary equipment required by this code and regulations 
adopted hereunder for the operation of such vehicle upon a highway has 
been provided or offered to the lessee for his use. The contract or rental 
agreement shall include the name of the person from whom the vehicle is 
rented, leased or obtained, the address of his place of business in this state 
where it is rented, leased or delivered, and a statement of any required 
equipment refused by the person to whom the vehicle is rented, leased, or 
delivered. 
Added Ch. 855, Stats. 1967. Effective November 8, 1967. 
Amended Ch. 1536, Stats. 1971. Operative May 3, 1972. 
Amended Ch. 88, Stats. 1973. Effective January 1, 1974. 

Federal Safety Standard 

24011. Whenever a federal motor vehicle safety standard is established 
under the National Traffic and Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1966 ( 15 U.S.C., 
Sec. 1381, et seq.) no dealer shall sell or offer for sale a vehicle to which the 
standard is applicable, and no person shall sell or offer for sale for use upon 
a vehicle an item of equipment to which the standard is applicable, unless: 

(a) Such vehicle or equipment conforms to the applicable federal 
standard. 

(b) The vehicle or equipment bears thereon a certification by the 
manufacturer or distributor that it complies with the applicable federal 
standards. The certification may be in the form of a symbol prescribed in the 
federal standards or, if there is no federal symbol, by a symbol acceptable to 
the department. 
Added Ch. 192, Stats. 1968. Effective November 13, 1968. 

Exhaust and Noise Emission Control Inspection 

24011.7. (a) Nothing in Chapter 20.4 (commencing with Section 
9889.50) of Division 3 of the Business and Professions Code, shall be 
construed as having any effect on the existing inspection program conducted 
by the department. Rather, it is the intent of the Legislature that such 
program continue and that a cooperative relationship between the 
department and the Department of Consumer Affairs be established, under 
which the department can inform the Department of Consumer Affairs of 
the results and experiences of the department in order to provide data on 
exhaust and noise emission control device tampering and performance 
deterioration following mandatory inspections. 
Added Ch. 1154, Stats. 1973. Effective January 1, 1974. 

Compliance With Lighting Equipment Mounting Regulations 

24012. All lighting equipment or devices subject to requirements 
established by the department shall comply with the engineering 
requirements and specifications, including mounting and aiming 
instructions, determined and publicized by the department. 
Amended and renumbered Ch. 341, Stats. 1969. Effective November 10, 1969. 
Amended Ch. 723, Stats. 1979. Effective January 1, 1980. 
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Statement of Minimum Octane Number of Gasoline for Motor Vehicle 
24013. No new motor vehicle shall be sold unless the seller provides the 

buyer with a statement of the minimum octane number of the gasoline for 
such vehicle. 
Added Ch. 711, Stats. 1971. Effective March 4, 1972. 

Information Disclosure: Light Duty Truck Sales 
24013.5. (a) No dealer shall sell, offer for sale, or display for sale any new 

light duty truck with a manufacturer's gross vehicle weight rating of 8,500 
pounds or less unless there is securely affLved to the windshield or side 
window of the light duty truck a label on which the manufacturer has 
endorsed clearly, distinctly, and legibly, true and correct entries disclosing 
the following information concerning the light duty truck: 

(1) The make, model, and serial or identification number or numbers. 
(2) The retail price of the light duty truck as suggested by the 

manufacturer. 
(3) The retail delivered price, as suggested by the manufacturer, for each 

accessory or item of optional equipment which is physically attached to the 
light duty truck at the time of its delivery to the dealer and which is not 
included within the price of the light duty truck as stated pursuant to 
paragraph (2). 

(4) The amount charged, if any, to the dealer for the transportation of the 
light duty truck to the location at which it is delivered to the dealer. 

('5) The total of the amounts specified pursuant to paragraphs (2), (3), 
and (4). 

(b) Subdivision (a) applies to every light duty truck sold, offered for sale, 
or displayed in California which is manufactured on or after September 1, 
1988. 
Added Ch. 418, Stats. 1987. Effective January 1, 1955. 

Motorcycle Sales: Required Price Information 
24014. (a) No dealer shall sell, offer for sale, or display, any new, 

assembled motorcycle on its premises, unless there is securely attached to 
its handlebar a label, approved by the Department of Motor Vehicles, 
furnished by the manufacturer, on which the manufacturer shall clearly 
indicate the following: 

(1) The recommended retail price of the motorcycle. 
(2) The recommended price for each accessory, or item of optional 

equipment physically, attached to the motorcycle at the time of its delivery 
to the dealer. 

(b) The dealer shall clearly indicate on the label, furnished by the 
manufacturer, the following: 

(1) The amount charged, if any, over and above the suggested retail price 
for transportation to the dealership. 

(2) The amount charged, if any, for the assembly, preparation, or both, 
of the motorcycle. 

(3) The amount charged, if any, for each dealer added accessory, or item 
of optional equipment. 

(4) The total recommended retail price of the vehicle which shall be the 
aggregate value of paragraphs ( 1) and (2) of subdivision ( a) and paragraphs 
(1), (2) and (3) of subdivision ( b). 
Added Ch. 1089, Stats. 1974. Effective January 1. 1975. 
Amended Ch. 623, Stats. 1978. Effective January 1, 1979. 

Motorized Bicycle: Safety and Equipment Requirements 

24015. (a) Motorized bicycles shall comply with those federal motor 
vehicle safety standards established under the National Traffic and Motor 
Vehicle Safety Act of 1966 ( 15 U.S.C., Sec. 1381, et seq.) which are applicable 
to a motor-driven cycle, as that term is defined in such federal standards. 
Such standards include, but are not limited to, provisions requiring a 
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Article 10. Odometers 
(Added Ch. 1109, Stats. 1967. Effective November 8, 1967) 

True Mileage Driven 

28050. It is unlawful for any person to advertise for sale, to sell, to use, 
or to install on any part of a motor vehicle or on an odometer in a motor 
vehicle any device which causes the odometer to register any mileage other 
than the true mileage driven. For the purposes of this section the true 
mileage driven is that mileage driven by the car as registered by the 
odometer within the manufacturer's designed tolerance. 
Added Ch. 1109, Stats. 1967. Effective November 8, 1967. 

Operation With Nonfunctional Odometer Prohibited 

28050.5. It is unlawful for any person with the intent to defraud to 
operate a motor vehicle on any street or highway knowing that the odometer 
of such vehicle is disconnected or nonfunctional. 
Added Ch. 1210, Stats. 1967. Effective November 8, 1967. 

Unlawful to Alter Indicated Mileage 

28051. It is unlawful for any person to disconnect, turn back, or reset the 
odometer of any motor vehicle with the intent to alter the number of miles 
indicated on the odometer gauge. 
Added Ch. 1210, Stats. 1967. Effective November 8, 1967. 
Amended Ch. 1216, Stats. 1968. Effective November 13, 1968. 
Amended Ch. 111, Stats. 1969. Effective November 10, 1969. 
Amended Ch. 774, Stats. 1973. Effective September 25, 1973 by terms of an urgency clause. 

Device to Turn Back or Reset Odometer 

28051.5. It is unlawful for any person to advertise for sale, to sell, or to use, 
any device designed primarily for the purpose of turning back or resettin 
the odometer of any motor vehicle to reduce the number of miles indicate 
on the odometer gauge. 
Added Ch. 841, Stats. 1970. Effective November 23, 1970. 

New Motor Vehicle Warranty; Mileage 

28052. If a manufacturer, distributor, or dealer of a new motor vehicle 
makes any warranty to the purchaser of, and with respect to, a new motor 
vehicle which is based on the amount of miles that the motor vehicle is 
driven, only those miles which the motor vehicle has been driven on and 
after the date that the motor vehicle has first been sold as new to the 
purchaser shall be considered for purposes of the warranty. 
The mileage indicated upon the odometer of the motor vehicle on the 

date that the motor vehicle is first sold as new to the purchaser shall, for 
purposes of the warranty, be the mileage upon which the warranty shall 
commence. 
Nothing in this section shall be construed to relieve any person of any 

criminal punishment to which he would otherwise be subject under Section 
28051. 
The provisions of this section shall apply only to motor vehicles which are 

sold on or after the effective date of this section. 
Added Ch. 111, Stats. 1969. Effective November 10, 1969. 

Repair of Odometer: Required Information 

28053. (a) Nothing in this article prevents the service, repair, or 
replacement of an odometer, if the mileage indicated thereon remains the 
same as before the service, repair, or replacement. If the odometer is 
incapable of registering the same mileage as before the service, repair, or 
replacement, the odometer shall be adjusted to read zero and a notice in 
writing shall be attached to the left doorframe of the vehicle by the person 
performing the service, repair, or replacement specifying the mileage prior 
to the service, repair or replacement of the odometer and the date on which 
it was serviced, repaired, or replaced. 
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I. QUESTIONS PRESENTED  

Does the Song-Beverly Consumer Warranty Act provide warranty 

protection to the second lessee of an automobile leased with the 

balance of the manufacturer's new car warranty? 

Is there substantial evidence to support the judgment? 

Is the civil penalty time barred? 

Do any of the other matters raised by BMW of North America 

("BMW") constitute prejudicial error? 

II. STATEMENT OF FACTS  

A. Ms JENSEN LEASED A BMW MODEL 528e WITH 7,565 MILES ON THE  
ODOMETER AND WITH THE BALANCE OF THE BMW NEW CAR 36,000 MILE, THREE  
YEAR WARRANTY 

In response to a newspaper advertisement announcing a sale on 

BMW demonstrator automobiles, respondent Ms Lisa Jensen', leased 

a 1988 BMW 528e with 7,565 miles on it on January 11, 1989, for her 

personal use from Stevens Creek BMW, a franchised BMW dealer.' 

The BMW dealer told Ms Jensen that she would get the BMW " new car" 

36,000 mile, three year warranty. 3 At the time, the BMW dealer 

gave her copies of the BMW of North America " Consumer Warranty 

Information" booklet (which describes the BMW new car express 

warranty), the new car BMW owner's guide, and the new car BMW 

Service Booklet.' The lease itself is entitled "New Motor Vehicle 

' By the time of the trial, Ms Jensen had remarried and 
changed her name to Lisa Scott. She is here referred to as Ms 

Jensen. 

2 RT 47-48 

RT 50-51 

RT 51, CT 9, 13, 14, 96, 97 

3. 
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Lease Agreement. 1,5 

The BMW salesman told her the car had been used as a 

demonstrator  and the dealer wrote " factory demo" on Ms Jensen's 

credit application.' However, unknown to Ms Jensen, the car had 

never been used as a demonstrator, but instead had been owned by 

BMW Leasing Corp and leased to a third party. The dealer had 

purchased the car at an Atlanta auto auction. 8 

B. Ms JENSEN'S BMW 528e HAD A BRAKE- INDUCED FRONT END SHIMMY WHICH  
BMW & ITS DEALERS WERE NEVER ABLE TO REPAIR  

A few weeks after taking delivery, while driving on a Bay Area 

freeway, Ms Jensen hit the brakes and the steering wheel began to 

shake. She felt like the " tires were going to fall off the car" 

and she was " scared to death."" Ms Jensen had put just 1,551 miles 

on the car at the time. 

Ms Jensen sought repairs for the brake shimmy defect at 

Stevens Creek BMW on one occasion" and at Roseville BMW on five 

occasions. The last repair attempt was at the latter dealership on 

January 9, 1991. 11 In the end, the condition was never repaired. 

The Roseville BMW dealer service manager admitted this was the 

RT 48, CT 7 

6 RT 50, 52, 104. This testimony was unopposed. See RT 
317-318, 328-34 

RT 51, 325, CT 10 

8 CT 1-3 

RT 53 

° RT 53-56, CT 24 

" RT 58, 60-61, 65-71, CT 28, 32, 35, 37, 38, 40-42, 80 
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case 12 

On each visit to Roseville BMW, the dealer recorded Ms 

Jensen's complaint with such as notations as " has a vibration in 

steering while braking,"" " shimmy when braking-- has been here for 

this, ,1-4 " shimmy when braking,"" and "vibration in front end when 

braking. "6 Each time, Roseville BMW worked on the brake system 

changing rotors, brake pads and other brake parts.'7 

The BMW area service representative, its technical specialist, 

and a Roseville BMW service writer test drove the car on various 

occasions and confirmed that it had a brake shimmy.'8 

The brake shimmy was severe. Ms Jensen's grandmother said the 

shimmy " almost snapped her neck."9 Tom Stark, Ms Jensen's expert 

witness, said it " shuddered rather violently" when he drove the car 

and if it were his car, he would not let his wife drive it .2' The 

shimmy was severe enough that Ms Jensen stopped driving the car 

altogether in August 1991.21 

12 RT 434 

13 CT 24 

14 CT 32 

15 

'6 

RT 66, CT 40 

CT 42, 52 

17 RT 69, 142; CT 24, 28, 32, 35, 37, 38, 40-42 

18 RT 345, 365, 504-05 

19 RT 257 

20 RT 186 

23. RT 73 
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Rolf Hangii, the BMW area service manager, told his boss 

William Butler that the cause of the brake shimmy was the brake 

pads. 22 According to Ms Jensen's expert, the cause was in the 

combination of the brake rotors and pads. 23 

C. BRAKE- INDUCED SHIMMY WAS A DEFECT IN MANY BMW MODELS  

Brake shimmy in model 300 and 500 series BMWs was a condition 

well known to BMW and its dealers at the time Ms Jensen was seeking 

repairs. BMW's factory service managers for this area (Hangii & 

Butler) admitted that other model 528e owners had the same brake 

shimmy problem. 24 So did Roseville BMW's service manager. 25 

In October 1990, BMW had even published a technical service 

bulletin to all its dealers describing the very problem experienced 

by Ms Jensen. 26 The bulletin states that 

"some vehicles equipped with Jurid 506 brake pads may 
exhibit a brake induced steering vibration (usually when 
decelerating in the 60 -> 40 mph range), especially when 
brakes are hot. . . . The cause for this complaint was 
found to be that some brake pads were produced in 
production lots that were excessively hardened. These 
hard pads would exaggerate any surface differences in the 
brake disc material causing vibration." CT 86 27 

Roseville BMW performed the repairs recommended by the service 

22 RT 366 

23 RT 205-06 

24 RT 79, 266, 269, 312, 390 

25 RT 433-34 

26 RT 307-310 

27 The term Jurid refers to the name of BMW's brake pad vendor. 
The 506* pads were made of the same material as the 506 
models. The asterisk just means that better production 
procedures were ( supposedly) used. RT 461, 506, 523-24 
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bulletin, but the repairs did not resolve the shimmy problem. 28 

D. AT TRIAL, BMW BLAMED THE BRAKE SHIMMY ON Ms JENSEN'S DRIVING  
HABITS, THE AFTER-MARKET TIRES & WHEELS & LACK OF MAINTENANCE,  
BUT IN FACT NONE OF THESE FACTORS WERE TO BLAME  

BMW blamed Ms Jensen for the brake shimmy. BMW's expert 

claimed she rode the brakes causing the disc rotors to overheat and 

become uneven. However, there was substantial evidence that this 

was not the case. Ms Jensen was taught to drive by her father, a 

car buff and engineer, who taught her not to ride the brakes and 

she was careful not to do so. 29 Tom Stark, Ms Jensen's 

independent" expert, observed her driving without telling her he 

was doing so. He confirmed that she did not ride the brakes. 3' He 

also testified that his examination of the brake rotors showed no 

evidence that the brakes had been overheated-- that the rotor metal 

was not blue in color, which would be an indication of 

overheating. 32 

Until trial, no one at BMW or any of its dealer told Ms Jensen 

that the brake shimmy problem was caused by her driving. 33 Instead, 

28 RT 73, 316, 421, 481, CT 42, 52. 

29 RT 98-99 

30 Mr Stark is head of the automotive department at American 
River College. Besides teaching, he conducts manufacturer 
sponsored seminars for technicians. RT 174-75 

31 RT 184-85, 213 

32 RT 190-91, 210. Pictures taken by Mr Stark in evidence 
show no bluing. CT 82-85 

33 RT 142, 590 
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they always said it was the rotors and brake pads. "I All the 

repairs were performed under the BMW express warranty which is an 

indication BMW believed the problem was a manufacturing defect; no 

one ever told Ms Jensen BMW was doing the repairs on a " goodwill" 

basis .35 There is nothing in the car's service files stating the 

work was on a goodwill basis although it is Roseville BMW's 

practice to write goodwill on the repair order when the work is 

being done on that basis. 36 

Peter Barron, BMW's in-house expert, testified that the after-

market tires and rims (wheels) on the car contributed to the brake 

shudder. 37 However, as Ms Jensen's expert pointed out, the brake 

shudder was present in the car before the after-market tires and 

rims were put on the car; they were not the problem. 38 BMW has 

never warned consumers that the type of tires and rims Ms Jensen 

put on her car were inappropriate. 39 

Mr Barron has testified in two other BMW cases in which the 

owners were complaining of brake- induced front-end vibration. In 

both cases, as here, he testified that the owners' after-market 

34 RT 69, 142 

35 RT 580 

36 RT 428-30 

37 RT 488-90, 497-502 

38 RT 209, 253, 275, 486. 

RT 548-49 
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tires and rims and driving habits were to blame. 4° 

Mr Barron has testified 50 times for BMW and in none of these 

cases did he find that the BMW automobile had a defect which 

substantially affected its use, value or safety. 4' In contrast, in 

instances in which the BMW is not in litigation, he has found 

defects on "many, many occasions." 42 Given Mr Barron's biased 

testimony, it is not remarkable that the jury did not believe him. 

E. BMW REFUSED Ms JENSEN's REQUESTS FOR A REFUND OR REPLACEMENT  

After it became evident to Ms Jensen that further repair 

attempts would be futile, she parked the car and asked BMW for a 

refund or a replacement. 43 Ms Jensen attended three meetings on 

this subject with BMW employees in October, November and December 

1991. 

At the first meeting in October, Ms Jensen asked for her money 

back or a replacement. Mr Hangii responded that she should consider 

a less expensive model 300 series BMW as a replacement and that he 

needed more time to investigate the matter. 44 At the second 

meeting in November 1991, Hangii continued to suggest that Ms 

40 RT 551-52. One of these owners obtained a jury verdict 
against BMW, which was upheld on appeal. Suman v BMW 
of North America ( 1994) 23 CA4th 1, 28 CR2d 133. 

41 RT 447, 544-46. Mr Barron came to the trial of this case 
directly from a BMW lemon law trial in a Los Angeles 
Superior Court. RT 545. 

42 RT 556 

43 RT 73-75 

' RT 78, 280-81 
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Jensen should accept a 325 model in place of her 500 series 

model. 45 They walked around the Roseville BMW lot looking at the 

325 models with different colors and options. BMW loaned Ms Jensen 

a 325 on a temporary basis while they continued discussions. 46 

A third and final meeting was held at Roseville BMW in early 

December 1991 between Ms Jensen, Hangii and Bill Butler. Ms Jensen 

presented them with a letter asking for a refund or replacement of 

the car. Both Hangii and Butler flatly refused to refund her money 

even though Ms Jensen made it clear that a refund was her 

preference. 47 In that meeting, BMW promised to get Ms Jensen " into 

a another car"--a BMW model 325, but then reneged citing her poor 

credit rating."' 

On December 26, 1991, Mr Hangii of BMW called Ms Jensen and 

told her that BMW had decided that all they would do for her would 

be to change the brake pads and give her some new tires. Ms Jensen 

"could not believe it." She then returned her temporary loaner BMW 

and got her old car back, which she returned to storage. 49 

11 The difference in value between the 300 and 500 series 
was significant. The 300 series ran about $ 6,000 less 
than the 500 series BMWs. RT 388-89 

46 RT 81, CT 48, 54 

47 RT 83-85, CT 54 

RT 85-89 There was no proof Ms Jensen had credit problems. 
She was not aware of any. RT 172 

The car remained in storage until after suit was filed 
and the parties' experts inspected it. By arrangement with 
counsel, the car was given to BMW Leasing Co which entity 
resold the car and paid down the lease leaving a deficiency by 

the time of trial of $ 13,000. RT 92, CT 79, 81, 89 
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F. BMW'S TRADE ASSISTANCE OFFER WAS A SHAM  

The only thing BMW offered Ms Jensen towards getting another 

car was " trade assistance." 5° 

In the automobile industry, " trade assistance" is a euphemism 

for a form of damage control, which almost never makes the consumer 

whole. The assistance is typically a small cash payment from the 

manufacturer to the dealer to make it easier for the consumer to 

trade in her car on a new one. 

BMW's offer was insufficient to enable Ms Jensen to lease 

another car. Unknown to her, the amount BMW was willing to pay in 

trade assistance was only $2,000.' 

BMW had to know that $2,000 in trade assistance was 

insufficient to allow Ms Jensen to switch to a new BMW 325 for 

these reasons: Roseville BMW offered $ 12,000 for Ms Jensen's 1988 

BMW while the lease payoff at the time was about $23,000.52 This 

would leave a lease deficiency of $ 11,000 in order to gain clear. 

title. BMW was willing to pay $2,000 in trade assistance which 

would merely reduce the deficiency to $ 9,000. 53 

To get Ms Jensen a new model 325, she would have to somehow 

finance the dealer cost of $25,000 plus $ 1,500 for tax & license 

50 RT 363-64 

' RT 374 

52 RT 303-04, 373-74, CT 89 

53 RT 374-76. BMW prepared a work sheet on this transaction 
at the time, but did not keep it. RT 375 
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and the $ 9,000 lease deficiency for a total of $ 35,500. Mr Butler 

of BMW admitted that a consumer would not be wise to lease a new 

model 325 based on a price ( to be lease financed) of $35,500 when 

the retail value of the lease was only $29, 000.55 He agreed that 

a normal lease would be based on $25,000 to $27,000. Id. Nor would 

any leasing company write such a lease because of insufficient 

collateral. 

G. BMW's POLICY WAS TO REFUSE TO REFUND OR REPLACE ITS LEMON  
VEHICLES  

BMW's conduct in this case was in accord with its corporate 

policy of never buying back or replacing its defective cars. In 

1991, its policy was only to offer another repair attempt or offer 

trade assistance. If the customer refused further repairs or trade 

assistance, BMW considered its responsibility " finished. ,t56 

Consistent with this policy, in the period October 1991 to 

February 1993, Bill Butler had never authorized a "buy-back" or 

replacement of a BMW in any case. 57 Yet Bill Butler was the BMW 

authorized to buy-back or replace Ms Jensen's automobile. 58 

BMW had no written policy as to whether or under what 

circumstances it would buy back or replace its persistently 

" RT 375-78 

55 RT 377-380. 

56 RT 386-87 

57 RT 387-88 

58 RT 302, 357, 646 
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defective cars. 59 

III. STATEMENT OF THE CASE  

Ms Jensen filed her complaint against BMW and two of its 

dealers on April 10, 1992. Just before trial, Ms Jensen dismissed 

the dealers and all causes of action except those based on the 

Song- Beverly Act and the federal Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act .6° 

Trial took place over six days. 

The parties stipulated the jury instructions were correct with 

the exception of one concerning the Song-Beverly Act coverage issue 

and one not involved in this appeal. 61 

After deliberations, the jury answered the following special 

verdict by the votes indicated: 

1. What is the total amount, if any, of actual 
damage suffered by plaintiff, less any amount directly 
attributable either to use by plaintiff prior to the 
discovery of the nonconformity or use by plaintiff after 
the date of her effective revocation or acceptance of the 
vehicle? 

Type of Damaqe Amount  
Payoff to BMW Leasing Corp $13,000 
Initial payment on lease 1,500 
Payments on lease 14,500 
DMV registration fees 1,492 
Insurance while car stored 450 

Subtotal of damages: 30,942 

Less amount attributable to plaintiff's 
use 1,591 

Total amount of damages, if any: 29,351 ( 12-0) 

59 RT 388 

60 RT 6 

61 RT 541-42 
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2. Do you find that defendant BMW of North America, 
Inc. willfully failed to meet its obligations under the 
Song-Beverly Warranty Act? 

Answer: Yes ( 12-0) 

3. If answer to question No. 2 is "yes," what amount do 
you award as a civil penalty ( limited to a maximum of two 
times the amount specified in answer No. 1) 
$58,702.00. (10_2).62 

Dated: March 23, 1994. (signed) Foreperson  

After judgment was entered the court awarded Ms Jensen 

attorneys' fees and court costs, except that the court refused to 

award Ms Jensen her expert witness fees which she had requested as 

"expenses" pursuant to Civil Code § 1794(d) 63 

BMW's motion for a JNOV or new trial was denied. In doing so, 

Judge Couzens stated that his recollection was that the form of the 

special verdict had been stipulated, but that it any event it was 

sufficiently instructive to the jury; that there was no reason to 

believe that the jury did not read and follow the instructions ;64 

that the Song-Beverly Act amendment does apply to cars sold with 

the balance of the new car warranty; and there was no misconduct by 

Ms Jensen's counsel in using the term " lemon law. , 6-5 

The Court also stated there was sufficient evidence for the 

jury to find that BMW's conduct was a willful violation of the 

Song-Beverly Act, the predicate to awarding a civil penalty. 

62 CT 494-95 

63 RT 685-86 

64 RT 696 

65 RT 697 
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IV. ARGUMENT  

The Song-Beverly Act protects buyers or lessees of used 

vehicles sold with the balance of the manufacturer's new car 

warranty. There is substantial evidence to support the judgment. 

The civil penalty is not time barred. BMW has not identified any 

prejudicial error in the trial. 

A. THE SONG-BEVERLY ACT APPLIES TO Ms JENSEN'S VEHICLE  

The plain language of an 1987 amendment to the definition of 

the term "new motor vehicle" in the Song-Beverly Act placed cars 

sold with the balance of the new motor vehicle warranty under the 

Act's coverage. 

If any interpretation of the statute is deemed necessary, 

interpretation must be in favor of coverage in light of the purpose 

of the Act, which is to protect consumers such as Ms Jensen. 

BMW is estopped from arguing that Ms Jensen's car is not 

covered by the Act. The BMW dealer represented the car had been a 

demonstrator, a category of vehicle BMW admits is covered by the 

Act. BMW should be bound by its dealer agent's representation. 

Another reason BMW is estopped is that it accepted the terms of its 

own warranty as applied to Ms Jensen's car by making repeated 

repairs under the warranty. 

1. THE PLAIN LANGUAGE OF THE 1987 AMENDMENT IS THAT CARS SOLD 
OR LEASED WITH THE BALANCE OF THE MANUFACTURER'S NEW CAR  
WARRANTY ARE COVERED BY THE ACT  

The heart of the Song-Beverly Act is the mandatory requirement 

that a manufacturer " buy-back" or replace its vehicles when it is 

unable to repair them after a reasonable number of attempts: 

13 
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If the manufacturer . . . is unable to service or repair 
a new motor vehicle, as that term is defined in paraciraph 
(2) of subdivision Ce) of Section 1793.22, to conform to 
the applicable express warranties after a reasonable 
number of attempts, the manufacturer shall either 
promptly replace the new motor vehicle . . . or 
promptly make restitution to the buyer. ( emphasis added) 
Civil Code § 1793.2(d) ( 1). 

In 1987, the Legislature amended" the definition of " new 

motor vehicle" as follows: 

"'New motor vehicle' includes . . . a dealer-owned 
vehicle and a demonstrator or other motor vehicle sold 
with a manufacturer's new car warranty . . . . (emphasis 
added) Civil Code § 1793.22(e) ( 2). 

The plain language of this amendment is that three classes of 

used vehicles were added to the coverage of the Song-Beverly Act: 

dealer-owned vehicles, demonstrators, or 67 " other" vehicles " sold 

with a manufacturer's new car warranty." 

(The fact that Ms Jensen leased the car as opposed to 

purchasing it is of no consequence in this analysis. Civil Code § 

1795.4 states that a lessee has the same rights under the Act as 

purchasers) 

As noted above, there is no question but that Ms Jensen leased 

66 Stats. 1987, Ch. 1280. The amendment originally appeared 
at Civil Code § 1793.2(e) ( 2). Effective January 1, 1993, it 
was moved without change to Civil Code § 1793.22(e) ( 2) . Prior 
to the 1987 amendment, " new motor vehicle" was defined as a 
"new motor vehicle used or bought" for consumer purposes. 

67 BMW argues that the conjunction " or" used in the amendment 
means that the Legislature intended the phrase " or other 
motor vehicle sold with a manufacturer's new car warranty" 
to be synonymous with the term " demonstrator." This is 
not correct. Use of the word " or" in a statute indicates 
an intention to use it disjunctively so as to designate 
alternative or separate categories. White v County of  
Sacramento ( 1982) 31 C3d 676, 680, 183 CR 520, 522. 
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a vehicle " with a manufacturer's new car warranty." So unless these 

words may be proven to mean something they do not plainly mean, the 

trial court's ruling in favor of coverage should be upheld. 

BMW makes a feeble argument that the plain meaning of the 1987 

amendment supports its position. Without citation to any authority, 

it states that the terms factory executive model, dealer-owned 

model, demonstrator and " other motor vehicle sold with a 

manufacturer's new car warranty" are synonymous with the latter 

category of vehicles having no separate meaning (BMW's Open Brf 

15). This is not correct. A factory executive model is one formerly 

owned by the manufacturer for an employee's use. A dealer-owned 

model might have been used as a daily rental car. A demonstrator 

is for the purpose of demonstrating the qualities of the model to 

prospective customers •68 

BMW would have this Court interpret the phrase " other motor 

vehicle sold with a manufacturer's new car warranty" as having no 

separate meaning. This contravenes the basic rule that " every word, 

phrase and provision employed in a statute is intended to have 

meaning and to perform a useful function." White v County of  

Sacramento ( 1982) 31 C3d 676, 681, 183 CR 520, 522. 

The plain meaning of the phrase, " other motor vehicle sold 

with a manufacturer's new car warranty" is a separate category of 

vehicle with no history of use by a manufacturer's employee, as a 

daily rental car or as a demonstrator. 

When the language of the statute is plain, there is no need to 

68 Civil Code § 1793.22(e) ( 2) 
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engage in construction because the language controls; there is 

nothing to interpret or construe. Halbert's Lumber v Lucky Stores  

(1992) 6 CA4th 1233, 1239, 8 CR2d 298, 301. The language of the 

1987 amendment is plain and its meaning should be applied to uphold 

the trial court's ruling. 

2. IF INTERPRETATION OF THE PHRASE "OR OTHER MOTOR 
VEHICLE SOLD WITH A MANUFACTURER'S NEW CAR WARRANTY" IS  
NECESSARY, THE PHRASE MUST BE INTERPRETED SO AS TO EXPAND  
COVERAGE OF THE ACT TO PROTECT CONSUMERS  

BMW broadly admits that the Song-Beverly Act must be 

interpreted so as to promote rather than defeat the interests of 

consumers (BMW's Open. Brf 18). The only interpretation of the 1987 

amendment which would protect consumers is that used vehicles 

purchased with the balance of the new car warranty are covered by 

the Act. 

A contrary interpretation would mean that buyers who receive 

the balance of the manufacturers' new vehicle warranties would have 

no recourse when the manufacturers and their dealers are unable to 

repair their vehicles within a reasonable time or after a 

reasonable number of repair attempts. 

BMW states that interpreting the 1987 amendment in favor of no 

coverage is in the interests of consumers (BMW's Open Brf 19) . To 

reach that conclusion, BMW states that second or third owners' 

Song-Beverly Act claims would be almost indefensible because BMW 

could not find previous owners from whom BMW would need to get 

evidence to show they abused the vehicles. Based on this premise, 

BMW deduces that its liability will be " staggering" and then 

concludes that " consumers will be hurt when it and other 
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manufacturers react to limit the new exposure" by raising prices on 

the affected used cars and shortening warranties (. at 19-20). 

This is all nonsense because BMW can easily identify prior 

owners of its cars through its own warranty records or DMV records. 

After identifying the owners, BMW could easily depose them to 

determine if there was any abuse. As for the idea that used car 

prices might increase in the face of this supposed new liability, 

manufacturers do not sell used cars, dealers do. Dealers price 

used cars according to the market, not some fear the manufacturers 

might have to pay Song-Beverly Act claims. 

The idea that BMW will shorten its warranty periods because of 

fear of Song-Beverly Act claims by subsequent owners is ridiculous 

unless one assumes that BMW is swamped with such claims, which it 

is not. If BMW wants to shorten its warranty period to avoid this 

claimed new liability, it is free to do so. 

3. THE CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS HAS  
INTERPRETED THE ACT TO COVER VEHICLES SOLD WITH THE  
BALANCE OF THE MANUFACTURER'S WARRANTY 

BMW's interpretation of the Act is in conflict with the 

California Department of Consumer Affairs' interpretation of the 

Song-Beverly Act. The Department certifies the manufacturers' 

arbitration programs, which are an alternative forum for buyers of 

many lemon vehicles .69 The Department's regulations" set minimum 

standards for the programs, one of which is that buyers of used 

vehicles who receive the balance of the new vehicle warranty are 

69 BMW of North America has no arbitration program. 

° 16 Cal Code of Regs H 3396.1-3399.6. 
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protected by the Song-Beverly Act. 16 Cal Code of Regs § 3396.1(g). 

When an executive branch agency is charged with enforcement of 

a statute, its interpretation of the statute is entitled to great 

weight. Pacific Legal Foundation v California Unemployment Ins  

Appeals Bd ( 1981) 29 C3d 101, 172 CR 194. The Department's 

interpretation should therefore be taken as one more reason to 

uphold the trial court's rulings on this issue. 

4. BMW IS ESTOPPED FROM ARGUING THAT Ms JENSEN'S CAR IS  
NOT COVERED BY THE NEW CAR WARRANTY  

Ms Jensen leased her BMW with the balance of the new car 

warranty provided by BMW, BMW and its dealers attempted to repair 

the car under the new car warranty, warranty repairs were paid by 

BMW, and at no time during the entire time Ms Jensen was dealing 

with BMW and its dealers did anyone tell Ms Jensen that she did not 

have the benefit of the new car warranty. 71 BMW began arguing to 

the contrary only after Ms Jensen filed suit. Based on principles 

of estoppel, BMW should not now be allowed to argue against Song-

Beverly Act coverage. 

Another reason BMW is estopped from arguing the Act does not 

cover Ms Jensen's car is that the leasing dealer told Ms Jensen 

that the car had been a demonstrator ,72 a category of vehicle BMW 

concedes falls under the Song-Beverly Act. 73 The dealer was an 

agent of BMW for purposes of the Song-Beverly Act. Ibrahim v Ford 

RT 50-51, 428-30, 580 

72 RT 47-48, 50, 52, 104 

73 BMW's Opening Brief 14:25-27 
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Motor Co ( 1989) 214 CA3d 878, 889, 263 CR 64, 70. BMW is bound by 

its agent's representation and therefore is estopped from arguing 

that there is no Song-Beverly coverage. 

5. BMW'S OTHER ARGUMENTS CONCERNING THE SONG-BEVERLY ACT  
COVERAGE ISSUE HAVE NO MERIT 

BMW refers to definitions of new and used in the Vehicle Code 

and to other states' lemon laws and makes arguments not supported 

by the law or the record in an attempt to bolster its argument that 

Ms Jensen's car is not covered by the Song-Beverly Act. None of 

these arguments has any merit. 

The Vehicle Code defines new vehicles as those never 

registered and used vehicles as those registered or sold and 

operated on the highways. H 430, 665. These Vehicle Code 

definitions help classify dealers as either new or used car 

dealers, Vehicle Code § 426, and for other purposes under that 

code. The Vehicle Code definitions have no bearing on what vehicles 

are covered by the Song-Beverly Act. 

BMW makes extensive reference to the general definition of 

"consumer goods" of the Song-Beverly Act which specifies that the 

goods must be " new." Civil Code § 1791(a). This definition dates 

back to 1971. However, the later enacted and more specific and 

governing definition is that of a " new motor vehicle" found at 

Civil Code § 1793.22(e) ( 2). That definition was modified by the 

1987 amendment which added the three classes of vehicles--

demonstrators, dealer owned cars and other motor vehicles sold with 

a manufacturer's new car warranty. 

The specific definition of new motor vehicle governs over the 
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more general definition of consumer goods because it is the 

specific provision dealing with the matter at issue. Natural  

Resources Defense Council v Arcata Nat'l Corp ( 1976) 59 CA3d 959, 

965, 131 CR 172. 

The legislative history relative to the 1987 amendment does 

not support BMW's position. One report simply repeats the language 

of the amendment. Otherwise, the history is silent as to what the 

Legislature intended (Appendix, Exh A). The best BMW can do is 

refer to a " digest" which does not mention the amendment. 

Other states' warranty laws discussed by BMW are simply not 

relevant to the Song- Beverly Act. 

There is nothing in the record or law to support BMW's 

assertion that the leasing dealer ( rather than BMW) extended the 

new car express warranty to Ms Jensen (BMW's Open Brf 24:9-li) . The 

leasing dealer told Ms Jensen that she would get the benefit of the 

manufacturer's warranty and it gave her a copy of it. BMW paid for 

all brake shimmy repairs under that warranty and its technical 

representative (Rolf Hangii) tried to assist the dealer with 

repairs. 74 For this reason, Civil Code § 1795.5 providing remedies 

to consumers who receive express warranties from retail dealers has 

no application to this case. 

BMW argues that privity is a barrier towards Ms Jensen's 

claims. However, the Song-Beverly Act abolished privity as a 

defense in warranty actions, based on the express or implied 

warranties. Civil Code §§ 1791.2; 1793, 1793.2. 

74 RT 50, 51, CT 9, 13, 14 
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B. THERE IS SUBSTANTIAL EVIDENCE TO SUPPORT THE JUDGMENT  

Whether there is substantial evidence to support the judgment 

turns on whether the record as a whole demonstrates substantial 

evidence in support of the judgment. Bowers v Bernards ( 1984) 150 

CAM 870, 872-73, 197 CR 925, 926-27. The gist of the substantial 

evidence rule is as follows: 

"When a trial court's factual determination is attacked 
on the ground that there is no substantial evidence to 
sustain it, the power of an appellate court begins and 
ends with the determination as to whether, on the entire 
record, there is substantial evidence, contradicted or 
uncontradicted, which will support the determination. 

Id. at 873-74." 

So long as there is " substantial evidence," the appellate 

court must affirm . . . even if the reviewing justices personally 

would have ruled differently had they presided over the proceedings 

below, and even if other substantial evidence would have supported 

a different result. Stated another way, when there is substantial 

evidence in support of the trial court's decision, the reviewing 

court has no power to substitute its deductions. Id. at 874. 

California Practice Guide, Civil Appeals & Writs, ¶ 8:38, pp. 8-12, 

13 (Rutter Grp 1994)) 

1. THERE IS SUBSTANTIAL EVIDENCE THAT THE BRAKE SHIMMY 
WAS A MANUFACTURING DEFECT WHICH WAS NEVER REPAIRED BY 
BMW 

BMW argues Ms Jensen did not present substantial evidence in 

support of her claim of a statutory breach of warranty (BMW Open 

Brf 34-35). This argument is frivolous. The evidence is set forth 

in the Statement of Facts and will not repeated here except in 

capsule form: Ms Jensen experienced a severe, intermittent front 

21 

((I,uzed by 
L 

LIBRARY - 1920



end shimmy when she used the brakes a freeway speeds. Six repair 

attempts at two BMW dealers with the intervention of the technical 

specialist at BMW did not resolve the problem as admitted by the 

service manager at Roseville BMW. The BMW personnel and Ms 

Jensen's expert test-drove the car and confirmed the problem 

existed and that the cause was in the brake rotors and pads. 

Brake shimmy in this model BMW was a known problem. BMW 

published a service bulletin to its dealers in October 1990 

describing the exact condition of which Ms Jensen coniplained. 75 

2. THERE WAS SUBSTANTIAL EVIDENCE THAT THE BRAKE SHIMMY  
WAS NOT Ms JENSEN'S FAULT  

BMW argues that there was substantial evidence that Ms 

Jensen's driving overheated the brakes causing the brake shimmy 

problem. (BMW Open Brf 36-39). However, in making this argument, 

BMW ignores or misapprehends the substantial evidence rule. It is 

not enough for BMW to point to what it believes to be substantial 

evidence in its favor. It must instead show there is no substantial 

evidence to support Ms Jensen's verdict. It has not done so. 

The Statement of Facts sets forth the evidence that Ms Jensen 

did not ride the brakes causing them to overheat and that the 

after-market tires & rims and lack of maintenance had nothing to do 

with the problem. This evidence is that Ms Jensen and her expert 

testified that she did not ride the brakes, her expert testified 

that he inspected the brake rotors and they were not blue in color 

which would indicate overheating, no one ever blamed Ms Jensen for 

' See Statement of Facts, pp 2-4. 
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the brake shimmy problem (until trial), and none of the repair 

orders have anything written on them blaming the owner."' 

3. THERE IS SUBSTANTIAL EVIDENCE TO SUPPORT THE JURY'S  
FINDING THAT BMW WILLFULLY VIOLATED THE SONG-BEVERLY ACT 

The heart of the Song-Beverly Act is the requirement that a 

manufacturer must reimburse a buyer what she paid for a vehicle or 

replace it ( at the buyer's option) when it has not been repaired 

after it and its dealers have had a reasonable opportunity to 

repair it. Civil Code § 1793.2(d) ( 2). When a manufacturer fails to 

comply with this requirement, the finder of fact may find that it 

has acted in willful violation of its obligations and may then 

impose a civil penalty of up to two times the buyer's damages. 

Civil Code § 1794(c). Kwan v Mercedes-Benz of North America. Inc.  

(1994) 23 CA4th 174, 185, 28 CR2d 371, 378. 

In Kwan, the Court of Appeal stated that the penalty was 

important as a 

deterrent to deliberate violations. Without such a 
provision, a seller or manufacturer who knew the consumer 
was entitled to a refund or replacement might 
nevertheless be tempted to refuse compliance in the hope 
the consumer would not persist, secure in the knowledge 
its liability was limited to refund or replacement. Any 
interpretation that would significantly vitiate the 
incentive to comply should be avoided. 23 CA4th at 184. 

One important inquiry in determining whether the manufacturer 

is liable for a civil penalty is whether the manufacturer knew, at 

the time the consumer requests a buy-back or replacement, that the 

vehicle had not been repaired within a reasonable period or after 

a reasonable number of repairs. Kwan, 23 CA4th at 185. 

76 Statement of Facts, pp 5-7. 
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BMW knew the car had not been repaired after a series of 

repair attempts. The BMW personnel test drove the car and confirmed 

it had a brake shimmy, the repair orders recorded that the car had 

a brake shimmy, and Mr Hangii of BMW told his superior that the 

cause of the brake shimmy was in the brake pads. Brake shimmy was 

a known defect in these model BMWs. BMW had issued a bulletin on 

this very defect. No one blamed Ms Jensen for the brake shimmy. 77 

The Roseville BMW service manager admitted they never did fix the 

problem. 78 

In sum, BMW knew the car had a substantial defect which had 

not been repaired after repeated attempts. Under Civil Code, § 

1793.2(d) ( 2), BMW was required to buy back or replace the car. 

Nevertheless, BMW refused to buy-back Ms Jensen's car in spite 

of her repeated requests. BMW would not even consider it. 79 Nor 

did BMW ever offer Ms Jensen a replacement, which would have meant 

giving her credit for her lease payments and a new car with 

financing based on what she owed on her BMW. BMW tacitly admits as 

much. 

All BMW ever offered Ms Jensen was trade assistance of $2,000, 

which BMW knew was not sufficient to allow her to finance a new 

77 Statement of Facts, pp 7-10. 

78 RT 434 

79 RT 83-85, CT 54 

80 BMW tries to avoid the fact that it refused to offer a buy 
back or replacement by making the frivolous statement that Ms 
Jensen's requests for a buy back or replacement are not 
relevant to the civil penalty issue. (Open Brf 43) 
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car. 81 Judge Couzens summed up the evidence on this point by 

stating that BMW "did not respond in a straight forward manner to 

really assist in a trade, but attempted to talk her into a 

financial scheme that was, in fact, extremely onerous." 82 This 

behavior was not only willful, but fraudulent. 

BMW's refusal to buy-back or replace Ms Jensen's car was 

consistent with its policy that it would only offer buyers of its 

lemon cars another repair attempt or trade assistance. 83 A 

manufacturer with a policy of refusing to refund or replace lemon 

cars under any circumstances is engaged in willful violation of the 

Song-Beverly Act because the Act requires manufacturers to buy back 

or replace persistently defective vehicles. (The jury was 

instructed that this was a factor they could consider) •84 

The Court of Appeal in Kwan noted that a trier of fact may 

consider whether a manufacturer has a written policy on compliance 

with the Song- Beverly Act in determining whether the manufacturer 

was acting willfully. 28 CR2d at 378-79. 

BMW admitted it did not have a written policy on repurchase 

and replacement of its vehicles. 85 This is evidence BMW willfully 

violated the Act. Kwan, 23 CA4th at 186. 

81 Statement of Facts, pp. 8-12 

82 RT 701 

83 RT 386-87. Butler of BMW had never authorized a refund or 
replacement over the period October 1991 through February 
1993. RT 387-88 

84 RT 670:24-28 

85 RT 388 
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In its appellate brief, for the first time, BMW argues that 

BMW did not agree to refund or replace because Ms Jensen's used car 

did not fall under the Song-Beverly Act (BMW Brf 43-44). BMW cites 

nothing in the record to support the idea that this was BMW's 

belief in 1991 or anytime. No BMW employee so testified. Therefore, 

the argument is baseless. 

C. THE CIVIL PENALTY IS NOT TIME BARRED  

BMW argues that the civil penalty verdict is time barred based 

on the one year statute of limitations for a penalty or forfeiture. 

CCP § 340(1) (BMW Open Brf 4042).86 

A fatal problem with this argument is that BMW waived this 

defense by ( 1) not having specified that code section as a defense 

in its answer to the complaint,"' Mysel v Gross ( 1977) 70 CAM Supp 

10, 138 CR 873; 5 Witkin, California Procedure, Pleading, § 1041, 

p. 456 ( 3d Ed 1985) and ( 2) not raising the issue at trial. 5 

Witkin, California Procedure, Appeal, § 311, p. 321 ( 3d Ed 1985) 

This is not a question of law which might provide an exception 

to the waiver rule. Ms Jensen would contend that the statute of 

limitations for civil penalty purposes began running in December 

1991 when BMW refused to buy-back or replace the vehicle; this 

behavior triggered Ms Jensen's right to a civil penalty. On the 

other hand, BMW contends that the statute began to run much 

earlier. The date the statute began to run is a factual issue which 

86 BMW based its argument on Cole v Sea Ray Boats; however, 
that opinion was depublished by the Supreme Court on October 
13, 1994, as BMW later reported to this Court. 

87 CT 33 
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was never determined in the court below because BMW never raised 

the issue. 

Even if BMW had not waived the limitations defense, its 

argument has no merit. The correct statute of limitations for Song-

Beverly Act claims is four years. Commercial Code § 2725; Krieger 

v Nick Alexander Imports, Inc. ( 1991) 234 CA3d 205, 218, 285 CR 

717. 

CCP § 340(l), the one year statute of limitations for 

penalties and forfeitures, only applies when the penalty is 

mandatory; the Song-Beverly Act civil penalty is discretionary. 

Menefee v Ostawari ( 1991) 228 CAM 239, 243, 278 CR 805, 807; Civil 

Code § 1794(c). G.H.I.I. v MTS. Inc. ( 1983) 147 CAM 256, 277-79, 

195 CR 211, 225-26 

civil penalty. 

D. THE SPECIAL VERDICT FORM WAS STIPULATED & PROPER AS TO FORM 

The trial court noted that the form of the special verdict was 

stipulated. 88 Accordingly, BMW cannot object to it. Even absent 

a stipulation, BMW waived any objection to it by failing to object 

to it before the jury was discharged, Woodcock v Fontana 

Scaffolding & Equip Co ( 1968) 69 C2d 452, 457, 72 CR 217, 219, n.2, 

and by failing to explain any ambiguity or potential confusion 

during closing arguments. Blv-Mageev Budget Rent A Car ( 1994) 24 

CA4th 318, 326, 29 CR2d 330, 334-35. 

The Special Verdict was proper as to form. The special verdict 

is distinguishable as it involved 

88 RT 696, CT 748 
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in this case" does not ask the jury to assume liability. Question 

1 asks what damages, " if any," are due plaintiff. The words " if 

any" plainly tell the jury that they need not find any damage at 

all. BMW also ignores the role of the jury instructions which ( as 

stipulated by the parties) covered each element Ms Jensen had to 

prove, including, of course, all elements of liability. If the 

jury did not believe the Song-Beverly Act had been violated, they 

would have answered with a " 0" in response to Question No. 1. BMW 

has admitted that the jury could have done so. 9° 

BMW is incorrect in stating that a special verdict must cover 

all issues in the case. California Code of Civil Procedure § 625 

states that the court may direct the jury " to find a special 

verdict in writing, upon all, or any of the issues  

Falls v Superior Court ( 1987) 194 CAM 851, 239 CR 862 

is distinguishable. In that case, the jury had resolved two 

questions against the defendant in a negligence case, but did not 

reach the question of contributory negligence. The jury hung on 

the damage question. The plaintiff wanted liability established on 

the basis of the special verdict, but the Court held that could not 

be done because the jury did not make findings to completely 

dispose of liability in the plaintiff's favor. BMW in this case 

takes out of context the statement in the Falls case that the jury 

must resolve every controverted issue in the special verdict. 

Contreras v Goldrich ( 1992) 10 CA4th 1431, 1434, 13 CA2d 394, 396 

89 CT 494-95 

90 RT 693:27 
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(distinguishing the Falls case). 

E. THE TRIAL COURT'S INADVERTENT FAILURE TO READ ONE SENTENCE OF  
THE CIVIL PENALTY INSTRUCTION WAS NOT PREJUDICIAL 

The trial court inadvertently failed to read subparagraph i of 

the civil penalty instruction, which is as follows: 

i. Whether BMW of North America reasonably believed that 
the vehicle conformed to the applicable express warranty 
and that there were no unresolved problems with the 
vehicle . 

This did not prejudice BMW for two reasons. First, the trial 

court cured the error by informing the jury they should read page 

45 of the instructions, the civil penalty instruction, and " go over 

[the instructions] again carefully" in the jury room. 92 

Secondly, BMW knew that the trial judge had inadvertently 

failed to read subparagraph i, yet it failed to even mention it to 

the jury during closing argument. 93 The reason it did not do so 

is that the omitted instruction was not part of BMW's defense. BMW 

did not defend the case on the ground that the car had been 

permanently repaired. Instead, BMW admitted there was a brake 

shudder, which it blamed on Ms Jensen. BMW's closing argument 

proves this point. 94 

91 CT 175 

92 RT 672. BMW's argument that the jury did not read the 
instructions is speculation (BMW Open Brf 29). 

RT 624-650 

94 "What we have tried to do is . . . show you . . . what 
actually caused the problem." "We have a brake [problem] because of 
the way [Ms Jensen] utilizes this car . . . " RT 628. " Her usage 

caused it to come back." RT 629. " I have no doubt the 
vibrations did bother [Ms Jensen]." RT 633. "[t]his was a problem 
that was created primarily because of the unusual circumstances and 
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When a litigant does not reasonably inform the jury about a 

theory, the litigant waives the chance to advance the theory. 

Richmond v Dart Industries, Inc. ( 1987) 196 CAM 869, 242 CR 184. 

BMW should not now be allowed to argue that it was prejudiced 

because part of an instruction was not read when it had no 

application to BMW's defense theory. 

F. BMW Stipulated that the Burden of Proof Instruction Was  
Satisfactory 

BMW argues that its burden of proof instruction should have 

been given ( BMW Open Brf 31). However, BMW stipulated that all of 

the instructions with two exceptions not relevant to the burden of 

proof instruction were satisfactory. 95 Even if it had not done so, 

BMW's objections to the burden of proof instruction as given96 have 

no merit. 

BMW's points to its proposed instruction that Ms Jensen was 

the lessee of a " new motor vehicle." This is just a restatement of 

the Song-Beverly Act coverage issue. See above. 

BMW also raises the issue of the notice that Ms Jensen was 

required to give to BMW. However, Ms Jensen gave BMW ample notice 

of the inability of its dealers to repair her automobile both 

this particular customer's use." RT 644. "Mr Barron [BMW's expert) 
explained the vibrations were harmonic resonance vibration and how 
[Ms Jensen] set this up." RT 645. 

"This case is here because of Ms [Jensen's] sensitivity to the 
characteristics of the automobile and which were exacerbated . 

by her lack of maintenance [and] by her usage of the vehicle." RT 
648. "Ms [Jensen) is solely responsible for the brake and 
vibration complaints." RT 649. 

RT 541-42 

96 RT 664-65 
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before and after she stopped trying to get it repaired. 97 

BMW states the burden of proof instruction should have stated 

that the breach of warranty must have taken place within the 

warranty period (BMW Open Brf 32). This is not the law. All that 

is required is that the consumer take the vehicle in for repair 

during the warranty period to trigger warranty and Song-Beverly 

coverage. The warranty is extended for defects not fixed in 

warranty period. Civil Code § 1795.6; Jury Instruction No. 26. 

G. Ms JENSEN'S COUNSEL WAS NOT GUILTY OF MISCONDUCT 

BMW wants this Court to reverse the judgment based on Ms 

Jensen's counsel use of the terms " lemon law" and " lemon" (BMW Open 

Brf 45-48). BMW states that the trial court ruled that these terms 

are inflammatory and highly prejudicial, but that is false. In 

response to BMW's in limine motion, the trial court said that 

counsel could use the term " lemon law" once. 98 Although counsel 

inadvertently used these terms more than once, after the trial, the 

trial court ruled that counsel did not abuse its admonition 

relative to these terms. 99 

BMW's counsel did not object to Ms Jensen's counsel's use of 

the terms in question. Not having done so, BMW waived its 

objection. Grimshaw v Ford Motor Co ( 1981) 119 CA3d 757, 798, 174 

CR 348, 371. 

In any case, these terms are not inflammatory or highly 

97 RT 73-75, 78, 81, 280-81, 338, 345, 365, 504-05, CT 48, 54 

98 This ruling is not part of the record. 

99 RT .697 
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prejudicial. The lemon law is the common name for the Song-Beverly 

Act. Ibrahim v Ford Motor Co ( 1989) 214 CA3d 878, 891, 263 CR 64, 

72 ( reference to lemon law); Civil Code § 1795.8 ( reference to 

"lemons ) 100 

V. Ms JENSEN REQUESTS AN AWARD OF FEES & COSTS FOR THIS APPEAL  

If fees are recoverable pursuant to statute, they are also 

recoverable on appeal. Morcos v Board of Retirement ( 1990) 51 C3d 

924, 927, 275 CR 187, 189. Fees are recoverable for this appeal 

since the Song-Beverly Act provides for an award of fees to the 

prevailing consumer. Civil Code § 1794 ( d). Statutory authorization 

for the recovery of attorney fees incurred in trial court 

proceedings necessarily includes attorney fees incurred on appeal, 

unless the statute states otherwise (which the Act does not). The 

statute need not specifically authorize fees on appeal. California  

Practice Guide, Civil Appeals & Writs, 1 14:114, p. 14-20 (Rutter 

Grp 1994) 

The appellate courts have awarded attorney fees to the 

prevailing consumer for appellate work in Song-Beverly Act cases, 

Suman v BMW of North America ( 1994) 23 CA4th 1, 13, 28 CR2d 133, 

140; Jernigan v Ford Motor Co ( 1994) 24 CA4th 488, 29 CR2d 348, 

351, and in a Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act case, Drouin v Fleetwood 

Enterprises ( 1985) 163 CA3d 486, 493, 209 CR 623, 627-28. 

Ms Jensen requests that this Court determine that she is 

°° The dictionary defines " lemon" as something which proves to 
be inferior or unsatisfactory as in, " His car turned out to  
lemon." The Random House Dictionary of the English Language, 
p. 820 (Unabr Ed 1977) 

32 

((I,uzed by 

L 
LIBRARY - 1931



entitled to additional fees and costs for this appeal and include 

in its opinion directions to the trial court to determine the 

amount of the appellate fees and costs. 

VI. EVEN IF THE SONG-BEVERLY ACT DOES NOT COVER Ms JENSEN'S  
AUTOMOBILE, THE JUDGMENT WITH THE EXCEPTION OF THE CIVIL  

PENALTY SHOULD BE AFFIRMED  

If this Court were to find that the Song-Beverly Act does not 

cover Ms Jensen's automobile, the judgment should still be 

affirmed, with the exception of the civil penalty portion of the 

judgment, on the basis of the federal Magnuson-MOSS Warranty Act 

(tt ?v12vi"), 15 U.S.C. § 2301 et seq. 10' 

The MMA, which was pled by Ms Jensen, covers all new and used 

consumer products sold with a written warranty. 15 U.S.C. § 

2301(l) . The Congressional Conference Report states: " Conforming 

changes in the definition of ' consumer' were made to eliminate any 

possible construction that Title I did not apply to the commercial 

sale of used consumer products." H.R. Rep,. No. 1606, 93d Cong., 

2d Sess. 29 ( 1974) 

Except for the civil penalty, the MMA gives a buyer of a 

consumer product the same basic rights to sue for damages for 

breach of the express and implied warranties and for attorneys' 

fees. 15 U.S.C. § 2310(d). Damages obtainable are those provided 

by the 13CC, McKenzie v. Chrysler Corp ( 5th Cir 1972) 607 F.2d 1162, 

including so much of the price as was paid, Commercial Code § 2711, 

and incidental damages, Commercial Code §§ 2714, 2715. See Ventura 

101 Contrary to BMW's statement that Ms Jensen dismissed all 
causes of action except those based on the Song-Beverly 

Act, she did preserve her MMA claims. RT 6 
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v. Ford Motor Co. ( 1981), 180 N J Super 45, 433 A.2d 801, 811. 

Because the Song-Beverly Act and the MMA are so similar except 

for the civil penalty issue, if the case had been tried solely on 

the basis of the MMA, the jury instructions would not have been 

significantly different. Therefore, no retrial should be necessary 

if this Court were to rule there is no Song-Beverly coverage. 

Instead, the civil penalty could just be stricken. 

The award of attorney fees by the trial court is not 

challenged by BMW in this appeal; therefore, absent reversal of the 

entire judgment, the award of attorney fees should be affirmed, 

because even if there were remittitur of some of the damages, Ms 

Jensen would still be the prevailing party. Civil Code § 

1794(d)(2) . 

Ms JENSEN'S OPENING BRIEF ON HER CROSS-APPEAL  

The following is Ms Jensen's opening brief on her cross- appeal 

relating to the trial court's denial of an award of her expert 

witness fees. 

I. QUESTION PRESENTED 

Does the Civil Code § 1794(c) provision for an award of 

"expenses" to the prevailing buyer include her expert witness fees? 

II. STATEMENT OF FACTS & PROCEDURAL HISTORY  

Ms Jensen incurred $2,525 in expert witness fees. 102 After 

the verdict, Ms Jensen applied for an award of these fees, which 

the trial court denied on the theory that these costs were not 

102 CT 609-12 
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specified in CCP § 1033 .5 .103 Ms Jensen filed a timely notice of 

her cross- appeal on this matter. 104 

The trial court's order denying Ms Jensen her expert witness 

fees is an order following an appealable judgment and so is itself 

appealable. CCP § 904.1(b). 

This Court may independently review the trial court's refusal 

to award the expert witness fees because the refusal was made as a 

matter of law. Bussey v Affleck ( 1990) 225 CA3d 1162, 1165, 275 CR 

646, 648. 

III. ARGUMENT 

Civil Code § 1794(d) is as follows in pertinent part: 

If the buyer prevails in an action under this section, 
the buyer shall be ' allowed by the court to recover as 
part of the judgment a sum equal to the aggregate amount 
of costs and expenses, 

The Legislature intended that buyers be able to able to 

recover something more than costs when it added the term 

"expenses." According to the legislative history, what it mainly 

had in mind was the buyer's expert witness fees. The Assembly 

Committee on Labor, Employment & Consumer Affairs report on A.B. 

3374 ( Lockyer) states that the bill would add a provision to the 

Song-Beverly Act for an award of costs and expenses because: 

The addition of awards of ' costs and expenses' by the 
court to the consumer to cover such out-of-pocket 
expenses as filing fees, expert witness fees, marshall's 
fees, etc., should open the litigation process to 
everyone. CT 612. 

103 RT 686 

104 Supplemental CT 1-2 
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The Department of Consumer Affairs report on the same bill 

states that the bill would amend Civil Code § 1794 of the Song-

Beverly Act to provide that a "prevailing consumer may be awarded 

costs (court costs, j.. filing and process fees) and expenses 

(i.e. expert witness fees). "... 

CCP § 1033.5(b) ( 1) does not allow an award of experts fees 

(unless ordered by the court). However, CCP § 1033.5(b) begins 

with the statement that the listed items are not allowed " except 

when expressly authorized by law." This is the requisite authority 

for the courts to look to other applicable statutes in allowing 

awards of costs specifically not allowed by § 1033.5. Bussey v 

Affleck ( 1990) 225 CAM 1162, 1167, 275 CR 646, 649 ( allowing 

expert witness fees in a Civil Code § 1717 fee case) 

Similarly, the Court of Appeal in Beasley v Wells Fargo Bank  

(1991) 235 CA3d 1407, 1419, 1 CR2d 459, 466 held that expert 

witness fees may be awarded under the private attorney general 

statute, CCP § 1021.5, notwithstanding CCP § 1033.5. 

Based on Civil Code § 1794 ( c), cross- appellant asks that this 

Court reverse the trial court's ruling on her request for an award 

of her expert witness fees. 

Dated: December 14, 1994. 

KEMNITZR, DICKINSO/RSON & BARRON 

By /11  
Mark F. Anderson 
Attorney for Respondent & Cross-Appellant 
Lisa Jensen 

'°s CT 616 
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AB 3611 ( Tanner) - As Amended: May 19, 1986 

ASSEMBLY ACTIONS: 

COMMITTEE  CON. PRO.  VOTE  5-0  COMMITTEE  W. & M.  VOTE  20-1 

Ayes: Ayes: Vasconcellos, Baker, Agnos, 
Bader, Calderon, Connelly, Eaves, 
Herger, Hill, Isenberg, Johnson, 
Johnston, Leonard, Lewis, 
Margolin, McClintock, O'Connell, 
Peace, Roos, M. Waters 

Nays: Nays: D. Brown 

DIGEST  

Existing law generally provides that a manufacturer who is unable to service or 
repair consumer goods, including motor vehicles, so that they conform to the 
applicable express warranties after a reasonable number of attempts - must 
either replace those goods or reimburse the buyer in an amount equal to the 
purchase price, less the amount directly attributable to the buyer's use prior 
to the discovery of the nonconformity ( defect). 

In 1982, the law was amended by AB 1787 (Tanner), commonly referred to as the 
"lemon" bill or " lemon" law. That legislation specifies that for new motor 
vehicles, a " reasonable number of attempts" is presumed to be either four or 
more repair attempts on the same major defect or more than 30 days out of 
service for service/repair of one or more major defects, within the first year 
or 12,000 miles of use. 

That law also contains provisions which, under specified circumstances, require 
a buyer to notify the manufacturer directly of a continuing defect and to use a 
dispute resolution program meeting specified minimum standards, prior to 
asserting the " lemon presumption" (4 times/30 days = "reasonable number of 
repair attempts") in a legal action to obtain a vehicle replacement or refund. 

This bill amends that law and related laws to: 

1) Amend the definition of a " new motor vehicle" which is covered by the 
"lemon" law, to specifically include a dealer-owned vehicle and a 
"demonstrator" or other vehicle that is sold with a manufacturer's new car 
warranty, and to substitute a more specific definition for excluded 
off- road and commercial vehicles. 

- continued - 
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